We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tuk Tuk Bad meal at Lunchtime last Friday.”
Review of Tuk Tuk Bistro Too

Tuk Tuk Bistro Too
Ranked #2 of 11 Restaurants in Greyabbey
Price range: US$8 - US$23
Description: Every meal is cooked freshly only when it's ordered, not precooked, no artificial additives are even allowed in the building. all ingredients are hand picked each day and cooked by our chefs who come from south east asia themselves. the recipes they use are family recipes handed down from their parents and grandparents not something from a text book or catering college. Real asian cooking
Restaurant details
Description: Every meal is cooked freshly only when it's ordered, not precooked, no artificial additives are even allowed in the building. all ingredients are hand picked each day and cooked by our chefs who come from south east asia themselves. the recipes they use are family recipes handed down from their parents and grandparents not something from a text book or catering college. Real asian cooking
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Both my wife and myself had curry and rice curry was very weak, chicken was like processed and tough, even the waiter agreed with us. Owner was informed I told him and he just smiled and walked off. I would say things are not as good as when it first started. Will not be there again, by the way this is the second bad meal we have had here. Pull your socks up.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garth L, Owner at Tuk Tuk Bistro Too, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

It's hard to know where to start when someone simply tells lies on trip advisor, why would they do that ? what do they get out of it ? all you have to do is look at the rest of the reviews on trip advisor about our family bistro to see that this gentleman is talking rubbish, every review states in no uncertain terms that the food is so very fresh & staff so so friendly rather than this gentlemans comment... I told him and he just smiled and walked off"
I clearly remember this older couple coming in one Friday lunchtime. I took a long time talking with them as the lady was very talkative about how beautiful our building was & "just what the village needs" she explained that they had often passed by & said to themselves that they should make a point of trying us (yet her husband states in his review that it was their second meal here) I, as I often do went through the menu & specials board dish by dish explaining their ingredients & flavours. As I pointed out, our menu is unlike another restaurant that I can think of, we don't put a description under each dish as all our staff are trained & have tasted each dish for themselves so that they can perfectly describe each one. (this is also shown in so many other reviews where people talk about our "very knowledgable staff." the couple wanted to know what is closest to a Chinese curry sauce, I explained that we don't do anything like that. all our dishes are cooked freshly at point of ordering just as the chefs learned at home in Malaysia & Thailand with their parents & often grandparents. No MSG or any other additives in our dishes, no flavour enhancers, no food colourings & no preservatives. we simply cook each meal bespoke for each diner. we only use fresh ingredients NOTHING PROCESSED. The couple asked for a mild curry "not too burnie " as the lady put it which is another reason why I recommended a Thai chicken masaman curry which I said was about the same level as an Indian korma. the lies continue from this gentleman as the waiter did not agree with them, what he said was "well I hope that this will not put you off trying us again?" & the reply from the gentleman was "no of course not, we will be back"
When I took their almost empty bowls to the kitchen both myself & the chef tried each dish & found nothing wrong with it & definitely not processed or weak! despite this I still agreed to discount the bill to keep the customer happy but by the looks of his review he was disappointed that the discount was not more like a free lunch, for what other reason would he have to leave this type of review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Fifteen of us (work colleagues) had a fantastic experience here. We had pre-booked our menu choices as our party was large-Tuk Tuk can only seat around 30 people. As all the food is cooked from fresh ingredients it may take slightly longer for larger parties, however it is certainly well worth waiting for!! I wish to say that my husband and I were there about a month ago and the food was wonderfully fresh and moreish. The service was remarkably quick and the staff make you feel completely at home!

2  Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garth L, Owner at Tuk Tuk Bistro Too, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

thank you so much for your kind words, as always they are very much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

The food here is incredible only problem was they only had one chef catering for the bistro and the take out and demand overweighted supply and we waited for 90 mins between starter and main, that the only thing that took the edge off however the manager did take 10% off the bill for our inconvenience, shame because we were less Hungary. Be aware their is a wait. Food amazing, menu amazing, restaurant very comfortable. When next in belfast I will be making a trip but please get another chef x

2  Thank jayne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garth L, Owner at Tuk Tuk Bistro Too, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

thank you so much for your kind words, as always they are very much appreciated & you will be glad to know that the 2nd chef has returned from his holiday & we have also employed a 3rd from a restaurant in London to join us shortly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

We have visited this establishment on a number of occasions and we have never been disappointed. The food is fresh and cooked to an extremely high standard. The staff are friendly and take the time to explain all the dishes on the menu, when asked. I shall visit again and I’ve recommended Tuk-Tuk to our friends and family. Well done

2  Thank D P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garth L, Owner at Tuk Tuk Bistro Too, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

thank you so much for your kind words, as always they are very much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

I love Tuk Tuk, and I have been here a few times, and the food has been great every time. However, there is some downsides to Tuk Tuk, first simply being it is extremely expensive, what angers me is that the dishes itself aren’t that expensive but you have to pay for sides of rice or chips £2.99, which is a joke. Also the wait is quite long but overall this is a great restaurant.

Thank pete4410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garth L, Owner at Tuk Tuk Bistro Too, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

thank you so much for your kind words, as always they are very much appreciated however I would point out that if you compare our prices to other comparable restaurants you will find that we are often slightly cheaper but often other restaurants simply include the rice or chips in the price of the main meal. as you say our dishes aren't that expensive but we then give you more choice of sides rather than simply saying you can have rice or chips only

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tuk Tuk Bistro Too also viewed

Newtownards, County Down
 
Greyabbey, County Down
Greyabbey, County Down
 
Greyabbey, County Down
Newtownards, County Down
 

Been to Tuk Tuk Bistro Too? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing