We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely motel, great hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain View Motel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Barry's Bay
Reviewed 29 September 2014

We stayed at the Mountain View Hotel back in May. The owners, Douglas and Maureen treated us like family, they were warm, welcoming and could not do enough to ensure our visit was as perfect as possible. We stayed in the cottage adjacent to the motel rooms, and it was lovely. We had our own living room and kitchen area and it was clean, quiet and perfect for our week long stay. Douglas and Maureen were great, feeding us full of yummy french toast at breakfast and giving great tips on the exploring the local area. We will definitely visit again, could not recommend this motel enough.

Room Tip: The cottage was a little more money but totally worth it for the extra space and facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JKB84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

We (2 adults and 2 boys aged 11 and 8) stayed here for 2 nights 7 and 8 August 2014. The room was perfect with 2 double beds, fridge, coffee machine and small bathroom. We had breakfast one day and boys enjoyed bacon, sausages and eggs while I sampled the pancakes. It was all delicious. On the second morning we enjoyed a picnic on the grass outside the room in the sun. The location is great as it is just opposite a small lake and has an old rail track at the back. So my husband went running both mornings without having to go on the road. The owners, Maureen and Doug, are a lovely couple. They were very friendly and offered lots of advice about where to go and what to do. They made us feel very welcome. Would recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lockettorres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Magical nature in environment. Near beautiful interesting Algonquinn Park. Clean and fresh air. Very quiet and green place, nice staff. Large apartment. It was nice repose for all my family. Super holiday to us!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank alina39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We were traveling from Toronto to Ottawa via Maynooth and stayed in Barry's Bay. This was a delightful place to stop. Maureen makes a tasty breakfast. The room has free wifi and was spotlessly clean. A nice little find in the country.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Jacqueline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This was a one night stay, and I would MOST definitely stay here again.
Rooms are clean; smoke free, and reasonably priced. A bonus was that our room was carpet free. The bed was comfortable, and there was a variety of different types of pillows to try; “loved that”. There is also free internet, a small fridge, and the shower is hot. The rooms are small but they were all we needed for one night. The motel is situated just a few kilometers outside Barry’s Bay along the highway and very easy to find. There is a screened in gazebo with tables, chairs, and a propane BBQ for guests to use. If you need any utensils the owners are more than happy to lend you whatever you need.
A Homemade Family Style Breakfast Menu is on-site, for guests, “delicious” and reasonably priced. The owners are very friendly, and they make you feel at home. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barry's Bay
5.2 km away
Pinewood Inn
Pinewood Inn
#1 of 3 in Barry's Bay
78 reviews
22.7 km away
Sands on Golden Lake
Sands on Golden Lake
#1 of 1 in Golden Lake
223 reviews
6.5 km away
Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 km away
Hush Lodge & Cottages
Hush Lodge & Cottages
#2 of 8 in Barry's Bay
24 reviews
5.1 km away
No photo provided
The Balmoral Hotel
#2 of 3 in Barry's Bay
4 reviews
39.2 km away
The Arlington Hotel
The Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Maynooth
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Motel

Address: 18508 Hwy 60, Barry's Bay, Ontario K0J 1B0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Barry's Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Barry's Bay
Price Range: RM314 - RM379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain View Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mountain View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing