We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$177
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$195
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$213/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Astoria Garden(Bad Hofgastein)
US$151
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Zum Stern(Bad Hofgastein)
US$208
US$196
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bismarck(Bad Hofgastein)
US$278
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Appartmenthaus Aurora(Bad Hofgastein)(Great Value!)
US$66
US$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Salzburgerhof Hotel(Bad Hofgastein)
US$100
US$98
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Norica(Bad Hofgastein)
US$213
US$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
14
19
7
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
19
7
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnon smokingcentre of townthe ski bus stopgood sizerecommend this hotelski seasonother guestsski holidaybasementgermansteamcrystalbalcony
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2017

Stayed a week at end of Jan 2017 - booked via Crystal.
Only one other Brit party there at the time, Id say they were less than 50% full in fact.
The rest of the guests seemed to be there for long weekends rather than full weeks.

Welcome from reception was extremely friendly and check in was fast and efficient, so much that we managed to get to the slopes on the afternoon of arrival.

Room was fairly standard in size and cleanliness for a ski hotel.
The meals were also standard Austrian fair although there were greater alternate options of evening meal than Ive seen before. The food was filling and tasty.
Breakfast buffet gave the usual choices of cereal, cold meats etc however unusually the only hot food on offer was boiled eggs, usually there would be a variation say scrambled eggs plus sausage or meatballs, so this was disappointing.

Spa - located in the basement was great, choice of 3 sauna and 1 steam room.
Usual Austrian rules (no costumes) mean the spas are often under used, and at times we had the place to ourselves (great for post slope recovery) but also guests should learn etiquette and speak in a whisper not yell !

Ski and boot room is accessible via the car park.

Room was very warm, even with radiators off, window cracked open and snow outside it was still roasting overnight

The ski buss stops about 2 mins walk from the hotel and takes you to the main Lift and buses to alternate nearby resorts. If you prefer to walk its about 10/15 minute walk.

Centre of town is about a 6 minute walk.

Bad Hofgastein itself is small and quiet, there is not a massive apres ski scene.
The age profile of guests in town is certain on the older side. It certainly suits my wife and myself.

There is one thing potential guests need to know that isn't in the 2016 Crystal brochure.
The hotel welcomes pets. As my wife has pet allergies that sadly were triggered in the hotel. There is nothing wrong with their pet policy and no reason why it should cease, but no matter how hard they may try allergy sufferers may still be affected.

Therefore I recommend this hotel ONLY to anyone who does not have pet allergies.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 7samurai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2016

Just spent the last week of the ski season at the Rauscher and Paracelsus hotel. This is a great hotel for enjoying the skiing in Bad Hofgastein. The hotel is very comfortable and the food excellent while the staff are very friendly and helpful. There were only 12 Brits staying at Easter week with the rest of the guests being primarily German and Austrian families but that was actually quite nice. It was easy to get to the slopes in the morning as the free local buses stop about 50 yards from the hotel and take you to the bus station which is right by the lift station so you can go up to the local slopes or alternatively catch the free ski buses to the neighbouring resorts.
Bad Hofgastein is centrally placed in the Gastein valley and the free ski bus gives easy access to the higher resorts of Bad Gastein and Sport Gastein or the lower resort of Dorf Gastein all are worth visiting for the skiing. Surprisingly for Easter week the resorts seemed quite quiet and there were no significant queues at any of the lifts. This may have been due to the weather which was fantastic sunshine but way too hot (21 degrees mid-mountain one day!) which meant the snow was getting soft and slushy for the afternoons but we still had great skiing in the mornings.
My one gripe is that the local buses around Bad Hofgastein are not very Apres-ski friendly as they finish quite early. On several nights we had to walk back to the hotel from the bus station but it was a pleasant 10 - 15 minute walk across the park albeit in ski boots and carrying skis.
To sum up we very much enjoyed Bad Hofgastein and the Hotel Rauscher and Paracelsus. Would definitely like to go again in the future and first choice would be to stay in the same hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jerry I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2016

We are just back from a lovely week staying at the Raucher-Parcelsus. It's a small family run hotel in the very quiet resort of Bad Hofgastein. We stayed in the Parcelsus wing (the hotel was originally two hotels which are now linked with a small corridor). Our room was very comfortable and clean and we slept very well each night after a great day on the slopes. Free wi-fi all week but our room didn't have any English speaking TV channels (people staying in the Raucher wing had lots of Enlish speaking channels). Didn't bother us as we were happy to read and listen to music for the short time we were actually in our room.
The food was great with 4 courses each night and after a big breakfast this was more than enough to eat each day. There was a free glass of wine or small beer each night. We always had another few drinks and were pleasantly surprised at how cheap our bar bill was at the end of our week. We were 2 of only 5 English speakers at the hotel but it was no problem and we were made very welcome indeed. The service was friendly, helpful and very good.
The ski bus stop is 50 metres away and the bus service is frequent so it's easy to access the slopes. Worth a trip up to Sportgastein if the weather is good and we liked Dorfgastein too.
The hotel has a great spa which was very welcome after a hard day's skiing. Everyone goes into the saunas etc completely naked which is just what is done on the continent so once you get over the self consciousness it's great!
A few nice coffee shops with fabulous cakes and a couple of pubs but we didn't like the fact that smoking is still commonplace indoors in Austria in bars and restaurants - hopefully that will change before we go back. Nice town by the river with nice walks in the park or by the river.
Would recommend this hotel though. Great value for money and a very relaxing week overall.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the Raicher and for English speaking TV channels in your room
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LAngus1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2016

Stayed the last week of Feb for a ski holiday. Despite being slightly apprehensive due to some comments from previous reviews we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Rauscher. We were made to feel very welcome by all the staff, with a special mention for Josef who looked after us (& kept us amused!) so well at breakfast & dinner. The food was excellent with plenty of choice and drinks were very reasonably priced - especially good to see jugs of tap water on the table rather than having to pay over the odds for bottled water. Our room was clean, very well furnished & decorated with a lovely shower room - always plenty of hot water. The hotel is now effectively non-smoking with smoking allowed only on bedroom balconies. The location is very convenient for walking into the town centre & for the ski-bus. We would definitely stay at the Rauscher again if re-visiting the area.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AandSRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2016

Dont get much sleep nose rooms, got late to hotel because Crystal made us sit at air port for 40 mins then had to stop on route to drop off some skies for a diffent ski resort, so when we got to Rauscher hotel they gave one roll and some cold meat and told you got 10min to finish, good think about this hotel if you are German they are nice to one male staff was not help full at all , wfi was very slow

Room Tip: good luck you need it
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Robinson2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews