We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thorpe park...”
Review of THORPE PARK Resort

THORPE PARK Resort
Book In Advance
More Info
US$45.92*
and up
THORPE PARK Resort Admission Ticket with Meal Deal
Ranked #6 of 13 things to do in Chertsey
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: With over 30 thrilling rides, attractions and live events, THORPE PARK Resort is an island like no other and the UK's must-visit destination to share endless fun with family and friends. THORPE PARK Resort has hotel accommodation available for booking at the THORPE SHARK Hotel which is only minutes walk from the action. Rooms sleep up to 4 persons. During Summer season THORPE PARK Resort has its very own beach and paddling pool with beach huts available to rent. NEW for 2017 is the multi-award winning Derren Brown's Ghost Train: Rise Of The Demon, designed by the master of illusion, Derren Brown himself.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Visited here as a family of 10+ for scare fest 2017.

Staff were fab, and the actors that were dressed up etc were brilliant.

Not many rides suitable for younger ones - to be honest majority of the rides here are for thrill seekers.

I am unfortunately not a thrill seeker so didn't experience many rides, however the log flume was one i did - it was the final ride of the night, pitch black and throwing down rain already. We came off soaked to our skin but never laughed so much in my life.

My husband consistently tells me the swarm was the best ride hes ever been on. They went on this again in darkness - an effect that enhanced his ride for the better.

The mazes were good but according to my husband and nephews - not scary enough.

Overall a fairly good day out. Our only down side was the car parking. We got in the parking area easily and no issues at all. But leaving was absolutely appalling. We sat in a jam for over an hour trying to leave. They definitely need some better system for leaving during busy times. This unfortunately was a fairly big issue for us as we are not local and it only made our journey home longer and more tiring.

1  Thank jess_6933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorpe P, Guest Experience Team at THORPE PARK Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Hi Jess

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your visit.

Sorry you experienced problems with exiting the car park. We rely on valuable customer feedback like yours to continually update and improve our park, and will be forwarding this to the team.

Hope it didn`t take too long before you arrived home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8,210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"tidal wave"
in 439 reviews
"water rides"
in 265 reviews
"nemesis inferno"
in 363 reviews
"big rides"
in 483 reviews
"angry birds"
in 146 reviews
"shark hotel"
in 159 reviews
"loggers leap"
in 114 reviews
"burger king"
in 200 reviews
"storm surge"
in 167 reviews
"thrill seekers"
in 213 reviews
"pizza hut"
in 103 reviews
"rumba rapids"
in 104 reviews
"flying fish"
in 87 reviews
"school holidays"
in 169 reviews
"longest queue"
in 96 reviews
"food outlets"
in 82 reviews
"great park"
in 102 reviews
Filter

300 - 304 of 8,210 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Booked on a 2 day break it rained the whole time
But it didn’t stop us
We come on the Thursday and there was a press conference for the walking dead ride so seeing the celebrity’s was a treat we tryed the ride and it was good watching the walkers outside aswell was brill
Rides
Darren brown very good but can be scaryer
8/10
Stealth very fast good ride 10/10
Nemesis brill 9/10
Saw my favourite ride by far went on it 7 times loved it
10/10
Colossus good ride 8/10
There my best rides
The parks nice loads of places to eat plenty of loos
Loads of staff the fasttrack £50 unlimited defo worth getting
Overall had s great time 10/10

Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorpe P, Guest Experience Team at THORPE PARK Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Hi Lisa

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. So pleased you all enjoyed yourselves.

Look forward to seeing you all very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We went to Thorpe Park for the 1st time on the 31st March with low expectations after reading all the negative reviews on here, however we were pleasantly surprised with our trip!

We waited half an hour to get in, but after that all queues were 10-20 mins, which was great! We didn’t even have to use our Fast track ticket which really surprised us! The only ride that broke down was Ghost Train, but we did get to go on everything else, so I guess we can’t complain!

Our favourite rides were Swarm, Stealth, Saw and The Walking Dead! All the thrill rides basically! My boyfriend thought the Walking Dead ride was atmospheric and scary, but to improve it it needed more urgency and a way to make the long queue more exciting. Be prepared to run...

The only downside is the extortionate price we had to pay for a basic lunch! We paid 14 pounds for 2 hotdogs, fries and a drink, so maybe bring food with you!!

Overall, your day is what you make it, I really think Thorpe Park is worth more than 1-2 stars as the rides really are awesome and we hope to visit again later on in the year :)

Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorpe P, Guest Experience Team at THORPE PARK Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Hi Emma Thank you for taking the time to write a review. So pleased you enjoyed your visit with us.

Your comments regarding the queue time more exciting have been passed to the relevant team for their information

Sorry to read you thought the prices for food was high. Yes it is a good idea to bring a packed lunch as this will save on costs. We do have lockers to store picnics in and they cost £2 everytime you use them.

Hope to see you all again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Thorpe park is a fantastic theme park with some amazing rides that are even on par with some of Orlandos top theme parks it's a shame that some of the rides were very malfunctioning.

Stealth, Colossus, Swarm, Nemesis Inferno, Derren Browns ghost train all closed down at some point.

We arrived at 11:30am and the park wasn't that busy we went for stealth first which was amazing however we witnessed it breaking down getting right to the top then going backwards which topped off being closed for the rest of the day.

Nemesis didn't open till about 12/12:30pm after queuing for 15 minutes it closed and there was no explanation from the staff, they tested it a couple of times then had a few more runs before closing again for the rest of the day. We didn't get to ride this which was very disappointing

Derren brown was next after a wait time of 45 minutes which we expected we didn't get to ride for over an hour, they have two separate queues at two separate doors and the attendant kept opening the same one leaving a lot of guests in the other queue extremely frustrated to be fair the staff controlling the queue was very apologetic even though it wasn't his fault.
The ghost train also experienced technical difficulties a few times throughout with the actors not having understanding why.

Colossus again like nemesis was having a habit of opening/re-opening throughout the day which was annoying, we queued for 20 minutes before the shut the ride at about 1:30pm and didn't reopen till nearly 5:00pm.

Swarm was shut all day and didn't open until nearly 5:00pm the park shuts at 5:30pm so what really was the point in that?

Saw was the only ride that seemed to stay open all day as well as the water rides bearing in mind it was cold, wet and rainy. So there was very little point.

All in all it could of been a fantastic day if the rides stayed open, I get that sometimes things do go wrong and it can't be helped. The staff while friendly didn't seem to have much confidence and couldn't explain why the rides kept closing. I know that we went on a cold, miserable wet day in off-peak times but when your still charged full price it doesn't give you the best value for money

1  Thank Saintee2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorpe P, Guest Experience Team at THORPE PARK Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you for your review We appreciate you taking the time to do this.

Please can you email us on www.customer.services@thorpe-park.co.uk so we can discuss your visit further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Two adults, two 7 year olds. £330 for 2 nights and 2 day entry.
Not the resorts fault that it rained all day however....
Most rides closed, queuing times over 25 mins generally, very few staff, about 5 rides for children under 1.4 m.
We have just been informed the park has been shut at 4pm.... total waste of money, no one to discuss this with....no coffee or hot chocolate - all has run out.
Yet to see the Shark hotel.... just want to go home and get our money back ...☹️

6  Thank Bunjy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorpe P, Guest Experience Team at THORPE PARK Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to send a review. We are sorry that you did not have the day you were expecting.

Please email us on www.customer.services@thorpe-park.co.uk so we can discuss this further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed THORPE PARK Resort also viewed

 

Been to THORPE PARK Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing