We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Boutique Property!”
Review of Cantaloupe Aqua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cantaloupe Aqua
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2017

This is well maintained and beautifully decorated boutique resort. Very polite and friendly staff. The view from the room was breathtaking, we had the ocean view and the sound of waves was mesmerizing. I spent hours near the lounge area with the sound of the waves, relaxing and reading. Being a vegetarian, there was not much option for me to eat at their restaurant except fruits and dal.
They have a small pool but not for swimming but it overlooks the sea.
It's a beautiful property and very peaceful and well maintained.

Room Tip: The one with balcony and ocean view.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hellorash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadira_Jayasuriya, Owner at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

Dear Rash,
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and will pass your comments on the staff to our team. We see what you mean regarding the vegetarian options , we are looking to incorporate more on our menu but our Chef Nandana is also able to make off menu vegetarian options as you will find Sri Lankan food has an abundance of vegeratian dishes. Hope you will visit us again, we are a short flight from Mumbai! Take care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
There are newer reviews for Cantaloupe Aqua
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2017

We had the fortune of my cousin having visited the hotel about 6 months ago. He advised us to visiti their aqua or their levels property.
I honestly recommend either the Aqua Chic or the Aqua Ultra Chic rooms as they're the best rooms with the best amenities and the best views. The Aqua Chic room we stayed in was absolutely amazing with the Jacuzzi right on the balcony and the breath-taking view of the waves. I literally had every single follower of mine on instagram-stories asking me where this property was and how to get there.
They also have a neat selection of DVD's downstairs so if youre looking for a nice evening with the waves on your right and your favorite movie in front.. then this added amenity will work for your too. Other wise carry your external HDD.

Room Tip: Choose the room on the first floor, They views are better
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank boygenious21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadira_Jayasuriya, Owner at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

Hi,
Thank you for your fantastic and detailed review it has really made our day. We are so happy you took your cousins recommendation and we lived up to it , we hope your instagram friends will be joining us too :) Please do keep in touch and let us know if you are in the South again. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

Wonderful, a perfect romantic getaway. That being said, it was less enjoyable sharing our experience with a couple of young families. The space is too small and intimate, and the families dominated the pool, which was a shame.

Otherwise the staff was perfect and very accommodating, we loved the housekeeping service and the oil burner in the bathroom was a lovely touch. And the view! Breathtaking.

Our only suggestion is that the restaurant needs to step up a notch. It wasn't bad at all, but really wasn't up to the amazing standards of everything else.

Thanks so much for a beautiful stay, we can't wait to come back in the peak season to swim at that fabulous beach!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jeanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadira_Jayasuriya, Owner at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

Dear Jeanie,
Thanks so much for your detailed review and the pictures, it really does help fellow travellers.
We appreciate your feedback and will take this into account with our F&B team. We would love to see you again during the season, please keep in touch with us to come visit us again. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

My husband and i stayed in Aqua Chic Suite for our first wedding anniversary and fell in love with the room and the view. We could just sit and stare at the ocean all along. However, we feel the pool could have been bigger as it was way too small but the location of it was perfect. The hotel is a bit far from the town but its super easy to get to the town centre by tuk tuk. And finally, their staff Shanti, was very sweet and a good conversationist! Would definitely recommend this property.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ravina20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadira_Jayasuriya, Owner at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Dear Ravina,
We are delighted that you chose to stay with us for your first anniversary and so happy you enjoyed the stay. Our pool is indeed a little small and a plunge pool which you would use for a quick dip. We will pass your regards onto the team and hope you will visit us again at Cantaloupe Aqua or Levels. We also have a third property opening further South in Weligama in mid 2018 so Please get in touch if you visit Sri Lanka again.
Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

Extremely friendly staff,hotel view and the room view was amazing.Food was okay the pool and the hotel decor is really nice. Perfect place to relax. Very calm and quiet place.Highly recomend this place,the staff will make you feel as if home.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Raveen_Manickam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadira_Jayasuriya, Owner at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Dear Raveen,
We really appreciate this amazing review, Thank you! The fact that you felt at home with us is most important and we will share this with our team.
We would love to see you again if you are in the South of Sri Lanka please let us know so we can offer you the best packages.
Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unawatuna
5.6 km away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 32 in Unawatuna
909 reviews
6.8 km away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#3 of 32 in Unawatuna
697 reviews
6.5 km away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#2 of 32 in Unawatuna
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 32 in Unawatuna
820 reviews
20.9 km away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
611 reviews
2.1 km away
Apa Villa Thalpe
Apa Villa Thalpe
#17 of 32 in Unawatuna
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cantaloupe Aqua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cantaloupe Aqua

Address: Matara Road | Talpe, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Unawatuna
#4 Luxury Hotel in Unawatuna
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range: RM449 - RM1,061 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cantaloupe Aqua 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Cantaloupe AQUA, our private hotel and beach club. AQUA again has been awarded the Trip Advisor 'Certificate of Excellence'for for 6 consecutive years. Cantaloupe Aqua is a 15 room affordable seafront boutique hotel style in Unawatuna (Galle) Sri Lanka. The concept of the hotel is inspired by famous beach clubs around the world; it's the only one of its kind in Sri Lanka. AQUA combines contemporary spaces, amazing music, and food to create the ultimate beach getaway. "Dine where the action is infinity poolside, beach side, indoors, outdoors, under the stars, on a deck or on the beach!" AQUA offers you numerous options and spaces to wine, dine, lounge, party or just chill! 'Due to unforeseeable circumstances, Cantaloupe Aqua being primarily a beach front property has encountered difficulties providing guests with direct beach access in front of the property depending on the time of year and the seasonal weather changes. Due to man made structures built into the sea on the coastal line and global warming, which has caused inconsistent patterns of sand deposits. Sea erosion has caused Aqua to lose it's beach during some months of the year. In the event the beach is inaccessible our front desk staff will be more than happy to offer you complimentary transport to the closest beach on the right hand side of the property, which is also accessible by a 10 minute walk' - Management ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Cantaloupe Aqua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cantaloupe Aqua Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing