We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Glen Hotel(Newtonmore)
US$116
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crubenbeg House(Newtonmore)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coig Na Shee(Newtonmore)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alvey House(Newtonmore)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Laggan Glamping(Newtonmore)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (278)
Filter reviews
279 results
Traveller rating
144
105
22
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
144
105
22
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolshinty barcoach partylounge barnice clean roomsvenisoncooked foodfood was lovelypiecoach tripfamily roomstayed for two nightsfriendly hotelhill walkingenjoyable stayhome cookedbar meals
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 279 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2018

We popped in tonight for a bar supper. Seated immediately. Good priced menu with nice fresh home-cooked food. Even though the staff were inundated with bus loads of tourists needing their undivided attention, not once did they fail to pay attention to all their other guests having food or drinks. Excellent meal, would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Carina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018

visited recently to have dinner with friends who were booked overnight here from down south, Found the service excellent and very friendly and genuine. The food was amazing and well presented which was a pleasant surprise. Had a drink or two in the bar after where we were treated to live scottish music which added to the anbience.

Stayed: April 2018
Thank Melanitsa7328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018

stayed at the Balavil hotel last week April 2018
had a very enjoyable stay, had a front facing room 33.
rooms small but adequate, clean, bed very comfortable, we had a walk in shower which was very handy for my disabled husband.
food was excellent i had fish every night top class, breakfasts help yourself a good selection, real Scots porridge think there was salt in it (i shouldn't have) but i was on holiday. the safe were helpful and friendly. bar was well stocked and good service, didn't like the entertainment, being in Scotland would have liked more traditional, most coach of our party agreed.
very impressed with Newtownmore had some lovely walks from the hotel. Co-op being next door helped to get things i had forgotten, also to get sandwiches for our day trips.
i hope we get to return to the Balavil sometime. Thanks to everyone

Room Tip: 33 is on first floor walk in shower
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2018

The A9 corridor is a bit of a honeypot and originally intended to stay in Blair Atholl but everywhere was booked (apart from the very expensive), so I opted for Newtonmore and I wasn't disappointed with this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JamesHartleyBennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018

My wife, daughter and I stayed for four nights recently and had a fantastic stay. From the moment we walked through the door to the moment we left we were treated superbly by all the members of staff.

Our Family room, whilst not being overly fancy, was very clean and tidy. The shower in the bathroom was excellent, powerful and warm. We were given plenty of towels too. All was good.

Breakfast every morning in the main dining room is a relaxed and very pleasant occasion, the highlight of which was the beautiful Haggis!!

We ate our evening meal there on three of the four nights and found the menu to be varied, the portions plentiful and extremely good value. The pizza's were awesome.

We also took advantage of the swimming pool on several occasions. We had this mainly to ourselves and really enjoyed the facility.

All in all we had a fantastic time in a great little hotel being looked after by genuine, professional staff members. We'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews