We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbourview B&B and Motel(Port Hawkesbury)(Great Value!)
US$85
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Cove Motel(Port Hastings)
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gagnon House(Port Hawkesbury)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveller rating
11
29
33
22
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
29
33
22
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsattached restaurantfish and chipsthanksgiving weekendindoor poolroom was spaciouspleasant stayhearthstonehalifaxdeskchantelleserverlinens
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 112 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

We were desperate to find a place with availability on Thanksgiving weekend, and only needed 1 night so we chose the Hearthstone Inn. I was pleasantly surprised with the stay! Staff was extremely pleasant and helpful. Room was old, but in excellent condition and very clean. The king bed was squeaky when I sat on it, but extremely comfortable and I slept well! My only complaint was the water pressure. It was practically a drizzle and very disappointing.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank lemontang3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017


Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!
Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

The room was older but very clean and comfortable. Very large room with clean comfortable bed. The AC is the old style on the window and noisy, but this is no different from any other hotel of the same age. We did not have to use it very much do that was good. The cafe has good food at a reasonable price, staff is great, very friendly and fun. We were on the back of the hotel so very quiet in our room.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your recent stay, we appreciate your feedback.
Kind regards,
Thierry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. It is not a fancy hotel but it was quiet and clean. The outside is pretty with big flower baskets hanging down in front of the doors. The restaurant on-site served a good breakfast for $5.99! We didn't swim but visited the pool and that looked lovely. It is an indoor pool - very clean - across the street from this part of the hotel. A bit inconvenient to walk to in a bathing suit (across four lanes of traffic!) but you can drive up and park by the pool building.

Room Tip: Ask for a king-sized bed. Two queens is a bit crowded!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NS_Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience, it is great to hear you enjoyed our $5.99 full breakfast in the Country Kitchen. We hope you have an opportunity to return and enjoy our pool in the near future.
Kind regards,
Thierry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

We booked our room a couple of hours before arriving in Port Hawkesbury. (There was only one other hotel listed and rooms were sold out.) When we drove up we were disappointed in the appearance of the hotel based on the high price we paid for our room. The motel has units on both sides of the highway. When we checked in we were directed to the units connected to the restaurant across the street. The street appeal isn't much, but we had our room. The interior of the room was very nice. It was clean. It has been updated and has a flat screen TV. It was a bit noisy in the evening as folks came and went from the restaurant. We ran our A/C throughout the night and that blocked the noise of the traffic passing by on the highway.
For the price we paid we were surprised to find no continental breakfast was included. Breakfast was available in the restaurant for $5.99, the same price anyone who walked into the restaurant would pay.
Our biggest complaint was the poor quality Wi-Fi. The signal was dropped so many times that we finally gave up.
Again, when paying top dollar in an area, one counts on amenities that go with that standard of payment.

Room Tip: Try one away from the highway and away from the restaurant.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank retiredandlovingit07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thank you for sharing your concerns with respect to your recent stay. We are working diligently with our internet provider to improve our wifi service throughout the property and hope to have the shortfalls corrected in the very near future.
Kind regards,
Thierry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

We arrived for a one night stay this past Friday Sept 22. The lady at the front desk was pleasant and helpful. She definitely made the stay welcoming. The room we were in was clean and comfortable and it was very quiet. We had our three children and we all slept well in the room and the beds were comfortable.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have microwaves so you need to ask in advance
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank name434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your recent stay; I hope the children had an opportunity to enjoy the pool. We look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards,
Thierry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews