We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Sugar Beach Hotel(Playa Potrero)(Great Value!)
US$119
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bahia Esmeralda(Playa Potrero)
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villaggio Flor de Pacifico(Playa Potrero)(Great Value!)
US$106
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel(Playa Potrero)(Great Value!)
US$125
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa(Playa Flamingo)(Great Value!)
US$215
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Guanacaste Lodge(Playa Flamingo)(Great Value!)
US$79
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$238
Lol.travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Brasilito(Brasilito)(Great Value!)
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Nany(Brasilito)(Great Value!)
US$66
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveller rating
196
22
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
196
22
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscasa chameleoncosta ricaplunge poolamazing viewsgolf cartsunset viewpura vidacevichemain pooltop notchoverlooking the oceanfirst classmountain bikingprivate villajet skiingliberia airporthotel restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 222 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2018

We only stayed for two nights in this wonderful hotel and we will come back for sure, even if the trip from Europe is rather far. We experienced a wonderful, personal and let's say "chilly, easy" welcome.
The location is breathtaking, the pool awesome, sunset is a real spectacle which should not be missed, the villas are so detailed equipment that it is really a pleasure to stay "at home" .... And the staff behaves as if they knew you for a long time .... it was a really wonderful hotel experience for me, since I am fond of small personal hotels which differ from this typical hotel chain perfectionism standards

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Petra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federico G, Manager at Casa Chameleon Hotel at Las Catalinas, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Dear Petra E,

Thank you very much for your review. I'm thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the breathtaking views and setting our main pool has to offer. I'm happy to learn that you enjoyed your time with us and that you felt like at home. Our staff considers Casa Chameleon their home and that's what they transmit to our guests. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.

Warm regards from your Casa Chameleon Family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018

We had a wonderful trip. The team is excellent and incredibly helpful, which makes for a great experience. The property has amazing views and the rooms are private and beautiful. Great place to relax and enjoy the ocean and sun.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gaelan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federico G, Manager at Casa Chameleon Hotel at Las Catalinas, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Dear Gaelan R,

Thank your for the time taken to leave us a review. We happy to learn that you connected with our team members and that they made your experience with us memorable. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.

Warm regards from your Casa Chameleon Family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

We spent as a family of 6 in 3 houses from the 24th December to the 30th. We had a great time and Anna at the reception had booked a lot of expeditions and activities for us.

The restaurant is great and the chef is always present in order to behind staff and look after the guests requests and wishes . The wine list is good and overall the value for money is respected. They have some amazing staff at the hotel !

The rooms are great and have a nice view on the pacific.

Yoga is great and the location and the yoga teacher are nice .

We had as well massages in the room for two and hey were extremely good.

Given that the Hôtel is pretty new he Vegetation needs some growing.

As he Hôtel is a bit remote the drive service is a bit on the pricey side .

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Roland L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federico G, Manager at Casa Chameleon Hotel at Las Catalinas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2018

Dear Roland L,

Thank you for having chosen to spend Christmas with us. We're happy to hear that Anna was so helpful with your activities and expeditions. We're thrilled to learn that you connected with our staff and that you enjoyed our wine selection and food, we truly try to make each guest feel at home and well taken care of. We hope your family and you can join us again in the near family.

Warm regards, from your Casa Chameleon Family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

We loved our stay! The staff was friendly, helpful and extremely proactive.
The food was great! (Maybe there should be a bit more variety of fish of the day which was mahi mahi and see-bass for our entire stay)
The beaches, activities etc were very good and organized!

We loved our stay and would love to come back!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Felix L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federico G, Manager at Casa Chameleon Hotel at Las Catalinas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2018

Dear Felix L,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. As a hotel which favours responsible fishing practices, we sometimes are faced with the inconvenience of not being able to offer many varieties, due to the fact that our fish is caught by rod, not by long liners, and sometimes during the year certain species are more present in our waters than others. This week we are starting to see more Red Snapper, and Yellowfin Tuna is coming out nicely. If you consider visiting us again we will try to go out of our way to offer you some other choices. All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

We found out about this place onsite through the Web by coincidence and it was worth the detour. Just try to arrive by daylight. We arrived via monkey dirt road, a little adventurous if unknown. 72 steps to our bungalow. Bedroom was rather small and shower room included the toilette. But with the terrace and private plunch pool overlooking small Islands and sunset location it was really nice and special. Architecture, pool and decoration really beautiful. Restaurant kitchen and service needs to improve if they want some international standards. Long waiting time and some language barriers. Front office, nice and smiling and a very pro executive housekeeper! You will enjoy the setting. Take the sunset bungalow.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ibiza26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federico G, Manager at Casa Chameleon Hotel at Las Catalinas, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Dear ibiza26,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments. We take all our guest feedback very seriously and will work hard on improving. Please receive our apologies for the delay in service you experienced in the restaurant we are working hard on making this better by constantly training our servers and looking for areas we can become more efficient. I'm sorry to hear you encountered some language barriers with our wait staff however as you know the native language of Costa Rica is Spanish and we do our best to find english speaking staff without leaving aside trying to find local staff to support the community by generating employment. We will continue to improve on this with the english program that we have in house to train our staff. I'm thrilled to hear you enjoyed your room and the breathtaking views on offer. We look foward to having you stay with us again. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews