We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$91
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
US$69
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$83/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$87
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$64/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Apa Villa Thalpe(Unawatuna)
US$133
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
US$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
US$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
CoCo Bay Unawatuna(Unawatuna)
US$70
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$80/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Thambapanni Retreat(Unawatuna)(Great Value!)
US$69
US$52
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$303
US$280
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cantaloupe Aqua(Unawatuna)
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (419)
Filter reviews
419 results
Traveller rating
172
159
54
25
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
172
159
54
25
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunawatuna beachbuffet breakfastlily pondsri lankacolonial houselarge poolstandard roomgalle matara roadmain buildingtuk tukmodern facilitiesan upgraderice and currybird lifeper dayrelaxing placeminute walk to the beach
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 419 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2018

Value-for-money hotel. Rooms are pretty clean, nice design of the building, very friendly and smiley staff. A little bit noisy daytime because of the nearby road. Laundry is available. Staff reacted well on all our requests.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Антон П
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018

Few budget properties in Sri Lanka excite me like Nooit Gedacht. It is one of Sri Lanka's great treasures - with a proud history stetching back to the 18C and set in a wonderfully expansive natural environment - surely housing Sri Lanka's finest lily pond! Superior rooms are perfectly adequate for those seeking something simple and escapist (standard rooms, although limited, are priced accordingly), food is excellent, the pool inviting, staff eager to please and the historic atmosphere in the main building divine. This hotel has so much potential for subtle improvements. The day I found it, checking Red Dot's budget properties, was a happy day. I'm going back the next time I want to escape the whirl of Colombo.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018 via mobile

Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel in the Unawatuna area has the tranquility of a retreat, the beauty of paradise and is run by Very nice and friendly people. You will find no better place to stay, if you value these qualities. It's a 10 minute walk to the beach. Highly recommendable.
My husband and I visit every year.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Akhanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PragnaJ, Owner at Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Dear Akhanda,

Thank you very much for the review about our hotel. We appreciate your thoughts about our hotel and it means a lot to us. We hope to see you again next year!!

Best Regards
Pragna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018

We came to this hotel to eat supper. We were attracted to it by it's Colonial style, we noticed it from the road & wanted to look around. The gardens were charming & it had a nice atmosphere.
We enjoyed a tasty evening meal.

Stayed: January 2018
1  Thank ilanastone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018 via mobile

We have been very satisfied with our residence here. The hotel has a fantastic location beautiful surroundings. A lovely garden with a pound and forest around.
There are also så amazing animals and bird life here. Sometimes you feel that you are in national park.
The food and service are excellent. And the staff of the hotel were very nice and helpful , knowledgeable and serviceminded. The cleaning of our room were really good. The cleaning staff who fix our rooms, were 2 guys call Fayas and tashen and both off them make a excellent job.
If you have some problem, they came immediately . The swimming pool were really good. Nice and very clean.
We can warm recommend this hotel

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Morten K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PragnaJ, Owner at Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review. We value your comments and will share it with our staff. We are glad to know that our staff was able to make your stay comfortable and that our house keeping staff did a excellent job.

Also, thank you for recommending our hotel.

Best Regards
Pragna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews