We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveller rating
72
80
31
22
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
80
31
22
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean waves lovely pool ocean front mini fridge kioskos pr
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 221 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

The room was comfortable, the office staff was very helpful, and the other guests were very friendly. The room was clean and the shower was awesome! The whole experience was wonderful.

There was one disappointment. Breakfast was advertised to be from 8 o'clock to 930. At 8:30 we were still waiting for our breakfast and we were the first ones in line. The cook said that it would be another 10 minutes. We had to go to another appointment so we could not wait that long. We missed having the breakfast we had planned on. My advice would be for the cook to have something ready for guests to eat right at 8 o'clock even if it is just a banana or other fruit. Some people are depending on that. Or, advertise your breakfast to start from 9 o'clock to 1030 and then people can choose whether or not they want that late of a breakfast.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017

We got off to a bad start as our reservation did not specify a check in time and we called as we had some choices of activity. We were promised a call back but never received one and therefore tried to check in too early. There was apparently a problem with our room and we were delightfully upgraded to a beautiful suite directly facing the ocean. There was a nice swimming pool which was fortunate as accessing the ocean was almost impossible as the surf was hitting the hotel walls (we eventually chose a brief drive to the balneario which was calm). The room was spotless and well appointed and the breakfast was excellent. Good value.

Stayed: March 2017
1  Thank El-Ingles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017

It is right next to the ocean, souvenir shops, and restaurants within a 5-10 minute drive. Nice and clean with a pool. Staff was very friendly and a nice home cooked breakfast each morning. This is a very quiet place nestled in a neighborhood. Close to the rain-forest. Larger shopping, restaurants, beaches and other venues all within 20-30 minutes. This is not a chain hotel so there are no amenities ex. no coffee maker, no refrigerator, no blow dryers, ice was a little sketchy. If you are looking for a nice quiet place this is it.

Room Tip: backside is ocean view without obstacles
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tamara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2017

This is a simple, budget hotel not a fancy resort, but we loved it and thought it was a great value. We were in the back of the second floor but it felt like we were in the sea! We loved sleeping to the sound of the waves. Decor is on the plain side but the room was clean and spacious. Breakfast is short, but it was truly delicious and cooked to order, excellent orange juice too, served oceanside. Very high quality food compared to many hotels. Other guests seemed happy too. Good vibe, pool could be a tad cleaner, had to have my husband skim some bugs.

Room Tip: I liked being on the second floor.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newsysuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017

We stayed here for 3 nights after returning to San Juan from a cruise. If you are expecting a 4 or 5 star hotel you will be disappointed. If you want a quiet, clean, friendly place to stay with easy access to a beautiful beach, Hotel Yunque Mar is the place. On the second floor, our room had a partial ocean view that was great. About 10 steps to the end of the hallway and you were face to face with the Atlantic Ocean. Our king bed was comfy, drawer space was limited but not a problem. The sound of waves crashing on the beach, beautiful views of the ocean and a big clean pool, was a constant reminder that we were not in Ohio anymore. The staff was very friendly. It's just a short drive to El Yunque National Forrest. Good food is just a short drive away at the Kiosks. Thanks Yunque Mar for a wonderful stay. We can not wait to return.

Room Tip: Ask for 1st floor pool view or partial ocean view on 2nd floor.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank cometda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews