We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The warmest of welcomes and hospitality that goes...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Allonnes, Maine et Loire, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

SusiPop_1
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“The warmest of welcomes and hospitality that goes above and beyond”
Reviewed 21 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

This was my third stay at Les Volets Rouges and each time I have experienced the incredibly warm generosity provided by Mark and Judy. One stay was in La Forge with my partner, the second with my mum, sister and daughter and this final time with my fellow motorcycling friends who stayed in La Grange. You might think that a chilly October half term on bikes is doomed from the start but nothing was further from the truth. After a brisk blast from Roscoff we arrived to a fabulously clean and well appointed gite and complimentary wine, bread and milk. After 300 miles riding, no one felt inclined to venture to the supermarket for supplies so Judy offered to drive us there and bring the necessary bottles of water, wine and beer back in the car. What a diamond. This thoughtfulness continued all week when the following day, all 7 of us joined the family for drinks and later in the week prevailed upon their daughter Emma to act as interpreter when one of our party needed a doctor's appointment and was later blue-lighted to Saumur hospital. I cannot praise this holiday destination highly enough and look forward to my next visit very soon.

Date of stay: October 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warm and hospitable welcome of our hosts and the St Nicolas de Bourgeil red wine
Liked least: Having to leave to come home
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth119
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best place we've stayed in so far”
Reviewed 6 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We thought this accommodation was superb. It was fitted out well and fully equipped. The location is perfect as a base for Loire Valley exploring. Having English speaking, friendly but not imposing, hosts was a massive advantage to us. It is very child friendly and safe with lots of onsite entertainment for them. If the Loire wasn't so inviting, we could have just spent a week onsite! The online photos don't really do it justice. This is one of those rare properties that I believe looks better in the flesh.

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and ambiance of the area
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asifLondo...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Welcoming gite near Saumur”
Reviewed 1 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We loved La Grange!

There were four of us, two adults and two young children. My wife and I appreciated the space, well-appointed kitchen and showers (there is also a bath). The children loved the table football, the swimming pool and the cosy bedroom in the eaves!

You get the sun streaming in at both ends of the day and there is a patio with a picnic table overlooking a large garden (living in London, I'd say shockingly large!) which has some swings, a slide, a climbing frame and den which pleased our girls.

All in all, a lovely base to explore this end of the Loire valley and, as a bonus, Judy and Mark are welcoming and friendly hosts.

Only small word of warning is that WiFi connection in the gite is hit and miss, best connection is outside but given some sunshine that's not a real issue.

We'd definitely recommend La Grange.

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The swimming pool, the kids loved it. The gite was clean. And the kitchen was very usable.
Liked least: Weak WiFi signal indoors
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday in La Grange. It was good to see you arrive with all your bikes on the roof, ready to check out our quiet tracks. We have been struggling with wifi expanders for years in an attempt to push internet through the very thick walls of La Grange. It is a little too late for you for which we apologise profoundly, but they have at last invented a system that passes a signal along the mains allowing a wifi hotspot to be created at the far end end within La Grange itself. This is a slightly technical way of explaining that we are at last able to solve the problem of intermittent wifi! Next time you come here we are sure you will be greatly pleased by the improvement.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie-Che...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent holiday villa for family visiting the Loire Valley.”
Reviewed 7 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Excellent quality house with great rural views, and high quality furnishing and kitchen equipment. Friendly and welcoming owner, very good swimming pool with excellent quality water, perfect for children. My grandchildren loved the Game Room.

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very high quality accommodation
Liked least: just too far to walk to the local village
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Reviewed 17 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Date of stay: June 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything I cant fault it
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.