We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (180)
Filter reviews
180 results
Traveller rating
117
39
12
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
117
39
12
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful hotel enjoyed our stay rooms are spacious breakfast buffet centre of town habit balconies mountains ski meat conference lift
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 180 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2017

The hotel in theory could be a jewel of a hotel, but unfortunately the lack of structure, attention to detail and the massively overpriced restaurant makes this an example of what not to do.

Upon arrival we were checked in by a friendly young lady who also gave us the information sheet. Reading through that we were notified that if we lose our room cards (normal plastic hotel key cards) we would be charged €18 per card! Also if we wanted to have a bathrobe we would have to sign one out at the reception with a €50 deposit!

1. Restaurant - We had a guest to join us for dinner, so we found out that their normal dinners cost €38 and the Christmas Dinner would be €69. We accepted the price as we were told that it was a special 5 course menu. On the first night we had their normal evening Menu, which was a Salad buffet, followed by a choice of soups, a choice of main course (meat, fish and Veg) and choice of dessert. It was ok, but the dessert (ice cream and pineapple pastries)tasted store bought and the pastries were frozen product. Then came the first shock - tap water is charged at 2 Euro a liter and locally produced mineral water (normal store price €0,69/liter) is charged at €5.90. Wines are equally charged at roughly 10 times the purchase price - which is massively inflated. Worse is that at the reception you can have a glass of tap water for free!

The next day we saw the Christmas menu and asked the restaurant manager for some insight as it was structured the same as the normal everyday menu but with no choice for the mains or dessert, yet €31 more expensive - the explanation was that they were serving better quality food than normal?!?!

For the price that we were charged per night, we would expect fresh squeezed orange juice instead of from a tetra pack, some fresh bread instead of frozen rolls heated up in the oven. Generally the food was sub standard to the prices that were being charged.

Likely we would have gone into the bar for a drink, but unfortunately that was where the smokers congregate, and the door to the bar was not always closed. So every time you walked into the restaurant or the lobby from the lifts you got the disgusting smell of stale cigarette smoke so it was nearly impossible to enjoy the lobby area which was nicely refurbished.

2. Rooms (we had #320) - have been partially renovated with very nice new furniture such as couch, coffee table, floors, headboard. But the 50% hotel stopped there and left the old door frames from another era, as well as a wall table that just clashes horribly with the rest of the room. but the real complaint is the sweat-stained pillow and the slept-out mattresses that form a hollow in the middle. While towels get replaced, there is no space to then hang your spa towels which you are forced to carry back up to the room - more in the spa section below.

The pillow, blankets and mattresses are of poor quality and for a room rate of €279 (incl half board) a night, and a supposed 4 star rating it just wasn't good enough (or 50%)

3. Spa - the reason we booked this hotel was its supposedly excellent Spa facilities. True enough there is a heated indoor pool (not for swimming laps), 3 different Saunas, (45 -90 degrees), and Ice Igloo, themed showers, 2 steam baths, a Laconium, and one other heated room, 2 Jacuzzi, 2 quiet rooms and a sleeping room with waterbeds. So far so good....but

The showers only worked partially, (side jets (seitendüsen)) did not work in 4 of the showers and no really cold water, which is integral to the Sauna experience. The Ice igloo was blowing luke warm air. The outside temperature was -4 degrees so no reason that there was no cold water. This was reported and to be fair acted upon pretty quickly, but its not our job to inspect the facilities at the start of the season to see if it all works. As mentioned above the spa area does not collect or exchange towels for the guests, so sweaty towels need to be taken up to the room, and hopefully rooms service will change them if they get to your room before you go to the Spa.

There were some highlights though - the soups were actually quite tasty, and Olga, one of the waitresses was extremely hard working and professional.

Room Tip: Room #320 was quiet and very large - but read the review
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nicholas_golf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christiane S, Manager at Das Alpenhaus Gasteinertal, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Dear Mr. Nicholas, thank you for your visit to Alpenhaus Gasteinertal and your detailed feedback. We are especially pleased that the house appeals to you in the design and that our trainee in the restaurant, Olga, cared well. We are very proud that our 4-star hotel, which was newly opened in December 2016, satisfied most of our guests' tastes, but it is nevertheless feedback like yours that helps us to constantly improve our performance and optimize quality.
Please let us respond to some of your single reviews:
The Christmas dinner you mentioned included not only a meal for EUR 69.00 per person, but also the Come together with champagne on Christmas Eve, the supporting program and an additionally served intermediate dish. An alternative for this menu was also on demand, unfortunately we did not have any information that there was interesting for you.
We can understand your note about charging the tap water, but we have to ask for your understanding, that we have to charge for "only" water orders. Of course we would have waived the additional charge for an additional beverage order, unfortunately this was not the case on any day of your stay.
We deeply regret that you did not like the quality of the breakfast and the processed products at dinner and forward your feedback to our kitchen team. Please rest assured that the cuisine of our guests in the house is very well received and that we get only positive feedback throughout.
Of course it is a pity that the mattresses, pillows and blankets had given you sleepless nights in the house. Would you like to tell us in a personal message what did not fit? We would be very happy.
As for your comment on the towels, we would like to inform you that you can replace towels in all areas of the house, for example at the SPA reception or at the hotel reception, we apologize that you don’t get this information.
Dear Mr. Nicholas, we hope that with our remarks we could clarify or explain some of your points. We would be very happy, if we could convince you at a new visit of the Alpenhaus Gasteinertal and wish you all the best for the new year. Sincerely, your Alpenhaus Gasteinertal Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

We have enjoyed our stay. The hotel has been new renovated about a year ago so it’s in a great shape. The rooms are lovely and spacious with big bathroom with bathtub. The staff is extremely nice and was very friendly to our 4yo daughter. The spa is nice but the pool is not hot thermal water as i expected but you have the hot whirlpool. Breakfast nice, dinners very good with salad buffet and served four courses. There is always meat, fish and vegetarian selection.

BUTs: the wifi is not good which is a problem as also the mobile phone data connection is not good in the hotel. No wifi in the pool area or restaurant. Second, big issue, is that our hotel room was above the delivery area so trucks coming and off/on loading since 5:30 am and whole lot of other noise. So not good sleep:-( room nr 121 is not recommended.

Perfect location between town center and the lift.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Dafne07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christiane S, Manager at Das Alpenhaus Gasteinertal, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear Dafne07, thank you for your feedback and single reviews to your stay at Das Alpenhaus Gasteinertal. We really regret that the Wifi connection didn't work during your stay, please be sure that this isn't standard in the house. We would be very happy to welcome you again in Bad Hofgastein and wish you in the meantime all the best. Warm regards, Das Alpenhaus Gasteinertal team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, well located across the conference centre and in the centre of town. I had a large suite with 3 kaege windows and 2 balconies. It felt like a palace. It was also comfortable. The breakfast was very extensive.

If I have 1 negative it was that the room was quite warm and there was no air conditioning. However, it was easy to open a window as it is a quiet village and the air is fresh.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Marieke F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christiane S, Manager at Das Alpenhaus Gasteinertal, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Dear Mrs. Marieke, thank you for your great feedback to your stay at Das Alpenhaus Gasteinertal. It makes us really happy that you like your stay in our 4 star hotel and look forward to welcome you soon as our guest. All the best and warm regards, Das Alpenhaus Gasteinertal team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2017

I stayed in the Alpenhaus last weekend and from the minute I arrived to when I checked out the experience was exceptional. This started with the friendliness of the staff on check-in, in the bar and again in the restaurant each morning. I had read negative reviews commenting on the tables being reserved, they appear to be reserved for all guests and there is no problem in getting a table in any case.

The rooms are clean, well stocked and have amazing views. I would comment that in this day and age to be charging for car parking in a hotel (with the exception of Airport locations) is a little cheeky, but did not affect the quality of the stay.

I have stayed in many different hotels and this is up there at the top of the list. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and will make a point of returning in the near future.

Room Tip: Stay and extra night if you can!
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SGdublin2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christiane S, Manager at Das Alpenhaus Gasteinertal, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2017

Hello Mr. or Mrs. SGdublin2011, your Feedback to your stay at Das Alpenhaus Gasteinertal is really great, thank you for that. We're very happy that you like your Holiday in our new opened Alpenhaus and we look Forward to welcome you soon as our guests. Yours Das Alpenhaus Gasteinertal team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

Ok, let's get this out straight away: we were devotees of The Grand Park, as this place was known until last spring. Back then it was wonderful, a place of perfection, exquisite food, charming grandeur in its style, large spacious and comfortable rooms, astonishingly generous spa facilities, charming and highly effective staff. A real 5 star establishment.

So, it was bound to be different after a takeover by another group who have intentionally downgraded to 4 star. Different style, different level of service.

We should not have gone back. For us it's so terribly sad to see the changes.

However let's make this review more objective from here on in.

Ok, so, upon arrival it's painfully clear that no one did much gardening over the summer/autumn, and the outside of the front door looks terribly bare. Where once there were comfortable benches there is nothing.

Das Alpenhaus have adopted a policy of being entirely useless on reception. They didn't have anyone to assist with luggage, they didn't show us to our room (we know our way about so we were fine, but what about those who'd never been before?). When we had questions or queries, the reception staff fell a long way short of helpful.

Astonishingly, Das Alpenhaus have decided to charge for car parking. Let's be clear here; this is not a city centre hotel, this is a small town, it's not normal to charge for parking here.

Ok, decor: in all fairness, we all have different preferences, so this is just my opinion; it's not great. It's fairly bland, and modern. It's a half hearted attempt at modern-alpine style, but they missed. Oddly they've kept much of the lovely dark wood from The Grand Park days. I don't think it works with their style, but it's nice that it's still there. Lots of white, grey and brown.

The biggest relief for us was the fact that three key staff had stayed on. Simone is now the Restaurant manager and she is wonderful. She continues to provide excellent service and she has one or two good assistants, we were however furious that way are now charging €2/lt for tap water - this is Austria where water is readily available. We were spending €30 a night on wine, for heavens sake. We raised this and found that they quietly stopped adding it to our bill, but presumably the other guests were charged. Given that the local mineral water was priced at a wince-inducing €6.50/lt (I think I have that right) we feel that to charge for tap water is outrageous. The head chef is also still there - Franz Huick (I'm not sure of the spelling), who was worthy of several Michelin stars under the old regime. The food is still good, sometimes even excellent. However we are concerned that with his kitchen team now 1/3rd of the size that it was, and his ingredients budget clearly much reduced, that he may not stay too long. We were also thrilled that the Saunermeister, Walter is still there - He is fantastic.

Mention of Walter brings me onto the Spa. The facilities remain fantastic. You won't find this kind of setup in many other places. However, the redecoration has stripped the spa of its colour and the heating has apparently been turned down, making it cold down there. A major complaint for us is that Das Alpenhaus have decided to restrict your towels. None are now available in the spa area, you have to take them from your room, and in your room you have just one brown towel per person for the spa, one white bath towel for the bathroom per person, and hand towels. If you're in the spa for any length of time, you will need fresh towels - lots of sweat pours off you during an aufgus in the sauna - disgusting.

Mention of the towels brings me onto housekeeping. The team is presumably massively understaffed. We didn't have our sheets changed until we went in search of the housekeepers after we'd been there 7 nights! We didn't bother going to reception, to chase this as we'd given them up as a lost cause. Our dressing gowns (which you wear to the spa) were not changed in our 10 nights. Otherwise the standard of cleanliness was good.

Ok, so in fairness they're a new hotel operating in the shadow of a former, far superior establishment, and I'm perhaps unfair to compare them. For me it is a massive disappointment. For you, if you've not been before, and if your standards and expectations are set lower than mine, you may be perfectly content. There is after all, lots of good about it. They just aren't doing it all well enough.

Maybe they'll sort out the mistakes and change some of the stupid policies. We, very sadly, won't be going back to see. Our next Christmas is already booked elsewhere in Bad Hofgastein.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
7  Thank Countryfoodie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christiane S, Manager at Das Alpenhaus Gasteinertal, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Dear sir or madam Countryfoodie_12, thank you very much for your visit to Das Alpenhaus Gasteinertal and the chance you gave us as a devotees of the Grand Park Hotel. We deliberately decided with the new Hotel Das Alpenhaus Gasteinertal for a 4 star category, in order to be able to exist in the region. The services in a 4 star hotel are in general different, than in a 5 star hotel, you can certainly understand this. You admit for yourself, that some reviews are your opinion. You‘re accustomed to the services of a 5 star hotel, why yourself and your demands on hotels "downgrade", a 4 star hotel can never meet your expectations. We, Das Alpenhaus Gasteinertal, walked with the re-opening of the house in great footsteps, the Grand Park Hotel has left many beautiful memories and for this we pay our respects. Nevertheless, we are leaving the past behind us and look full of optimism and confidence in our newest member of the Alpenhaus. We are glad that you keep the region as a holiday destination and we would be very happy to welcome you to a dinner in Das Alpenhaus Gasteinertal. Mr. Huik will certainly prepare you a great dish. All the best and best regards, Yours, Das Alpenhaus Gasteinertal Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews