We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best place in Una!”
Review of Pipels House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pipels House
Ranked #81 of 149 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 May 2015

Such a wonderful place with cozy rooms and friendly staff. Good value for the price and quality. WiFi was a bit slow. But the most important and the best thing was restaurant on the ground floor. Only in Pipels they make such a delicious watermelon juice! Try it and you won`t regret! I will defenitely come back

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iris_kchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2015

I enjoyed high speed wi-fi, friendly stuff, delicious food, comfortable rooms and cosy rest areas. There is a small Buddhist Temple not far from there. Unawatuna Beach is only 5-7 minutes walking. I love time spent in Piples House.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Irina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2015

I have stayed in Pipels House for 5 days and I felt really welcome there. I was travelling alone and I was glad to get to know the owner Nilantha by other backpackers. He took care of me and arranged different trips to get to know the country. I also got some teaching lessons in cooking Rice and Curry :-) but I also liked the other food that the little restaurant offers.
I had a huge bed, airconditioning, a big bathroom and my own private terrace, that I really enjoyed. It takes a short walk to the beach. I have seen some parts of the westcoast but for me, Unawatuna was the nicest and safest place for a single travelling woman. I have definitely recharged my battery while staying there.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2015 via mobile

After 4 weeks in Sri Lanka Pipels House was probably the worst guesthouse we stayed at. We had booked the family room for 4 nights. When we arrived at Pipels House the room looked as it was not cleaned. Lots of dirt on the floor and it had definitly not been washed for a long time. The mirror in the bathroom was not clean but had toothpaste here and there. The pillowcases had also lots of stains and looked like they were used. Thus, we had to ask them to changed them. For $ 120 per night this was very expensive compared to what they deliver.

Stayed: January 2015
Thank HubOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2014

We stayed in a tiny, little room on the 1.floor. The bed is so hard it's ridiculous - there aren't any springs, just wood boards. The mosquito net was full of holes and served no purpose. The sink in the bathroom was almost completely clogged, the toilet didn't flush properly.
It was only 2500 per night, but even that seemed to much.

Several others have commented on how nice the people working here are. I am sure they are - we were out all day and didn't talk to them much. Maybe stay someplace else and hang out in the café instead?

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bobby44Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.3 km away
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
#23 of 33 in Unawatuna
84 reviews
0.4 km away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
922 reviews
0.3 km away
Thambapanni Retreat
Thambapanni Retreat
#5 of 33 in Unawatuna
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#11 of 33 in Unawatuna
822 reviews
1.8 km away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#3 of 33 in Unawatuna
701 reviews
5.5 km away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#7 of 33 in Unawatuna
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pipels House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pipels House

Address: 55B Pelaketiya Watte | Yaddhimula Road, Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range: RM70 - RM323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pipels House 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Julien (Giulio), Rama and Nisa welcome you to their Pipel's House. Our hotel is situated in Unawatuna,100mt far from one of the best Sri Lanka's bay southside. Pipels House is newly built, and the quality of workmanship is very high. We have created a house, where something always happens! We offer an high level of service, English/Italian speaking staff, simple and genuine italian cuisine, all 100 mt far from the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Pipels House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing