We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,129)
Filter reviews
1,129 results
Traveller rating
937
162
19
9
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
937
162
19
9
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river borneo rainforest lodge danum valley leech socks lahad datu red leaf monkeys canopy walk night walk private guide deluxe chalet main building buffet style flora and fauna sambar deer amazing experience every meal jacuzzi pool
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,129 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for four days and loved every minute of it! Incredible food in the middle of nowhere, impressive! The wildlife here is fantastic! We saw several wild orangutans, even a big alfa male walking past us near the restaurant area. Very friendly staff and great guides.

Room tip: Even if a long trip and not cheap, it is definitely worth it! You will never regret going!!!
Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank rogerl153
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We didn’t read any reviews nor researched much prior to arriving and thus had zero expectations of this place. On the drive to Danum Valley, a pair of barking deers crossed our path. A sign of things to come. We got the Premium Deluxe Villa. The villa was very spacious, had an outdoor plunge pool and it was great to sit out on the deck. We spotted orang utans on one of the hikes and that made the whole trip! We expected bugs, leeches and zero or little network coverage and got all that. Although we were told that cables are currently (as of Dec 22) being laid so you may get good network coverage in the future. The Lodge is expanding and along with the network cable works seem counter to conservation efforts. Nevertheless there is nothing like spotting wild animals in their habitat. The food here is great, a good mix of local and western, and the wine selection could be more robust. Visiting Danum Valley is one of our best experiences ever. Oh! Bring water shoes for the jagged rocks at the waterfall and river!

Date of stay: December 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank joyeuxlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Absolutely loved our stay here, truly worth every single penny. Eco, presevering of nature, and natural within the 130 million yr old rainforest. Dextor our guide was fantastic, fully knowledgable about every single creature from ants to snakes, leaves on trees. Jungle trek was amazing, tubing, and canopy walk.. You get to experience the view and environment from all angles with the activities on the itinerary.
We were really wanting to see a orantgutan and was lucky enough to see a glimpse in the jeep on the way to the lodge
However we didnt see one again. I would say it didn't hinder our experience one bit. You get immersed in nature, we ended up becoming facsinated with any living being and saw so many wild animals. From monkeys to different birds, snakes, spiders, frogs. 1million percent recommend this place, puts you into natures natural eco system which is so amazing.
We stayed in the premium deluxe room, the view was fantastic, definitely worth spending the extra for this.
Also just to add the food is outstanding, diff choices every meal, buffet style but classy. We are vegetarian and had so much choice.

Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Parisa1234562016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 29 December 2022 via mobile

Long 2.5 hrs ride from the airport. They take you to a place for drinks and checking in before the long drive that serve drinks, coffee and tea etc.
For a remote location. The restaurant serves good and tasty food. Careful the package doesn’t include carbonated drinks or non-alcoholic drinks at lunch or dinner. Only OJ is served at breakfast as an option to water, tea or coffee.
The guides there are amazing and are so passionate about this place. They know where to look during the day, night walks (east to do even for my young 8yr old son). Afternoon walks are also nice!
You can buy leech socks at the shop. They are a must! Stay clear of the show washing area, that’s where people coming back from hikes wash and flick the leeches off, so there is bound to be leeches there.
Some resident orangutans live thetr as well as the red monkeys.
Overall go for the premium deluxe over looking the river.
Bring rain jackets and rain pants. It’s a rainforest so it rains alot!

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank minnie_globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 24 December 2022

The lodge is way over-rated. The entire place needs a make-over as signs of aging was seen everyhere, especially in the chalets. However, the staff were excellent!
For the price they are charging, we could not have any complimentary non-alcholic drinks during lunches and dinners. We were told only plain water was complimentary! Really wonder how much can non-alcholic drinks cost?
On the last day, we had an early lunch (to catch our flight home). I had the papaya from the chiller and after a bite, found that the fruit has gone entirely bad (although they looked freshly cut). Luckily, the entire plate of the fruit was untouched (since we were the first diners). In this instance, lapse in food safety is totally unacceptable, especially since you pride yourself as a premium establishment.

Date of stay: November 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lawrence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews