We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Touch of Class”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chez Nous Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 13 Dundee B&B and Inns
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Touch of Class”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Anyone who loves good food and a comfortable room with all the mod cons will find Chez Nous an enjoyable experience. It offers the choice of self-catering or being pampered with a great breakfast that includes the choice of Dundee's most famous omlette. One can also order dinners that can match those of top quality restuarants. Besides all the home comforts, the hostess, Elisabeth Durham, is an entertaining raconteur who will keep you enthralled with stories of the famous battles that took place in and around Dundee - from the Anglo Zulu War of 1879 and the death of the Prince Imperial to the opening conflict between Boer and Brit in the Anglo Boer War on Talana Hill in 1899. At Chez Nous we certainly got more than what we expected at no extra cost. From the moment of our arrival we were warmly greeted by a senior staff member and taken to our rooms. I'm a director of a film crew, and after a long, hectic day at the Talana Live Festival we enjoyed a relaxing evening at the B & B. Our cameraman settled into a comfortable couch in the lounge to watch the Currie Cup semi-final while his assistant took time to chill out in the room. There is a sense of space at Chez Nous where one doesn't feel boxed in, and it's situated in an up-maket, quiet, residential area of the town. It has a charm that is quite unique - a touch of French hospitality and cuisine in the heart of Zululand.

Room Tip: The Cycad Room opens onto a lovely garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Neville H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHEZNOUSDUNDEE, Owner at Chez Nous Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Neville

Thank you for this wonderful review.
We all here at Chez Nous Bed and Breakfast are please to here you and your crew had a lovely stay with us.

We look forward to having you and your crew stay at Chez Nous again soon.
All the best and thank you.

Elisabeth Durham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    14
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
29
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I visited Chez Nous Bed and Breakfast and stayed in a very well equipped self catering unit. Everything was just perfect. All the staff and the owner - (Elisabeth Durham) made us feel totally comfortable and at home. I would really recommend this establishment to anyone visiting the Battlefields area. Elisabeth has a "canine policeman" named Bobby. He is such an adorable and well behaved pooch and I am already missing him.

The food is outstanding and this is an excellent base from which to explore the KZN Battlefields. Elisabeth is a very knowledgable and qualified tour guide.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Rene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensburgh, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Many thanks to the personal on the weekend of 6 to 8 September for me and my wife stay at Chez Nous and the warm friendly treatment we had...next time I call again.We were received with a smile and Leanne made us feel very welcome. The Cycad room was very neat and clean and the atmosphere was very calm around the room and the birdlife was a plus point waking up in the morning. The lodge is also very safe and secure. The meals was the best and the workers in the kitchen was very helpfulll with our request.Even the pets of the owners made us feel at home and we enjoyed there company Dundee is a very good focus poInt to stay over for the battlefields and local history in the form of Talana museum and the lodge have a lot of info about local tourism and history......Many thanks again to everbody at the lodge from Rudi & Lucia Venter

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rudi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHEZNOUSDUNDEE, Receptionest at Chez Nous Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Rudi and Lucia

Thank you for reviewing us on Trip advisor.
All the Staff at Chez Nous is pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to your next visit!

Many thanks and take care.
Leanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wartburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Thank you for a most wonderful stay. You went the extra mile all the way for us enabling all 30 of us to have a wonderful, comfortable, warm and very memorable stay. My husband suggested I don't say too much so that we can get a booking again when we need it. We will definitely be back if we are in the area again. My daughter who arrived earlier wrote, "Mom, the place is Wow!!!" Thank you very much for everything. We appreciated the opportunity of self catering a lot.

Room Tip: We were all happy in all the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roodepoort, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Elisabeth and her staff at Chez Nous went out of their way to make our stay a memorable and comfortable experience. She understood our requirements which was information on the death of the the Prince Imperial and a Zulu war battlefields tour; this she fulfilled and more. Meals were excellent and WiFi was a great help to us. We would definitely recommend Chez Nous for a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHEZNOUSDUNDEE, Owner at Chez Nous Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Thank you so much for reviewing Chez Nous Bed and Breakfast on TripAdvisor.

Chez Nous was happy to have you both join us for our special French evening and glad you enjoyed the tour.

We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundee
0.8 km away
Royal Country Inn
Royal Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Dundee
92 reviews
0.0 km away
Battlefields Country Lodge
0.1 km away
The Lapha Guesthouse & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Sneezewood Farm Bed and Breakfast
6.4 km away
Mountain View Guest House
1.6 km away
Tranquil Guest House
Tranquil Guest House
#5 of 13 in Dundee
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Nous Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Nous Bed and Breakfast

Property: Chez Nous Bed and Breakfast
Address: 39 Tatham Street | Corner of Ryley and Tatham Street, Dundee 3000, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Dundee
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Dundee
Price range (per night): RM223 - RM335
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chez Nous Bed and Breakfast is centrally situated in Dundee and easy to find. We offer self-catering facilities . Experience exceptional South African hospitality with French flair in Dundee. We provide B&B and Dinner on request, served with home baked bread and home grown organic vegetables.Our South African breakfast, with its FAMOUS FRENCH OMELETT, FRESH CROISSANTS AND CAPUCCINO COFFEE) will give you a great start to your day. With us, you will be treated like royalty. We have 11 well- appointed rooms with DSTV, coffee and tea facilities, iron and hair dryer are part of our 3 star graded services. Our comfortable self-catering facilities are fully equipped. BATTLEFIELD TOURS FROM IN HOUSE GUIDE. CREDIT CARDS ACCEPTED. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chez Nous Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing