We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exactly as advertised”
other travellers have booked this property
Stanhope Cottages 2008 004
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stanhope Cottages 2008 004
2 Bedroom - Kitchen 2 Bedroom Livingroom-3
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
40 reviews
Stanhope Cottages 2008 004
2 Bedroom - Kitchen
2 Bedroom Livingroom-3
2 Bedroom Livingroom-1
2 Bedroom-1
2 Bedroom-2
2 Bedroom Bathroom
Kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Stanhope, Prince Edward Island

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TorontoSu...
toronto
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice cottage that could use some fixin' up.”
Reviewed 7 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed for a week during shoulder season in cottage #5. The price was very reasonable so that's why I choose this property. The booking was easy via emails. It's pretty much like the pictures on website. The dirt road to the cottages is pretty bad - lots of dips and holes. Be careful.

We had 2 bedrooms - a little on the tight side and bathroom is in need of some fixing.
The living area issmall but we didnt feel cramped. The kitchen is not well stocked so you may have to bring some things. The faucet in the kitchen needed fixing and I did mention it to the operators. Not much counter space.

The washing machine broke during the middle of our stay so that was a drag but the owners were trying to get it fixed with their service people. The washing machine stopped working while I was doing my wash and the owners allowed me to use their machine to finish my load.

They need to clean up their communal garbage area - flies and maggots everywhere but it's not near the cottages.

I think the owners are trying hard to keep the cottages maintained but I think they need to contract professional housekeeping staff. It could be cleaner.

The sense I got from this property was that the owners were trying to save money here and there and not really putting in the extra effort to make it a memorable place where people want to return. For example, when we first checked into the cottage, I noticed there were lots of fruit flies milling around the garbage container. I opened the lid and noticed it was because they reused the dirty bags for the compost, waste and recycle compartments. They just emptied out the contents and not changed the lining bags. Also, they left the previous occupants used sponge for us to use in the kitchen. In the bathroom, the shampoo bottle was half used already. Things like that tell me, this ain't a classy joint.

I dont want to sound like an ingrate - we did enjoy our stay in PEI and the cottage didn't dampen our holiday but small things could make it more memorable.

We were given a national park pass to use and that was helpful as the cottage is quite close to one of the entrance to PEI National Park.

There is a little sand pit and playground for little kids.

Wi-fi was unreliable; very spotty and SLOW.

The owners are friendly and do want to help you if you have a problem. Bless 'em.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet area; close to national park and close to walking trails
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2016
Thank you very much for comments and suggestions, The issues were solved in 2015 summer
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Oakville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Reasonable value, good location, details in need of attention”
Reviewed 6 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

My mother, daughter and I stayed 3 nights at Stanhope cottages. The location is great, just a 5 minute walk to a nice, swimmable beach and reasonable driving distance to a couple of good restaurants (Richards's, and the Lobster Claw). The exterior of the properties and playground are in need of TLC. The cottage was well equipped, however the kitchen sponge had a terrible smell (owners replaced it when asked) and the plastic cookware smelled strongly of seafood - to the point of it being a distraction in the kitchen. Mold was also starting to develop in the shower area. The recycling/waste area was a mess. If you're a person who isn't bothered by these kinds of details then this place is probably good value for you. The hosts could have been a little more forthcoming in offering information about their and the surrounding amenities.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location - proximity to beach
Liked least: Cleanliness
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alsurette
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Exactly as advertised”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Cottage was exactly what I had reserved based on their website. Cottage was well equipped for myself, my wife and two grandsons. It was well maintained, clean and comfortable. Cottages are within walking distance of the National Park entrance and the Stanhope Cove beach. Area is very quiet, property well maintained and owner was pleasant and courteous to deal with. Price was a good deal considering what one would pay for a cottage in the Cavendish area. Distance to Cavendish, Anne of Green Gables etc. is a reasonable drive. I got a week pass for the National Park, and it saved time driving to the Cavendish area. Office at the cottages has a pass that they will lend out. All in all, we had a very enjoyable stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Price and location
Liked least: Location hindered breezes and could be quite warm/humid.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2014
Thanks for choosing Stanhope Cottages as your vacation home! Wish you guys can come again next year!
We hope the rest of your summer will be as great as you are!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jun Q
London, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Happy with my Stay, Everything as advertised”
Reviewed 11 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Friendly owner, clean rooms with a fully equipped kitchen
Walking distance to beach and harbour where you can get fresh seafood or sit down for a quick meal waiting for sunset.

Comfortable stay with 4 people in 2 bedroom unit and doesn't feel crowded. Will stay there again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OttawaShe...
Ottawa
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Immaculate cottage, friendly management, and great location”
Reviewed 9 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We stayed 3 nights & it was perfect (2 couples in 2 bedroom cottage). We enjoyed lunch one day on the deck while an adjacent cottage was cleaned and discovered why the place is spotlessly clean. They wash everything between guests as near as I could see. It is about a ten minute walk to an amazing beach. I would certainly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2012
Holle OttawaShell,
Thank you so much for the nice review.  Hope PEI was everything you were hoping for. It was nice to meet you all and hopefully you will come back again if you ever come back to PEI. You are welcome at anytime.

Best regards

Jenny and Luke
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing