We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Eurostar Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Raj Mahal Hotel(Castrop-Rauxel)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Daun(Castrop-Rauxel)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Specht Hotel(Dortmund)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
6
13
13
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6
13
13
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 34 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2016

Woodford's first destination on their German city break was the Eurostar hotel on the outskirts of Dortmund. Selected on price rather than location Woodford knew that they had to get to grips with the local transport to reach the thrills of the Eurostar.

From the airport we boarded a bus, tram, train and bus. Overall journey time 2 hours but taking into account the fact we stared at German signs and we reliant on following a bald man who was vaguely traveling in our direction this time could have been halved.

When Woodford arrived they they pleasantly surprised, a well lit warm room with complimentary Haribos. What a good start to the Holiday. The room it's self was clean & had everything you would expect.

An unusual room selection worth a mention is the German choice of pillows. A large square pillow rather than the traditional British rectangle, possibly the EU way to sleep however unless you like lying perfectly horizontal while trying to catch your Zeds this isn't the one for you, certainly Ford was at the poverty end of pillow feathers.

The €9.50 breakfast buffet was a optional extra that Woodford went to town on. Unlimited breakfast buffet that had most continental items you would expect such as meat and cheese but with the added bonus of cakes. Donuts and marble cake did not last long. "The most important" meal of the day was well worth the money paid and set the rest of the day up nicely.

At €45 for the night this was a good hotel. Very clean and friendly staff. The location is only a 30 minute trip out of town and gave us a good understanding of the public transport that was required for the rest of he holiday.

Overall when all said and done 7/10

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Woodford51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eurostarteam, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Eurostar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2016

Hello, thank you for take the time to give such a long review of your stay.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our breakfast as well.
We are wondering of the room price, perhaps you mean per person and day.
The airport Dortmund is about 30 km away, it takes time to come here with public transport but 2 hours are not usual. Hope you had a nice time in Germany.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2015

For a trade show in Dortmund we stayed in this hotel. Although it is a bit far from Westfalenhallen in Dortmund, through the nearby motorway the commute in the morning and evening was acceptable.
The breakfast was good, but basic. The rooms are clean and quiet.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JakeHerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eurostarteam, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Eurostar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2015

Dear Guest,
thank you for your positive review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that the way 15km to Westfalenhallen is feasible for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2014 via mobile

Pleasantly surprised with the Eurostar hotel. We are in a family room which has two separate sleeping areas. The rooms and bathroom are both very spacious, clean and tidy. Very comfortable and peaceful stay!

The breakfast has enough choices and it is enough to start your day. All staff we have encountered have been extremely helpful with any query we may of had.

In regards to location it worked well for our visit and requirements.

Would highly recommend and would definitely visit again should we ever return

Thank you Eurostar Hotel!


  • Stayed: October 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JenMac4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eurostarteam, Public Relations Manager at Eurostar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2015

Dear Guest, thank you for your positive review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I reguarly travel to the Dortmund/Bochum area of Germany on buisness and have stayed in a number of Business Type Hotels.
The Euro Star is probably the best value option I have found and offers free wifi in the rooms(ask for code from reception) which is not avialble in some other Local Hotels.

The rooms are Basic but adequate, there is the obligatory mini bar and a Decent Sized LCD TV. They are spotlessly clean.
The Hotel has a small bar in the Lobby which is manned mainly by the receptionist but there is also a small restraunt/bar on the lower level which is reasonably priced and offers a varied menu.
The Breakfeast is standard Buffet type but again is more than adequate for business trips.
I found the Staff to be freindly and efficent during check in/out.

Would stop here again as you know exactley what your are getting.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank API23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

During my stay bar was closed but we could get drinks food basic service and staff very good room clean I think I would stay in central Dortmund as there is not much going on in the area i would not say this is a 4* but more a 3*

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews