We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pure bliss with warm welcome by the hosts!!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of UDAYA HOMESTAY

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior Sitout
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
Exterior
Sitout
mist enveloped
front view
Bench in the garden
View of the hillock
hammock in the garden
The sitting room
Mantel above the fire place
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bathroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Bathroom 2
Dining room
Dining room
Kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Madikeri, Kodagu (Coorg), Karnataka

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AMRITAVA
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pure bliss with warm welcome by the hosts!!”
Reviewed 13 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
4
people found this review helpful

I have stayed here from 2nd July,2016 to 4th July,2016. I have rented a car from Bengaluru to Coorg for a road trip.As usual, we become late to start our journey from Bengaluru and reached Udaya Homestay near about 7:45PM. While travelling it was heavily raining in Coorg. At that time, driving was relly a challenge and I was fully enjoying it. After reaching at Udaya Homestay, the hosts were waiting at the Gate to welcome us. It was really appreciating. They have served us welcome drink. The property and its architecture was splendid. It was much old property but they have maintained it so well with the heritage flavour kept in it. They have served us breakfast made by their (host) own and it was just awesome. We have stayed 2 days here. Each day they served one local dish with continental breakfast. So, you have ample amount of choice to select your breakfast. At last, they also have very good care taker of their property. So, at any time you can inform the care taker and ask for any help or food. Also, this property has a plus poimt like it is 2 min away from the highway but you will not get any noise and enjoy the nature. ll the picture available of this property, are just same when we reached there. On my next trip, I will blindly go for this homestay in Coorg without searching any others. Thank you!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The architecture of the property and behaviour of the hosts!!
Liked least: not applicable
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
praan2015
Goa, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“UDAYA....away from home. As good as it can be......”
Reviewed 7 July 2016 for a stay in May 2016

They call it a" Home away from home".........me and my family have rephrased it as " UDAYA....away from home".
The entire credit for the same goes to Preeth and Prem, the perfect hosts. Preeth's eye for detail is equivalent to a seasoned housekeeper, as is her willingness to provide her guests with the authentic local cuisine for breakfast. The breakfast was not the regular, mundane choice of eggs, jam preserves and toast.
She took the pain to do a table lay out with seperate sets of crockeries in all the 3 days, that we were there. We were there from the 21st of May till the 24th. And for everyday for breakfast we had a few items of the regional cuisine proudly presented by her. Yes, Preeth, being a Chef, I noticed the efforts and really appreciate that.

Prem, can be compared to the Head Of Concierge. He provided us with the information of all the places to visit in and around Madikeri. Since, I was travelling with 3 senior citizens the most experienced being of 78 years , Prem's suggestions of can do & cannot do the following places came in handy.

He knew that I was interested to try out all the possible items of local cuisine. He suggested us a eatery( COORG CUISINETTE) for authentic local Coorg cuisine. We had Pandi curry, chicken pepper fry, Mutton pepper fry,nool puttu, kadambuttu .
It was fiery but excellent!!!

We had travelled all the way from Goa, by road. Unfortunately, I had missed a turn and had to do 72 kms extra. Because of the terrain this small mistake prooved to be very costly and we had to be on the road for 3 hours extra.

Prem, kept this in mind and was kind enough to provide us with a road map on our way back. It prooved to be a better route and lesser by 68 kms.
Route taken was..Madikeri---puttur---Sulia---mangalore--murudeshwar--karwar---Goa.

Overall it was an excellent stay. We were 7 adults and a kid and did not have any problem whatsoever in our stay. It was quiet comfortable and not hot as expected by us, as it was end of May.

We went to Dubare Elephant camp, Thalacauvery, to a coffee plantation, Nisargadham island,Kushalnagar Monastery( worth a visit)

On our way back we tried out the famous ghee roast in Shetty Lunch Home, Kundapur

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hospitality of the owners..location
Liked least: too much of pepper used in food in the local restaurants...it changes the colour of the fried rice even
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SushantPa...
Pune, India
1 review
“Beautiful peaceful and serene property with wonderful hosts”
Reviewed 12 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

First of all I would like to mention Coorg is a beautiful place. And if you are planning to get a feel of the Coorg hill station then stay in Madikeri and what better place then the Udaya Homestay. This homestay is right at the centre of the city but still has a beautiful view. The architecture and interiors are well thought off. A special mention for the hosts Preeth and Prem. They are very warm and take care of all your needs. They come up every morning supervise and serve the breakfast personally which was very heart warming. They see to it that their guests face no issues whats so ever. Even the help there is one bell away and is ever ready to look into your need.
PROS:
1. Location
2. Beautiful cottage and surroundings
3. Hosts, they are wonderful
4. Cleanliness

CONS:
1. Its an issue to order food from outside during lunch and Dinner hours, it would rather be great if the home stay has connection with different hoteks.
2. Breakfast served is strictly ok, one might like if you are into iddiappams and all. But the personal touch of the hosts compensates it,.
3. The common room does not have a fan and actually one does not need one during most of the year.. However April is a bit hot (though not much) still we need coolers during the afternoons.
4. Lizards, my wife is afraid of them and she found a few there on the walls. However they do not seem to enter the property.
5. The bed cushion can be better.

Over all the property and the stay is very good. 4.5 stars from our side,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property, location and the hosts
Liked least: My wife hates Lizards and she found some there :)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalhotra...
Bengaluru, India
1 review
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed 28 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

I visited coorg for a couple of days with my husband and my parents. And we could not have found a better place to stay. Hospitality by our hosts was a delight, and we wished to stay longer. Thanks for giving us a perfect getaway home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Personal touch from our hosts in setting up the house
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VedhaMoha...
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“We left the place with a promise to return!”
Reviewed 17 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The gates of this homestay open up to a quaint cosy 60 year old Kodava home tastefully decorated and extremely well maintained with all the amenities one would need. If your plan to visit this homestay is to relax, then you are in the right place. In spite of its location on the main road, this place guarantees you fresh air, greenery and peace. To make your stay memorable, there's a lovely caretaker Ashwini who'll help you out with whatever you want in a fully functional home. And the best part of it all is that there's no one to disturb your calm. There are a lot of restaurants in and around this homestay that would deliver food to your doorstep. You needn't even leave your courtyard. This place is so spick and span that we made sure that we do not the dirty the place. Preeth and Prem, the hosts are wonderful. They not only give you your space and freedom without any restrictions but also take care of your comfort and requirements. All the more reason to return their house to them in mint condition. This is definitely a perfect getaway... A getaway from the clicks of your mouse, rings of your phone, noise, pollution, traffic and every other thing that you wanna avoid.

We will be back sooner than you think! And Preeth... Thank you for that outstanding breakfast!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decor, Location, Rooms, Bathrooms, basically everything
Liked least: Nothing much, but I really think the price can be reduced to a large extent. Madikeri is not such an expensive place to be charged so high.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing