We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful boutique hotel”
Review of Cantaloupe Aqua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cantaloupe Aqua
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2016 via mobile

My partner and I booked the hotel upon the recommendation from a friend. We stayed in the aqua ultra chic room. For the best room in the house, it is incredibly affordable. The room has high ceilings, a beautiful polished concrete bathroom, a lot of space for lounging around and a private ocean facing spa!! The view from the room is breath-taking with waves washing in right underneath the room! The entire wall of the room faces the Aqua coloured ocean. You can't stop looking at the colours change over the day.

There is an in room dining facility available, the entire restaurant menu up for grabs! There is nothing boring on the menu. Needless to say, we had very little reason to leave the room! We ordered some rice and curry and some pasta. My partner loved the traditional Sri Lankan spread, there were lots of curry's and condiments with a headlining chicken curry. I had the pasta with some Harissa infused chicken and it was delicious. There is balcony dining in every room.

We spent time in the in room spa watching novice surfers ride the waves. The waves were about 1-1.5m high. I am not a strong swimmer so I spent time in the pool the next morning. It is an infinity pool, with spa jets on the deck and it too looks over the ocean. There are rocks directly in front of the hotel pool deck, but there is clearing of water that has some steps leading down to it so people can float around in there safely. Alternatively if you want some sand and salt then directly left and right of the hotel are sandy beaches. I saw hotel guests swimming and splashing in the waves. They offer to take the sun beds down or if you want to go out deeper, there is a local diver who can show you some swimming spots. I found most beaches in Sri Lanka (south of Colombo) are quite close to the water, so you don't get large beaches, but they do span quite long. I am not a confident swimmer in the ocean but would recommend it for a hip deep soak! Water temp was great as it is the hottest time of year.

The service at the hotel was amazing, they were prompt and friendly, always greeting and checking up on you. The staff had good knowledge of the area and good English. The boys love a good chat about the cricket if you want to engage further. The hotel also provides information on tours, there is a book in the room if you want to be taken around the area.

We had an extensive dinner at the hotel and some cocktails. The food is amazing, it's Asian fusion and some Sri Lankan. Some of the dishes are unique to Aqua. We indulged in stir fries, curries, crab and much more over our short stay. The passion fruit mojito is a real winner.

In closing, I would strongly recommend Aqua. It is a private and luxurious resort with lots of delicious food and particularly good beautiful views. I'm not sure these pictures or review will do it justice!

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Shani S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadira_Jayasuriya, Owner at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2016

Hi Shani,
Thank you so much for this amazing review we are thrilled with it! Thanks for taking the time to post in such detail and also upload some great pictures.
We understand what you mean about spending time in the room, with those views and inroom dining it feels like you have everything you need. Chef Nandana and the Kitchen team will be delighted at your feedback and we are happy you chose to have so many meals in house with us.
It was the hottest time of year when you visited so we are glad you spent some time in the water and on the beach, it really cools you down!
We would love to have you stay with us again, do keep in touch if you visit the South again.
Hope you had a great journey back to Austrailia, Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

157 - 161 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2016

Nice rooms with great views, very friendly staff. Unfortunately we only stayed one night before starting to tour around Sri Lanka. Had the best (veg) curry of the whole holiday and I had curry every day!!!!

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Geoff567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadira_Jayasuriya, Owner at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2016

Hi Geoff!
Thank you for choosing to stay at Aqua even if you could only stay for one night ! Chef Nandana and his team will be delighted that our curry stood the test through your whole holiday. We hope you will come back to sgtay for longer next time, we always ensure our return customers get the best deals and service!
Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2016

Stayed here for 4 nights in March, had a group of around 12 people. Couldn't have asked for more. The property is beautiful and very well thought of. We were also served some of the best food we had during the whole trip! It's right on the beach and in a very popular area. Special note to the entire staff of the hotel - the people at Cantaloupe Aqua are definitely amongst the best we have every stayed with. Will definitely stay here again!!

Room Tip: Go for the Aqua Chic rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Prateek_Jauhari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadira_Jayasuriya, Owner at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2016

Hi Prateek,
This review has really made our day, thank you for taking the time! We truly enjoyed having you and your group stay with us and the team will be delighted with your feedback on the food and service. We hope you visit us again, Mumbai is just a short flight away!
Keep in touch and all the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2016 via mobile

I have stayed at Cantaloupe Levels and moved here at the recommendation of the GM, Imran ( a man who is excellent at what he does, with the professionalism and discretion that he should be very proud of!)

Nothing has been too much. The location is stunning. Open, endless stretches of beautiful beaches and wide reaching, sprawling ocean- perfection in its location.

The hotel staff are welcoming and accommodate any request. The waiting staff ( and I wish I could remember one in particular and commend him publicly) recommended great food choices to suit my diet. The menu is a great array of fusion and traditional Sri Lankan delights and everything I saw was fabulously presented and looked delicious.

The room overlooked the ocean with a sort of 'New England' style charm and stylish simplicity. The bed raised on a mezzanine floor ensured seating area with open views of the sea ( and even a traditional fisherman in location right outside the window - charming!)

I've had two excellent stays with this delightfully branded and well executed small and very personal approach to optimizing customer satisfaction on holiday . This guy has got his branding spot on and deserves Sri Lankan hotelier of the year if there is such an award.

Fabulous Imran and staff, I will return... Maybe to try the newest venture?

Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
Thank Sleepless1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadira_Jayasuriya, Owner at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2016

Hi,
We are so grateful for this fantastic review , your feedback is so appreciated. It is great that you got to experience both our properties Aqua and Levels, each which have their unique personalities and got a true feel for our brand and what it stands for. Imran and team will be delighted with your feedback on the service as well.
Our Surf themed hotel will be opening in Weligama mid 2017 and we look forward to seeing you there! Do keep in touch.
Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2016

Stayed here for 2 nights in a very comfortable room and bed. My husband and I were celebrating our anniversary, and we were given a bottle of wine and a slice of chocolate cake, which I thought was very generous. Yes, the pool is small, but the resort isn’t very big so there are not many people around. The beach is quiet and beautiful. If you go for the duplex room, just note that the stairs are quite steep. Lovely food, wonderful people.

Room Tip: All rooms looked good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadira_Jayasuriya, Owner at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2016

Hi Joanne,
We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and had a good anniversary celebration! We love to share in the special moments of our customers. The beach is looking lovely at the moment especially and for those who do not want to swim in the sea they can always take a dip in the plunge pool.
We hope you had a pleasant journey home. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unawatuna
5.6 km away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
922 reviews
6.8 km away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#3 of 33 in Unawatuna
701 reviews
6.5 km away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#2 of 33 in Unawatuna
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#11 of 33 in Unawatuna
823 reviews
20.9 km away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
612 reviews
2.1 km away
Apa Villa Thalpe
Apa Villa Thalpe
#18 of 33 in Unawatuna
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cantaloupe Aqua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cantaloupe Aqua

Address: Matara Road | Talpe, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Unawatuna
#3 Luxury Hotel in Unawatuna
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range: RM440 - RM1,082 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cantaloupe Aqua 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Cantaloupe AQUA, our private hotel and beach club. AQUA again has been awarded the Trip Advisor 'Certificate of Excellence'for for 6 consecutive years. Cantaloupe Aqua is a 15 room affordable seafront boutique hotel style in Unawatuna (Galle) Sri Lanka. The concept of the hotel is inspired by famous beach clubs around the world; it's the only one of its kind in Sri Lanka. AQUA combines contemporary spaces, amazing music, and food to create the ultimate beach getaway. "Dine where the action is infinity poolside, beach side, indoors, outdoors, under the stars, on a deck or on the beach!" AQUA offers you numerous options and spaces to wine, dine, lounge, party or just chill! 'Due to unforeseeable circumstances, Cantaloupe Aqua being primarily a beach front property has encountered difficulties providing guests with direct beach access in front of the property depending on the time of year and the seasonal weather changes. Due to man made structures built into the sea on the coastal line and global warming, which has caused inconsistent patterns of sand deposits. Sea erosion has caused Aqua to lose it's beach during some months of the year. In the event the beach is inaccessible our front desk staff will be more than happy to offer you complimentary transport to the closest beach on the right hand side of the property, which is also accessible by a 10 minute walk' - Management ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia and Ctrip TA so you can book your Cantaloupe Aqua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cantaloupe Aqua Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing