We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
22
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews overlooking lake lovely bed short drive chalet dryer david property suite facilities home accommodation
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2017

Beautifully built and furnished, warm and spotlessly clean chalet with magic views of Lake Karapiro, set on a lovely rural property close to Cambridge. Extremely helpful, friendly and accommodating hosts. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All the accommodation options are lovely with gorgeous views of the lake.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 560monties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

We travelled as a group of 6 for a birthday celebration and the Oar and Paddle worked brilliantly using the Chalet and one of the suites. The Chalet was most comfortable, and we utilised the fully functioning kitchen. One of our party used a wheelchair and the property worked well - we did take our own shower chair. David, the owner, was most helpful in the planning and booking of the accommodation and we really appreciated that. A most relaxing place to be, even in the middle of winter and in the rain. Good proximity to Cambridge, cafes and other activities. We all had a great time and look forward to returning to the O&P for another weekend.

Room Tip: All rooms take advantage of the spectacular views over Lake Karapiro.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank medievalscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017

David and Sue are lovely to deal with and will ensure that you are well looked after during your stay. Myself and my bridal party stayed at the property the night before my wedding and got ready there the day of. The views from the property are spectacular and each room has a really beautiful feel to it. Staying in the chalet was a real highlight and it was such a beautiful place to gather with family and friends. My photographer was able to capture all of the amazing moments in the build up to my wedding ceremony with the beautiful Lake Karapiro as our backdrop. Staying at the property added another very special element to what was an incredible day. I would highly recommend this property for either a special occasion or simply a relaxing and peaceful getaway - it is stunning!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank donnamf2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

This place is amazing. My partner and I and his parents came down to Cambridge so we could do the Lake Karapiro Glow Worm Kayaking trip. Stayed in the Oar House. It was fantastic. Warm, clean, comfortable with an amazing view.

The owner David is extremely friendly and couldn't be more helpful and accomodating with our needs. We highly recommend this to anyone traveling in he area. You won't be disappointed.

We will be back.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank NZboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

A stunning property overlooking Lake Karapiro. A brilliant location to enjoy with good friends. The Oar House contains a wonderful open plan area for entertaining and the Oar and Paddle provides separate luxury accomodation.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank markg19752016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews