We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A fantastic stay in a stunning property!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Newtonmore, Badenoch and Strathspey, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Amy B
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A fantastic stay in a stunning property!”
Reviewed 18 August 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Booked through Sykes Cottages and have reviewed on there but thought I would on here too.
If you are thinking of booking The Signal Box then just do it and you won't be disappointed. Great location, lovely property and fantastic views of the Cairngorms.
We visited for a week in April and had a good lot of snow which made it just magical.
Plenty of places to visit nearby and further afield. Visit the Cairngorm mountain, Aviemore and if you are up for a drive head over to Isle of Skye! Well worth it.
Thanks to the owners for providing such a lovely place to stay and the freshly baked chocolate cake when we arrived was a lovely surprise!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneyEdwa...
Crossford, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Loved this, can't wait to go back again!”
Reviewed 2 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The appeal of the Signal Box for us was our connection to the railway, having both worked with railway companies in the past. The photographs and reviews of the Signal Box beforehand were all very encouraging, and the booking process, arranging key collection with Mrs Russell and arriving/departing was all very flexible and easy. On arrival, the Signal Box looks stunning from the outside, and once inside, it is filled with every conceivable home comfort you could need, including being greeted by a delicious home made chocolate cake and fresh flowers and a thoughtful pint of milk from the owner, with lovely fresh decor and loads of space to relax throughout. We didn't use the television once as the views across to the surrounding hillls (snowcapped!), golfers in the distance, the arrivals and departures from the passing trains and the new born lambs in the field across the road provided plenty of entertainment and just made it the perfect time of year to be there and to enjoy nature. Sitting in the comfortable armchairs, on the couch or at the dining table all gave different views through the many windows around the top floor - whoever designed the Signal Box was inspired! The kitchen is fully equipped with every possible utensil and cooking equipment if you like self-catering, or a 10 min stroll to the start of Newtonmore main street gives options for dining out - would highly recommend the Glen Hotel at the start of the main street, excellent food and great service, and huge portions, and lots of craft ales and whiskies on offer. The sleeping and bathroom facilities are excellent, comfy bed, lots of storage space, great water pressure for the shower and the bathroom under-floor heating was a treat!! Lots of books and games on offer for visitors, and particularly loved the collection of railway and train books which obviously belonged to an enthusiast, and photographs of old Newtonmore station on the walls. Would recommend trying the Wildcat trail walk, about 7 miles and leaves from just beside the station, a circular walk taking you through different landscapes, along beside the River Spey and upwards for stunning views, farm fields, forest and waterfalls, as well as several other walks around the area of varying degrees of ease/difficulty depending on your fitness level and length of stay. The Signal Box is in a lovely quiet area beside the station, we slept like logs on both of our nights here! On our last morning the sun was shining and it was warm enough to sit outside the Box upstairs on the bench and enjoy the heat of the sun for a little while, before we sadly had to head for home. The time here was so relaxing and comfortable (especially when the log burning stove was on!), it felt like we had been there a lot longer than two nights. We both agreed that we can't wait to come back again, thank you Mrs Russell and family for a fantastic stay in amazing place :-)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnty196...
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Better than the excellent reviews!”
Reviewed 11 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Walking upstairs from the downstairs bedroom is a daily delight. Arriving in the huge kitchen / dining / living space one is constantly amazed by the views across Strathspey ... for miles and miles both up and down the valley. The handy binoculars allow for great close-ups of brown hate in the field directly opposite.

The accommodation is very well planned and maintained. It's comfortable and cosy.

So glad we managed to get a cancellation and get here. Will be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2016
We couldn't be happier that you had a great stay at Signal Box, thank you for taking the time to share your experience there with us all. Waking up to those wonderful views sounds incredible, what a way to start the day! We certainly hope you return to enjoy the place again in the very near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane K
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cosy and full of charm”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The Signal Box - where to start! It' s a beautifully appointed holiday home - just right for a couple. Cosy and comfortable - perfect to come home to on a cold day. The cottage owner Isla has prepared it as though it was her own home - full of lovely little touches that just make your stay special. From the well stocked kitchen ( every implement you could want) to the bathroom with fluffy towels and scented hand wash ( and underfloor heating) - she has considered everything.
The cottage is well situated for keen walkers. Don't miss the the Wildcat walk and take advantage of all the hills nearby. Well situated for Pitlochry, Aviemore, Inverness. Thanks Isla - who else would spoil you with flowers and a chocolate cake on arrival.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: I love it all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea W
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant little gem”
Reviewed 21 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Isla provided a thoughtful welcome by leaving out chocolate cake and milk for our arrival. The signal box is easily found and is a great base to explore the surrounding area. Although the trains are quite frequent, they're not a distraction and the lovely views from the cottage of the sheep, lambs, bunnies and Cairngorm mountain range are great to come back to after days out. The cottage was really homely and my other half loved using the wood burning stove in the evenings. Everything is provided. Would definitely stay here again if we revisit the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The shower!
Liked least: The fact that I didn't get to use the sauna due to me having a sprain that didn't need heat!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing