We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,976)
Filter reviews
1,976 results
Traveller rating
1,104
496
221
97
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,104
496
221
97
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviews course meal wedding breakfast birthday treat lovely hotel carvery dinner couldn't do enough main course wedding reception from start to finish soup wedding venue sandwiches my mum salmon following morning bar area staff were lovely
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 1,976 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2018

We had afternoon tea booked and thought it would be nice to have a spa morning beforehand. It was a completely surreal experience from beginning to end, and not in a good way. We got to the spa to be told that both their therapists were off sick so we couldn’t have the treatments we’d paid for. We got to do one of the self-serve ones instead, so that was OK, though not ideal. In fact the dry flotation room was lovely, really relaxing. The rest of the spa was a bit amateur though - smallish murky hot tub from which we had to skim bits of tree ourselves, insipid foot spa, no sign of the advertised ice crystals, the snooze room was just like a living room really (including a TV!), and the ladies changing room had cobwebs in corners and didn’t smell very nice at all. It was also weird that there only appears to be one toilet for all spa customers - not even a ladies and gents one, and none in the changing rooms. My other half said the men’s changing rooms were minuscule and had only one tiny shower.

On to our afternoon tea, booked in advance with some special requirements for a gluten-intolerant person, a vegetarian and two wheelchair users. Nobody in the restaurant seemed to have any idea whatsoever about our booking, and we were seated in an area that felt like a corridor - there was even carpet vacuuming going on at one point! We were at first served with two not very impressive teas, and nothing was provided to the other four in our party for ages and ages. One of our servers was really quite rude, and the others were just incompetent, taking our order then disappearing never to return. Three different people schlepped to and from the reception desk trying to track down our booking and confirmation email with our various requirements, others came to check what we wanted - any food would have done at this point, to be honest - and we eventually got the rest of our teas, served with rather bad grace by the aforesaid rude staff member. The teas themselves were also rather disappointing, consisting only of sandwiches and one scone each but no other cakes. When we asked for additional cakes, unbelievably there was only one on offer - a very nice chocolate cake, admittedly, but really, in a place allegedly serving cream and afternoon teas, we’d expect a decent range.

All in all, to us as first-time visitors with a lot of of experience of other hotels through extensive business travel, this felt like a place that is trying to do far too many things with far too few staff and deeply inadequate management. We’d bet that nobody attending to us today has been through formal hospitality training. We did get a discount on the food bill, but that doesn’t make up for the disappointing experience and we will not be returning.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night last weekend. On arrival the staff were very welcoming and helpful. We had the carvery dinner which was very good value for money.
We always like to support independent hotels and would recommend The Bridge Hotel and Spa (not sure if i posted this already i had an IT meltdown)

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipRoberts1, Manager at The Bridge Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Steve; it was a pleasure to welcome you to The Bridge Hotel; thank you very much for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

a very chilled relaxing break with friends fabulous meal hotel is spotlessly clean staff are friendly and helpful cant wait for next time. viewed the spa looked amazing something for next times trip. needs soft closing doors on rooms was awoken at 6.50am as all business travellers were up and leaving loud bangs from doors.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank swampduck101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipRoberts1, Owner at The Bridge Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2018

We are very proud of our wonderful Courtyard Restaurant & are so pleased that you enjoyed the food so much. We are upgrading our bedroom locking sytem & door closers this autumn which will resolve any noisy doors closing. We hope to welcome you back again soon; perhaps for a spa break.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the Bridge Hotel overnight on a Travel Zoo deal and it was really great value! The staff were friendly and very helpful. The room we stayed in was wonderful. It had the usual refreshment tray as well as a small decanter of Sherry and a small box of chocolates! The bathroom was well equipped with beautiful toiletries and a rain shower! The evening meal consisted of 5 courses and breakfast was good also.
All in all a great deal in a lovely comfortable hotel and hope to visit soon.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Joyce F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipRoberts1, Manager at The Bridge Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Many thanks for your very kind review; we hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

What can we say. Our eldest son's wedding day was simply a dream. From the moment they booked the staff were so helpful and eager to accommodate everything they wanted. Special thanks to Helen for her patience over the last few months!

On the day itself the hotel looked amazing. The service and staff were outstanding especially John, Marie and Jackie. Nothing was too much trouble and our guests were made to feel very welcome especially those travelling from the US who stayed for several days.

The food was superb and the evening party finished the day off to complete a memorable day.

We have had so many compliments from family and friends in regards to the The Bridge i.e. the service, food, attention to detail and the staffs professional attitude throughout the day.

Needless to say the Bride and Bridegroom were thrilled with everything.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the field are quieter
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipRoberts1, Manager at The Bridge Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

We are so delighted that James & Rachel enjoyed their wedding day here at The Bridge so much. Thank you for your very kind review; which means a great deal to the team here at The Bridge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews