We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staff and Quiet relaxation”
Review of The Danna Langkawi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Danna Langkawi
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pantai Kok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2017

We travelled as a family of 2 adults with 2 adult children - most guests were young couples or middle-aged couples or families with young children. But as one of the adult children i did not feel out of place. The standout for the Danna would be their staff - greeting you every time you pass them with beautiful smiles. They were extremely helpful and hospitable from the get go - to any travel arrangements you needed to make for activities or sights you wanted to see. From little things like checking your taxi front and back after you've stepped out to make sure you haven't left anything behind to sending up a cake for my parents anniversary as we were celebrating during out stay.
The hotel is about 25 mins from Cenang where you will find the good eats about 30RM and extremely close to the sky cable and ATV (which was an exciting quad bike experience). Also close to the 3D museum at the oriental village(which connects to the sky cable) that my parents absolutely enjoyed (about 10min from the hotel - 10RM).

Poolside was also relaxing with free juices at certain hours and snacks complimentary. I hurt my foot from a broken tile in the pool but first aid responded and pictures were taken of the accident. Two days after this at buffet breakfast one of their staff approached our desk to ask how it was going and asked if we needed anything - it was refreshing to be simply checked up on and that they knew exactly who and what had happened.

There was some noise on our last day which was distracting when sitting by the pool as the their private villas are under construction.

However, overall an excellent and beautiful stay that we would recommend to family and friends :)

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank hadynl29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2017

Dear hadynl29,

Thank you so much for taking your time to write us a lovely review. We are glad that you did not feel out of the place!

It's so delighting to know that you find our associates amazing and you had a quiet holiday with us. I must agree with you on this, our associates do not mind and would not hesitate to go above and beyond to render the best hospitality they could provide. Other than thankful, I am such a lucky manager to have a team of amazing associates who are able to make such lovely stay experience possible.

We regret to learn about your injury by the pool, please accept our sincerest apologies hadynl29. All guest feedback and any incidents are all documented daily, that helps us to keep track on our guests' comfort and their life events such as honeymoon, birthday, wedding proposal, anniversary etc. Thus, the cake for your parents.

We are sorry for the noise disruptions hadynl29. We are trying our level's best to keep the disruptions to a minimum, hence, no piling is involved in the entire project. All remaining constructions are focus at the back of The Terrace, our new restaurant & bar, we expect the disruptions will gradually reduce as the construction progresses since it's stretching along the beach.

Thank you in advance for your kind recommendations hadynl29. We hope your parents and sibling had an equally lovely stay as you had. Do let us know if you and your family plan to return in the future.

Regards,
Pascal Masse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

472 - 476 of 3,264 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

The Danna is a wonderful hotel and was the one of the highlights of our trip.
Best points:
1) Food- the Malaysian and Indian meals were awesome. Must try the beef rendang and the fish curry. Also try the chicken tandoori sandwich.
2) Beach/ poolside service- possibly the best we have ever experienced. The hotel provides sunglass wiping service (!) and complimentary water/ snacks throughout the day. The staff members are extremely nice and friendly.
3) Concierge- approachable, thorough and experienced. Our concierge booked our excursions, gave great recommendations and followed through on all of our requests.
4) The room- beautiful view and spacious. Recommend the countess on the 4th floor.
5) Service- overall the best we have experienced in Asia.
We would love to return every year if possible!
Thank you Danna and all the staff . You made our stay extremely memorable!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Neelofar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2017

Dear Neelofar G,

It's such a wonderful feeling to know you had such a memorable stay with us! We are very thankful for such a glowing review Neelofar G.

It's very kind of your to detailed each aspect for the convenience of the readers. We are happy that you enjoyed our food served in the restaurants, after all, they are cooked by the locals who know the best of these delicacies. We hope you will too try out our Italian cuisine at The Terrace during your next visit.

For The Danna Poolside Experience, we too offer complimentary chillded water, ice cream etc every hour from 12noon to 4pm, both at the poolside and by the beach. Happy you experienced them! For a adventurous Langkawi holiday, approaching our Concierge was indeed a wise move as they recommend, assist to book and are able to provide tips for a fun-filed day out.

No wonder you enjoyed the room Neelofar G. Together with its separate living space and bathroom with couple Jacuzzi, the Counter Suite measures 110 sq meter. Not only it's ideal for couples for privacy but also small family too due to its spaciousness.

We thank you very much for your kind review Neelofar G. Do contact us directly when you plan to return to The Danna Langkawi. Look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Regards,
Pascal Masse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017

At this price bracket (and it seems some reviews don't have that in perspective) this is an astonishingly good hotel.

The main reason we decided on the Danna was due to being located next to Telaga harbour from where we would be catching a ferry to Koh Lipe and it is also close to the cable car/skybridge which we wanted to visit during our short two night stay so we stayed here more for convenience. We considered the Datai but the Danna was less than half the price.

I wasn't particularly swayed by the photographs I saw or the positive reviews here; it appeared to be a typical large 'resort' hotel and some people are impressed by those but I'm not, so despite being ranked no 1 on Tripadvisor I wasn't expecting to be wowed, but I was. This hotel has more style and elegance than can be conveyed in photographs. The Danna is furnished throughout with quality and class, it has a wonderfully tranquil atmosphere and it even smells fantastic!

We had one evening meal in the restaurant - this was ok but nothing to shout about. Breakfast was really good. There is also a choice of places to eat just a few steps outside the hotel at the marina.

Service was generally excellent; pool service was particularly good with a regular supply of complimentary soft drinks, ice cream, snacks, sunglass cleaning etc provided by staff who understood the perfect balance between customer service and welcome interaction yet allowing the guest space. The pool area is beautiful.

There was a brief, awkward service moment; we asked if we could leave one bag at the Danna while we visited Koh Lipe for 5 nights and the first receptionist we approached immediately said no! Anyone who has travelled to Koh Lipe will understand you do not want to be taking a large bag which you don't need if you can avoid it (it has no pier so you are transferred from ferry to longtail boat to beach) and it is hardly a big ask from a paying guest in a luxury property where a bag storage area is standard. Thankfully another receptionist intervened, enquired as to what our request was and immediately said of course we could, not a problem at all and apologised that the other girl was new. It was great to leave a bag at The Danna and travel light to Koh Lipe and we are grateful that issue was swiftly sorted. It also gave us an excuse to go back from the return ferry - we had 4hrs before our flight left Langkawi so we spent a couple of hours back at The Danna and had lunch here rather than head straight to the airport. Even as a guest of only a couple of hours we were again provide excellent service, warmly greeted and made to feel very welcome.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Camera1UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2017

Dear Camera1UK,

Thank you very much for choosing The Danna Langkawi and sharing your points on the values and locations, we are truly grateful for bringing up these positive aspects as real life testimonials said better than anything else.

We are very delighted to learn that you appreciate our signature The Danna Poolside Experience which offers cleaning of sunglasses, complimentary chilled water, ice cream etc. However, we too noted your 'awkward encounter' with our new associates and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused. We do assist our in-house guests with temporary storage, we will make sure our new associates are briefed on this.

We thank you very much for writing us a review on TripAdvisor Camera1UK. It's really delighting to know that you find us a good value for a quality holiday. Should you ever plan to visit us again, please do not hesitate to contact us directly. We hope to hear from you again.

Regards,
Pascal Masse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017

We stayed in this moderately large white colonial hotel for 5 nights over the Christmas holiday, including New Year's Eve. It is out on its own, but taxis are easy to come by, and its a RM50 trip into the nearest town of Pantai Cenang. There are thankfully some harbour side bars and restaurants 50m away, so you can wander out and get a change of scenery.

The hotel is lovely and spacious, with good sized bedrooms and large dining and bar rooms. The setting is lovely, with great views to the local peaks and out to the sea and islands. The swimming pool area is great too, with loungers around and in the pool, as well as little wicker shelters, and finally beach loungers too.

The food is good - very extensive buffet breakfast with hot options, and the dining options are good too. We had lovely SE Asian food in the main restaurant, and excellent pizzas (!) in the new Italian dining rooms. Wine is reasonably priced, and at happy hour all drinks are very good - RM8 for a beer or cocktail - excellent Bloody Mary!

The New Year buffet with free-flow was amazing.

There are a number of trips on offer - wouldn't bother with the snorkelling/diving as its 5 hours of travel with 3.5 of action in the middle - and they are not cheap. However, need to plan and book ahead for many, as several are only on a few days of the week. Small gym, and a pool table.

Definitely would go back.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alphablack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2017

Dear Alphablack,

Thank you very much for celebrating your Christmas and New Year with us! We are very happy to know that you had such a lovely time with us.

The restaurants by Telaga Harbour are very convenient dining options, we do recommend our guests especially those who do not like to travel to some of the restaurants too for a quick fix. But since our new waterfront restaurant & bar, The Terrace is open, we are hoping to provide even more choices to our guests. Hope you enjoyed the handmade woodfire-baked pizzas! Our Happy Hours are considered the most popular hours, you have just perfectly described the reason, but some did not know that the same Happy Hours are also available at The Verandah Lounge too.

We thank you again for staying with us Alphablack. We truly appreciate your time to write us such a lovely review. Hope to hear from you again, please contact us directly should you plan to return Alphablack. All the best to you in 2017!

Regards,
Pascal Masse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

From the moment we walked in we were welcomed. The service and friendly staff was great. We enjoyed the complimentary massage and welcome drinks. The room was spacious and staff was accommodating organizing a roll-away bed in room. The spots along the beach could get quite busy but the staff was always helpful to arrange for more seats.
The drinks were tasty and I had 2 or 3 coconuts while I was there. Breakfast buffet was great too and enjoyed the more traditional Malaysian cuisine choices.
I also loved the massage and felt it was worth the price.
My friend was unwell during trip and staff was very helpful arranging taxi and getting her to hospital.
I would highly recommend The Danna to all.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Hana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2017

Dear Hana G,

Thank you for choosing The Danna Langkawi during your visit to Langkaiw recently. We are appreciative of your review and are glad that you thought we are a fantastic hotel.

The short neck and shoulder massage organized during the check-in process was part of our The Danna Arrival Experience, while those little sodas, snacks, cleaning of sunglasses etc by the poolside and beach are our The Danna Poolside Experience. There's a saying, to get the know the local cultures is through their food! Hope you had your fair share of local fare!

We hope your friend is all well now, and we would like to thank you for the lovely review Hana G. Thank you very much for your recommendations, and here's wishing you all the best in 2017!

Regards,
Pascal Masse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Kok
6.9 km away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
1.5 km away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
18.7 km away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#9 of 105 in Langkawi
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 km away
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
9.1 km away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,429 reviews
21.4 km away
The St. Regis Langkawi
The St. Regis Langkawi
#6 of 105 in Langkawi
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Danna Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Danna Langkawi

Address: Jalan Pantai Kok | Telaga Harbour Park, Pantai Kok, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Kok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pantai Kok
Price Range: RM1,034 - RM2,766 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Danna Langkawi 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seated on a legendary island of Langkawi, Malaysia, The Danna Langkawi is a reflection of a timeless luxury vacation hotel that nestles against a backdrop of nature’s beauty. This 5-star luxury beachfront hotel in Langkawi offers an elite holiday experience, allowing you to find supreme comfort amidst an inviting ambience while admiring the unrivalled views of the white sandy beach, marina bay, sea and verdant green hills. Amid the solitude and serenity of the island, return to the heyday of the British empire and immerse yourself in colonial splendor, coupled with modern amenities and a dash of exotic intimacy. The distinct British colonial design of The Danna Langkawi is complimented by Malaysian influences that embrace the future while paying tribute to the past. The Danna Langkawi is the winner of TripAdvisor Traveler’s Choice, HAPA Platinum Service Excellence award,HAPA GOLD Resort of the Year award, HAPA GOLD Signature Luxury resort and Expedia Insiders' Select 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Danna Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing