We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mini Heaven”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Shalini Villa

Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
127 reviews
Pool
Seating area near pool
Seating area near pool
Seated area off lounge
Seated area off lounge
Seated area off lounge
Lounge area
Hallway
Open Dining area
Open Dining area
Open Dining area
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 1
Unawatuna Beach
Blowhole near Tengalle
Sunset at Unawatuna
Paddy Fields near Unawatuna
Koggala Lake
Habaraduwa Beach
New Unawatuna Beach
Yoga
Breakfast
Coconuts
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Unawatuna, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 127 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Swedish first
Any
English first
dgholgate
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Mini Heaven”
Reviewed 17 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

As good as it looks. Admin was brillant. Staff friendly and accomodating.

Far away from the hustle and bustle but walking distance to all your needs.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollycwar...
United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredible!!”
Reviewed 18 May 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Each time I come to Shalini Villa I am astounded by its beauty and the warm and generosity of it staff. A sanctuary that is so close to beaches and the local area.
Giving the opportunity to immerse yourself in local cultures and then come back to rest in the fabulous garden and take a dip in the pool. Comfy beds, great AC, clean and very cared for!
If you are visiting this area a total must!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tinak125
Beccles, United Kingdom
1 review
“A beautiful villa with a beautifu garden.”
Reviewed 19 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

A very beautiful and spacious villa, well equipped with a lovely swimming pool, monkeys in the trees which is very entertaining they love bread and fruit,house keeper very friendly and helpful, the villa is off the main road and very private only a 5 minuites walk from the beach where there is various bars and restaurants to choose from,Tuk Tuks are available if you want to venture further very cheap,we had a lovely stay and would recommend

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glee68
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“If you’re visiting Galle, stay here - it’s 5 Star heaven.”
Reviewed 22 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
3
people found this review helpful

The second you walk through the big wooden gate and into the lush gardens, it’s a real “shoulders down and relax” moment. With this stylish villa permanently but very discretely staffed, you can return from a day on the beach (a short stroll or if you’re really lazy a 50p tuk-tuk away) or wandering around the extraordinary Galle Fort (10 min/ £2.75 tuk-tuk) to an oasis of calm, with the house open, immaculate and lit to welcome you. We loved the little details: fresh flowers lying in bowls on the tables and the delicious homemade papadums and sambal that awaited us in the kitchen.

All the bedrooms are big and spacious with super comfy beds, nice linen, mosquito nets, air conditioning and the en-suite bathrooms are really nicely appointed too. The bedrooms all opened out onto the gorgeous gardens, which was especially nice when we wanted to sneak out for a late night dip in the pool.

The open plan kitchen, dining room and living room with its huge ceilings and double doors to the garden, was full of light but at the same time nice and cool. It has everything you need: water cooler, fully equipped kitchen, excellent WIFI, English sockets to charge up everything, a wonderfully stocked book case that made the place feel like a home and DVD player - we even found the 6 Nations Rugby on the cable TV.

Surrounding the house is a shaded veranda, with different places to sit out and enjoy an evening beer, morning tea or the fantastic spicy coffee that the ever smiling and charming Gayan prepares for you whenever you surface (no matter it seemed how late!). Eggs, any way you want them, toast and bountiful supplies of delicious, fresh local fruit – whatever you want he’ll make it. For our arrival on the first night, he prepared a feast of curries, dahls, breads, papadums and chutneys. They were so good we didn’t want to eat anywhere else.

The gardens are lush and if you’re quiet, you can spot some lovely wildlife – we saw a beautiful kingfisher, a terrific lizard in the bushes, a lovely frog, a few geckos and a little monkey too. They all kept their distance from us and we only saw them in glimpses, which made it feel all the more special when we spotted them.

This place is a perfect base to visit all the wonderful places along the southern coast of Sri Lanka and especially Galle. The Fort can get stifling hot at night, so a return to the peace and tranquillity of Shalini Villa is a much better and almost certainly cheaper option than staying in town. Unawatuna Beach itself is great fun – the stalls, bars and restaurants are a must visit but you’ll be glad to retreat back to this villa when you’re done. Our favourite beach – Wijaya - is a couple of minutes away in a tuk-tuk and has a really nice, chilled out bar and restaurant. If you have young kids go visit the nearby turtle sanctuary - late on in the day and for a negotiable fee they’ll let you release a few tiny baby turtles onto the sand and into the sea.

Kamindika, who looks after you and the house whilst you’re there, will arrange for transport to take you anywhere – whether it’s a van to take you all to Mirissa to go whale watching or a couple of tuk-tuks to go into Galle (they’ll be with you before you’ve rounded up those heading out with you!). And as if by magic, your dirty clothes are washed and laundered for you. Nothing is too much trouble for this lovely man.

Shalini is a little bit of paradise in what is one of the most beautiful, enthralling and wonderful parts of the world.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hannah170...
Reading, England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“There perfect retreat”
Reviewed 19 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We had the most amazing time. The villa is beautiful, we couldn’t believe how big it was- the photos are stunning but in reality it's even bigger and more beautiful!

We loved exploring first thing then it felt like we were coming back to a hidden retreat to relax after.

We were so impressed with the chef- he cooked for us every day and his food was delicious- better than anything we had at any restaurants the rest of the stay. So so good- we had curries each day and he took the time to explain what they were and show us pictures of the vegetables we hadn’t heard of.
But he was much more than a chef- our boys really took a shine to him, our three year old especially kept asking for him to join us on days out and they have been talking about him lots since :-)

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing