We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, clean solution”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Port Hawkesbury
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed at this inn for three nights while visiting Cape Breton Island. Port Hawkesbury was a central location for the areas that we wanted to visit so we were pleased to find an inn in this are.

We called ahead to advise that we would be checking in late, which was not an issue because someone was at the front desk all night. The staff member that greeted us was friendly and professional. Our room was simple, clean and the bed was comfortable.


Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ang R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your recent stay, we appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again the next time you visit Cape Breton.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

We were desperate to find a place with availability on Thanksgiving weekend, and only needed 1 night so we chose the Hearthstone Inn. I was pleasantly surprised with the stay! Staff was extremely pleasant and helpful. Room was old, but in excellent condition and very clean. The king bed was squeaky when I sat on it, but extremely comfortable and I slept well! My only complaint was the water pressure. It was practically a drizzle and very disappointing.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank lemontang3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017


Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!
Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

The room was older but very clean and comfortable. Very large room with clean comfortable bed. The AC is the old style on the window and noisy, but this is no different from any other hotel of the same age. We did not have to use it very much do that was good. The cafe has good food at a reasonable price, staff is great, very friendly and fun. We were on the back of the hotel so very quiet in our room.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your recent stay, we appreciate your feedback.
Kind regards,
Thierry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. It is not a fancy hotel but it was quiet and clean. The outside is pretty with big flower baskets hanging down in front of the doors. The restaurant on-site served a good breakfast for $5.99! We didn't swim but visited the pool and that looked lovely. It is an indoor pool - very clean - across the street from this part of the hotel. A bit inconvenient to walk to in a bathing suit (across four lanes of traffic!) but you can drive up and park by the pool building.

Room Tip: Ask for a king-sized bed. Two queens is a bit crowded!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NS_Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience, it is great to hear you enjoyed our $5.99 full breakfast in the Country Kitchen. We hope you have an opportunity to return and enjoy our pool in the near future.
Kind regards,
Thierry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

We booked our room a couple of hours before arriving in Port Hawkesbury. (There was only one other hotel listed and rooms were sold out.) When we drove up we were disappointed in the appearance of the hotel based on the high price we paid for our room. The motel has units on both sides of the highway. When we checked in we were directed to the units connected to the restaurant across the street. The street appeal isn't much, but we had our room. The interior of the room was very nice. It was clean. It has been updated and has a flat screen TV. It was a bit noisy in the evening as folks came and went from the restaurant. We ran our A/C throughout the night and that blocked the noise of the traffic passing by on the highway.
For the price we paid we were surprised to find no continental breakfast was included. Breakfast was available in the restaurant for $5.99, the same price anyone who walked into the restaurant would pay.
Our biggest complaint was the poor quality Wi-Fi. The signal was dropped so many times that we finally gave up.
Again, when paying top dollar in an area, one counts on amenities that go with that standard of payment.

Room Tip: Try one away from the highway and away from the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank retiredandlovingit07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thank you for sharing your concerns with respect to your recent stay. We are working diligently with our internet provider to improve our wifi service throughout the property and hope to have the shortfalls corrected in the very near future.
Kind regards,
Thierry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Hawkesbury
4.3 km away
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
#1 of 2 in Port Hawkesbury
196 reviews
106.2 km away
Hearthstone Inn Sydney
24.9 km away
Dundee Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
71.1 km away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Baddeck
348 reviews
42.9 km away
Fair Isle Motel
Fair Isle Motel
#1 of 2 in Whycocomagh
89 reviews
42.1 km away
Hebridean Motel
Hebridean Motel
#1 of 1 in Port Hood
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury

Address: 388 Highway 4, Port Hawkesbury, Nova Scotia B9A 1M5, Canada (Formerly known as the Port Hawkesbury Motel)
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Port Hawkesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Port Hawkesbury
Price Range: RM 409 - RM 542 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known as the jewel of Canada, Cape Breton Island is one of the world's most visited spots. Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury, located at the entrance to the island, is the perfect place to start your adventure in this scenic Atlantic Canada masterpiece. Our newly-renovated hotel features 26 smoke-free guest rooms and a friendly staff dedicated to providing you a warm Maritime welcome. With tastefully decorated queen and king bed rooms featuring all the comforts of home, the Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury is the answer to your travelling needs. Enjoy the Convenience of Free Wi-Fi & Our On-Site Restaurant Whether you are taking the family on vacation or visiting on business, we offer a worry-free stay and a restful night's sleep. You will enjoy free Wi-Fi access, free in-room coffee, sleep-enhancing mattresses, complimentary morning newspaper and a range of other sought-after amenities. Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury boasts the added convenience of an on-site restaurant and lounge. If you are in town for a conference at the Port Hawkesbury Civic Centre or planning to check out some of the award-winning golf courses on the island, come home to the Hearthstone Inn. We will cater to your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing