We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,129)
Filter reviews
1,129 results
Traveller rating
937
162
19
9
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
937
162
19
9
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river borneo rainforest lodge danum valley leech socks lahad datu red leaf monkeys canopy walk night walk private guide deluxe chalet main building buffet style flora and fauna sambar deer amazing experience every meal jacuzzi pool
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,129 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2022

The lodge is truly an incredible experience, surrounded by pristine rainforest with the chance of seeing wild life on a daily basis. Our guide, Sher Wood, was very knowledgable and let us take things at our own pace which my family and I really appreciated. We had amazing hikes through the rainforest and even the journey to the lodge was enjoyable with a good driver and vehicle. The hospitality and service at the lodge was very warm and welcoming and we are grateful to the staff for taking such good care of us. We very much look forward to hopefully visiting again! Thank you.

Date of stay: December 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank trF9646LE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 30 November 2022

Rooms were very nice - clean, spacious and well-appointed. The lodge is very remote - about a 2 1/2 hour drive straight into the jungle on very poor roads but worth the trip. There is a good selection of food for all meals and staff are exceptional. The guides are also excellent and very knowledgeable. Some tough hiking especially after rains if you are climbing. A lot of three steps up and slide back two in the wet, slippery clay. And the leeches do not add to the enjoyment of the trip. Saw several orangutans in their natural locations as well as a whole range of creatures the day we were leaving early in the morning. Saw the area where Dame Judy Dench did her amazing docs about the trees. A critically important area of the world and one tourism helps to protect from being turned into palm tree farms.

Date of stay: October 2022
Thank patsychom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 November 2022

If you want to see truly wild apes and a plethora of other wildlife while staying in comfortable rooms, this is the place! Orangutans and gibbons were the highlight. Stayed 3 nights. Fabulous private guide Farah made sure we all got to enjoy our favorite activity: swimming in waterfall, tubing, hiking to a lookout, animal spotting.
Food is generally good. Main lodge building where the eating and lounge is located, is stunning. Room was comfortable (triple deluxe) although bathroom showing it's age. But since facing river and jungle it's super private and quiet. Leeches were the low point. Wear long pants and leech socks but get mentally prepared for a sneaky one or two. Hardly saw a mosquito. Very expensive stay but seeing primary rainforest and truly wild apes was worth it.

Date of stay: October 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank anonymous308
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 1 November 2022

I cannot describe fully how wonderful our stay here was. Our perfect villa had the most amazing view across the river and into primary rainforest. The swallows danced and swooped across our view, as we sat in our infinity pool and gazed in awe at this precious and beautiful place.

Our accommodation was equipped with everything from walking poles to binoculars, the mini bar was thoughtfully stacked with soft drinks and isotonic refreshments, the little jars of edible natural treats. Food at the main lodge was freshly prepared, varied with multiple choices. and beautifully presented.

The staff stood out for me. First and foremost our amazing guide Farah – whose attention to detail and expert knowledge were the key thing that perfected our visit. She guided us through the rainforest as we followed orangutans mothers and infants, showed us incredible birds and insects, and told us about the plants, trees and eco-system. We even walked through the river, up to our knees at times, which was an incredible experience. Oh, and not to forget the amazing night walks! I should add that without exception, all of the staff here are skilled, thoughtful, helpful and friendly doing everything they can to make our stay perfect.

If there is one thing that I would change, it would be the introductory talk. It focussed on visiting other Borneo locations yet almost everyone listening was on a carefully planned itinerary. Use that time wisely to talk about the wonderful place we are in and what it offers instead. After all, that’s what we were all there for.

I’ve been lucky to have had some amazing wildlife experiences but this one will remain with me for the rest of my life – it was truly beyond words – completely amazing!

Room tip: There are rooms to suit different needs and budgets - explore the choices and book what works for you
Date of stay: October 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank susanbL1602KW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 10 October 2022 via mobile

We stayed in the Jungle lodge for 3 days. Room spacious and airy with a large balcony. Despite the room being on the main road to and from the lodge it was quiet and restful.

Areas surrounding the lodge - plentiful with seating and viewing areas.

Our guide Messi provided indepth commentary on the wildlife and birds and enjoyed working with tourists. We enjoyed our experience.

Resturant facilities- marvellous choices and a beautiful setting.

I am giving 4 stars due to the fact that I was very unwell with the road journey - fellow travellers were all well.

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bblackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews