We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$283
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apa Villa Thalpe(Unawatuna)
US$144
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
CoCo Bay Unawatuna(Unawatuna)
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Reviews (369)
Filter reviews
369 results
Traveller rating
204
115
22
15
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
204
115
22
15
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschic suitecoconut restauranttuk tukindian oceansri lankasea wallplunge poolsound of the wavesoverlooks the seapalm fringed beachkoggala beachnice boutique hotelamazing oceansmall poolbeach accesshotel is locatedsister hotel
Filter
Updating list...
229 - 234 of 369 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in March. When we arrived we were told our room wasn't ready, which was fine! Instead we stayed in the cantaloupe levels hotel which is also fantastic (and 100% worth a visit).

The staff at both of these hotels were incredible. There was nothing they wouldn't do for you.

The hotel itself has one of the most amazing settings I've ever seen. You are literally sunbathing on top of the ocean.

The restaurant offers a wide range of breakfast, lunch and dinner options and is quite reasonable for the standard of food you receive.

The rooms were cleaned on both nights we stayed. The view was the best view I think I will ever see.

Overall this hotel is first class (as is the sister hotel)! 100% a must visit if in the area. Would recommend it more for couples as it fits in with the very relaxed and chilled out atmosphere!

Can't wait to visit again soon!

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank E-C-23233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadira_Jayasuriya, Owner at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2016

Hi,
It was our pleasure having you at Cantaloupe hotels! Thank you for your patience while waiting for the room to be ready, we are glad you had an opportunity to visit our sister property Levels. The view from Aqua's deck is truly stunning and we can't decide if this or the View of the Galle harbour and Ocean at Levels is our favourite.
The team will be truly delighted with your comments on the service standards and food.
We would love to welcome you back to Cantaloupe hotels! We also have a Surf theme hotel currently in the works further south in Weligama. Do contact us directly if you are in Sri Lanka again so we can offer you the best.
Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2016

Amazing property , gracious staff- went out of their way to assist us.
Good rooms and excellent food. We stayed in the garden view rooms , the hotel location is excellent with easy access to Unawatuna beach and the beaches in the South.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank divaskm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadira_Jayasuriya, Owner at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2016

Hello,
We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us and felt we are worthy of the five star review. It was great having you and your friends. We are approaching low season in the South of Sri Lanka and have some great deals on offer for May and June, if you feel like another holiday, Mumbai is only a short flight away!
Do keep in touch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2016 via mobile

My partner and I booked the hotel upon the recommendation from a friend. We stayed in the aqua ultra chic room. For the best room in the house, it is incredibly affordable. The room has high ceilings, a beautiful polished concrete bathroom, a lot of space for lounging around and a private ocean facing spa!! The view from the room is breath-taking with waves washing in right underneath the room! The entire wall of the room faces the Aqua coloured ocean. You can't stop looking at the colours change over the day.

There is an in room dining facility available, the entire restaurant menu up for grabs! There is nothing boring on the menu. Needless to say, we had very little reason to leave the room! We ordered some rice and curry and some pasta. My partner loved the traditional Sri Lankan spread, there were lots of curry's and condiments with a headlining chicken curry. I had the pasta with some Harissa infused chicken and it was delicious. There is balcony dining in every room.

We spent time in the in room spa watching novice surfers ride the waves. The waves were about 1-1.5m high. I am not a strong swimmer so I spent time in the pool the next morning. It is an infinity pool, with spa jets on the deck and it too looks over the ocean. There are rocks directly in front of the hotel pool deck, but there is clearing of water that has some steps leading down to it so people can float around in there safely. Alternatively if you want some sand and salt then directly left and right of the hotel are sandy beaches. I saw hotel guests swimming and splashing in the waves. They offer to take the sun beds down or if you want to go out deeper, there is a local diver who can show you some swimming spots. I found most beaches in Sri Lanka (south of Colombo) are quite close to the water, so you don't get large beaches, but they do span quite long. I am not a confident swimmer in the ocean but would recommend it for a hip deep soak! Water temp was great as it is the hottest time of year.

The service at the hotel was amazing, they were prompt and friendly, always greeting and checking up on you. The staff had good knowledge of the area and good English. The boys love a good chat about the cricket if you want to engage further. The hotel also provides information on tours, there is a book in the room if you want to be taken around the area.

We had an extensive dinner at the hotel and some cocktails. The food is amazing, it's Asian fusion and some Sri Lankan. Some of the dishes are unique to Aqua. We indulged in stir fries, curries, crab and much more over our short stay. The passion fruit mojito is a real winner.

In closing, I would strongly recommend Aqua. It is a private and luxurious resort with lots of delicious food and particularly good beautiful views. I'm not sure these pictures or review will do it justice!

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Shani S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadira_Jayasuriya, Owner at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2016

Hi Shani,
Thank you so much for this amazing review we are thrilled with it! Thanks for taking the time to post in such detail and also upload some great pictures.
We understand what you mean about spending time in the room, with those views and inroom dining it feels like you have everything you need. Chef Nandana and the Kitchen team will be delighted at your feedback and we are happy you chose to have so many meals in house with us.
It was the hottest time of year when you visited so we are glad you spent some time in the water and on the beach, it really cools you down!
We would love to have you stay with us again, do keep in touch if you visit the South again.
Hope you had a great journey back to Austrailia, Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2016

Nice rooms with great views, very friendly staff. Unfortunately we only stayed one night before starting to tour around Sri Lanka. Had the best (veg) curry of the whole holiday and I had curry every day!!!!

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Geoff567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadira_Jayasuriya, Owner at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2016

Hi Geoff!
Thank you for choosing to stay at Aqua even if you could only stay for one night ! Chef Nandana and his team will be delighted that our curry stood the test through your whole holiday. We hope you will come back to sgtay for longer next time, we always ensure our return customers get the best deals and service!
Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2016

Stayed here for 4 nights in March, had a group of around 12 people. Couldn't have asked for more. The property is beautiful and very well thought of. We were also served some of the best food we had during the whole trip! It's right on the beach and in a very popular area. Special note to the entire staff of the hotel - the people at Cantaloupe Aqua are definitely amongst the best we have every stayed with. Will definitely stay here again!!

Room Tip: Go for the Aqua Chic rooms.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Prateek_Jauhari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadira_Jayasuriya, Owner at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2016

Hi Prateek,
This review has really made our day, thank you for taking the time! We truly enjoyed having you and your group stay with us and the team will be delighted with your feedback on the food and service. We hope you visit us again, Mumbai is just a short flight away!
Keep in touch and all the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews