We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel & Spa Der Steirerhof
Nearby Hotels
H2O Hotel Therme Resort(Bad Waltersdorf)
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Falkensteiner Therme & Golf Hotel(Bad Waltersdorf)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Safenhof(Bad Waltersdorf)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Hotel Fischer(Bad Waltersdorf)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Gasthof Erhardt(Bad Waltersdorf)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Thermenpension Gigler(Bad Waltersdorf)
Booking.com
View Deal
Gastehaus Fiedler(Bad Waltersdorf)
Booking.com
View Deal
Pension Elli(Bad Waltersdorf)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (312)
Filter reviews
312 results
Traveller rating
242
45
17
1
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
242
45
17
1
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshotel deservesjuicespoke englishmy friendenjoyed every minutesalt waterderpleasureboardnaturefacilitieswalksmassageactivitiesfeelingspawinter
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 312 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2015 via mobile

Clean hotel with big private hotel spa. Everything perfect but not especially charming when it comes to a holiday feeling - the hotel deserves the 5 stars completely - but it caters towards an older crowd. Has it become bigger (more rooms) over the past years? It felt like it. Food for vegetarians was boring. For meat eaters its paradise.

  • Stayed: February 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fmfm1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a fantastic 5 night stay at Der Steirerhof.

The room was very comfortable with a lovely balcony overlooking the valley. The facilities were well kept with several different saunas, heated indoor and outdoor relaxation pools, two steam rooms and a plunge pool as well asa cold water outdoor pool in the 'natural' area.

The food is excellent. We were signed up for the half board which is as good as full board. The breakfast is plentiful with a range of cold and hot options. The light lunch consists of an option of different soups, breads and salad bar as well as a daily cooked option such as risotto, pasta or stir fry. The dinner is simply top notch - well proportioned plates on a 5 course menu that leave you satisfied without feeling stuffed. The best thing is so many of the ingredients are locally sourced or grown on site.

The only slight criticisms we have (and these are only very minor) include:

-The outdoor 'sports pool' would benefit with a couple of lanes for lap
swimming. There was daily confusion between swimmers trying to
complete lengths compared to those enjoying a chat or just having a float.

-The gymnasium has several fixed resistance machines and cardio (rowing machines, exercise bikes, treadmills) but would benefit from a bench and some free weights.

One review below states the staff do not speak English - this is simply incorrect. The staff are fantastic and went out of their way to translate things in English, asking colleagues if needed to help explain the specials or fish of the day for example.

We are already planning a return trip in 2015 :)

Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Phil_249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The hotel is located in beautifully landscaped meadows. It has one inside thermal pool, four thermal pools outside, and an excellent spa. The rooms are large and beautifully designed and furnished; each room has a nice balcony with retractable shade. The hotel offers full board with almost nonstop eating options; breakfast is excellent, lunch is light and nice, dinner is very good. Recommended as a wonderful relaxation for mature people/couples. A bit on the expensive side, but certainly worth the money.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trbuksxdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We just loved this hotel and all it had to offer. We were there for a week and we have nothing to complain about! Great service, fantastic attention to detail, great food (maybe the tables are a bit to close together?), good offer of activities with superb staff in all areas.

Some reviewers complained about the high turnover in guests staying for shorter periods of time but, hey this is the 21st Century and this hotel has to make money too! Anyway,what does it matter, much better than seeing the same faces all the time.

Also, one reviewer complained that children were not welcome. Where is the problem? There are so many hotels for families but, this is a hotel for relaxation & peace & quiet in the pool & spa area. How unfair would that be for children, having to keep quiet all the time??? At least the hotel is honest enough to tell you in advance.

If you need a week away from it all, in a beautiful, caring, relaxing and quiet hotel, this is the place for you.The only thing which got on our nerves were the people who reserved the loungers with their towels. Hey ho. Nothing changes there.

Room Tip: Choose at least a classic double room or you may not have a view. Be sure when you are making a reservation.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tilly-Mae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This was my absolutely most terrible experience from a "5-star-hotel", ever! Never, have I seen such a structurally display of ignorance and rudeness carried out by the staff of a "luxury" hotel.

The main reason is: They have no English speaking staff. There are no English information brochures to be found. And, unfortunately also no desire to be accommodating and service-oriented towards guests.

I received a few grunts when asking in the reception where to book a massage, and when asking for some English information brochures I got a surprised look and a rude retort "NO, we have not". If you don‘t speak German, my advice is to steer away from this place!!! I could rave for hours about the absolutely most rude and ignorant staff I’ve met here.

When the hotel staff I met realized I did not speak Austrian/German I was completely ignored from beginning to end: No smile, no eye contact, no nothing! They immediately turned to my friend who understood German, and completely ignored me. My friend realized this and asked them to speak English, so I could receive some information as well, and was told quite rudely (in German) that he/she did not speak English.

At dinner they had one person who spoke English, and when they realized I spoke English we were ignored by all the other waiters and were told to wait for this person; which ended in the slowest dinner experience I’ve had in a long time.

Before this hotel at all can be compared with other hotels in the luxury class, they will have to change their attitude towards international guests; I neither expect nor need everybody to speak fluent English, but would definitely appreciate a positive attitude, and to be treated as all the other paying guests. If they don’t want to share any information in English, this is fine with me, but then they should have in hand some translated materials, such as the huge book you can find in the rooms (German only), and some information-flyers etc. or, they should put up a warning on the hotel-webpage, so you at least know what to expect.

The SPA was ok. But nothing more than average, the feeling is somewhat similar to a public bath, and not really a wellness SPA. It’s also crowded with elderly people, mostly couples.

Furthermore: NO INTERNET in the rooms. The need for WIFI in the daily life is a given, and I’ve earlier criticized other hotels for charging you extras for using WIFI. WELL... THIS HOTEL DON’T EVEN HAVE WIFI IN THE ROOMS, and the argument that strong enough transmitters would jeopardize the guest "health", due to high radiation or similar, are the poorest excuses I’ve heard in a long time. I then have to wonder why they then don’t also question the effects of local radio-transmitters, TV, mobile phones etc. (basically everything with an antenna might affect your sleep quality, if you believe in such thing), or even the UV-radiation from the sun itself, which are much more threatening than the WIFI-radiation will ever be. Anyway, for us this became a huge bother, as the room was quite far from the reception-area. We therefore had to plan the “go-check-email” times. A completely unnecessary inconvenience you will have to endure at this place.

There are of course a few positive points, such as the wonderful location, beautiful garden, live-piano music in the evenings etc., but these were completely overshadowed by the negative experiences.

The overall conclusion of the stay: In my eyes, absolutely not worth the price they charge. No WIFI connection in the rooms, and service are terrible: maybe good if you speak the "correct language" (which I unfortunately did not). Probably this place is OK for elder Austrians or Germans, but nothing I can recommend for international guests.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mlinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews