We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Could not Agree with KY_Cliffhouse More”
other travellers have booked this property
Sunset along the coast
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunset along the coast
Verandahs on top of verandahs Kick back by the pool with a rum punch
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Sunset along the coast
Verandahs on top of verandahs
Kick back by the pool with a rum punch
Spacious dining and kitchen areas
Prepare meals or use our cooking services
Bathrooms all feature Phillipe Starck fixtures
Outside the master suite
On-site massage by US trained therapists
Spectacular view from the deck
Ground floor bedroom with canopy bed
All bedrooms open widely onto verandahs
Master bedroom features Tempurpedic king
Dining room, living room, kitchen
Upstairs bedroom, with canopy bed, classic McGuire captain's chairs
Living room
No better spot for a rum punch!
The study adjoins master bedroom. DVD screen not shown.
The observation deck is a spectacular spot for stargazing.
A spacious, beautiful base for your Dominican experience
The Cottage at Villa Passiflora
Bedroom at the Cottage
The bathroom at the Cottage
Garden setting for the Cottage at Villa PassiFlora
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Calibishie, Saint Andrew Parish, Dominica

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Chris A
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Could not Agree with KY_Cliffhouse More”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

I couldn't have described our experience any better than KY_Cliffhouse did. From Isolene and the beautiful property of Villa Passiflora, to Wendy with Untouchable Tours, our vacation was perfect. Hire Wendy for a day, he is great. We spent 3 days on Batibou Beach and it is my favorite beach of the Caribbean. Brad and Lisa at Villa Passiflora are great. They can help you with anything. Brad even made a dinner reservation for me in Calibishe for the night of our arrival via email. Waking up and having coffee on the deck of the villa was a great way to start our days. The view is outstanding. We took the trail down to the beach on our first morning. It is a perfect way to get introduced to the beauty of the island. There is also a restaurant/bar (POZ) just a 2 min wak from Villa Passiflora. We were traveling as 3 couples so this was a nice place to meet up and tell stories of that days adventures. Our vacation to Dominica was amazing and Villa Passiflora was the perfect place to stay. Even though we are getting 10 inches of snow today, if I close my eyes, I can still hear the gentle sounds of the waves at Villa Passiflora. True paradise.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barefootd...
Nodak
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful views from an Awesome Villa”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Our family of 6 stayed one week at Villa Passiflora. The Villa is very open air with birds and critters free to roam which we totally enjoyed..the views were amazing and we actually watched a humpback whale and her calf from the veranda drinking morning coffee..The caretakers Brad and Lisa are very helpful and full of Island information which we appreciated and Isolene, the housekeeper is a Gem! The villa is very beautiful and well kept and the guard dogs take there job very seriously, but when given a treat can give a friendly tailwagging...Totally enjoyed our stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KY_Cliffh...
Versailles, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Our little piece of Paradise”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second, but not our last, stay at this villa. The northern shore of Dominica is dominated by red rocky outcrops jutting unto the sea with interposed arcs of beach. This is the Atlantic side of the island, so there are waves crashing on the shore. The waves provide the sound that is my vacation tonic, lulling me to sleep at night. I personally never found the surf too high for swimming or snorkeling.
The house is on a ridge overlooking Pointe Baptiste Beach. The grounds are beautifully landscaped, and the location and grounds create a spectacular view, but requires either a walk or drive to get to the beach. A path leads down to the beach, ending at a rocky outcrop. The final section requires a scramble over the rocks. This is my preferred route, but others may feel uncomfortable crossing over rock footholds. The alternative route is a 20 minute walk down the road to Pointe Baptiste Road, then up and over a ridge to the beach.
There are three beaches in the Calibishe area; Pointe Baptiste, Number 1, and Batibou. All three beaches have monitors to answer questions and keep the beach clean and safe. The Beach Bar on Pointe Baptiste is currently closed, however Clyde was present with a cooler and beer to meet our needs. A section of the beach has black sand which makes a great photo backdrop. We didn't make it to Number 1 beach this year, but it is the second prettiest beach I have ever seen. The prettiest is Batibou, and we spent two days here. Tucked between two red rock spars, it is spectacular. The beach bar provides great rum punch, cold beer, and a delicious grilled lunch. This is my favorite place in the entirety of the Caribean.
The population of Calibishie is poor by American standards, but we found them to be an additional asset to the trip. They are warm and friendly, and personified by Isolene who prepared delicious local fare to provide a treat on returning in the evening.
This house has all of rooms opening to the outside. There is petty theft throughout the Caribean, and some precautions are in order. The caretakers and Isolene are present during the day, and at night the two dogs will warn of intruders. The dogs never bothered us, but we are used to dogs at home. At night we locked the kitchen, put all valuables in the safe, and slept with the doors wide open listening to the waves on the shore.
We rented a car last year, but used Wendy of Untouchable Tours this year to pick us up from the airport and drive us to Batibou Beach (twice) and two excursions to the interior of the island. Total cost was about the same as a rental, but more relaxing than being the driver
Finally, we have grown to appreciate Calibishie. We loved the restaurants, and often made our choices when we made a reservation, with the cook starting our entrees while we were walking in. We also bought items fro the local roadside stands which were uniformly delicious snacks.
In summery, this house and area provides a level of rest and relaxation that is intoxicating, and we will be back next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The entirety of Dominica
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Versailles
Reviewed 16 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
newtonjan...
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The villa was disappointing in both it's amenities and its apparent need for extraordinary security measures.”
Reviewed 21 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We rented Villa PassiFlora for the month of January, 2014. The owner, Bruce, was very responsive and easy to deal with in the confirmation process. We are two women well past retirement age, who escape the cold New England winters every year by renting somewhere each January, and then returning to a villa we have rented for over a decade in the British Virgin Islands.
Let me begin with the location: the view of the Atlantic Ocean from the pool and decks is spectacular. But since the house faces North, there was not one spot where you could sit in the sun (at least in January), which means the infinity pool stays cold. Even with a 4-wheel drive car, you will find the roads are in awful shape and rental cars have the steering column on the right (British style). The nearest village of Calibishie is quite limited in services and goods, and the locals did not seem particularly friendly.
The Villa is described on the website as a "luxury villa" but it did not meet our experience and expectations with other luxury villas, some found on VRBO. The kitchen was not provisioned with a nice set of dishes (rather all but the cereal bowls and cups and saucers were plastic). There is no dishwasher, coffee maker, outside grill or toaster, and very limited glassware. Most troubling for us, since we are big readers, is the the fact that there were no comfortable reading chairs with lamps or other lighting. In fact the villa's lighting in general is sparse, mostly using wall sconces.
The most serious issue for us was safety. We understand that petty thievery is a problem on many of the islands, but we had never experienced the degree of concern exhibited by these owners. There are two dogs, a Rottweiler and a Pit Bull, who guard the perimeter of the house 24/7. In addition, the owners request that you close, bolt and lock, all of the doors on both levels whenever you leave the premises AND at night. While all of these measures are intended to make guests feel safe, it had the opposite effect on us.
In the end, the above issues were significant enough that we left after three days, despite having paid for the month. I am aware that our experience appears to be the exception, given other rave reviews--many of which influenced our decision to rent the Villa in the first place. My purpose in writing this review is in no way intended to "dis" this property or its owners, but rather to give future renters an additional perspective.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the housekeeper
Liked least: Guard dogs and abject poverty in the surrounding area
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jan 2014
Creating Villa PassiFlora was truly a labor of love, and we have been delighted that the vast majority of our renters have found it a very special place to stay, but Dominica is not for everyone. We fell in love with the island both because of its extraordinary natural beauty and because it is a dramatically different culture than what we experience in the US. It is relatively undeveloped both physically and economically. We are delighted to spend time in a country where tourism is secondary to the island culture, having visited other beautiful islands where the cultural tone is set by tourism. Bumpy roads are OK: "The last of the real Caribbean." Secondly, Villa PassiFlora is not for everyone. Our highest priorities in designing our home were to take advantage of the glorious location we have on the NE coast, while maintaining a cool, livable environment year-round. In terms of year-round comfort, shade trumps sun in the Caribbean. During winter months, when the sun is lowest in the sky, there is indeed little direct sun at poolside. Between walks to the beach and time in our observation tower, we’ve never felt deprived of sun. We try hard to live within the limitations of our solar energy generation-- which is part of our commitment to the eco-tourism philosophy. We don’t have a dishwasher or clothes dryer, and we try to avoid energy inefficient appliances and accessories. We do try to utilize CFL bulbs, and lighting is purposely relatively low intensity outside of the dining room and kitchen. We don’t have a recliner, but we do have traditional Caribbean plantation chairs and a pair of glorious McGuire chaise lounges. We need to make clear that more glass/dish/kitchenware is available on request, for those with more kitchen savvy. In order to maintain the villa’s very open environment that maximizes enjoyment of the vistas, the breeze and the sound of the surf, our security is based on the presence of fulltime, live-in caretakers and our two dogs, Eevie and Jacko, two ridgeback/rottweiler/Doberman mixes (no pit bull). While we would continue to lock up the villa if both guests and staff are away, it is reasonable to leave it open unless our caretakers are away on errands. I appreciate Jane’s thoughtful comments, which will help us continue to improve our guests’ experiences. I urge all potential guests to use this information, along with that presented on our website, to help decide if Villa PassiFlora is right for them.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing