We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family beach holiday with a Birthday”
Review of Birdhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Birdhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2015

First of all, Lalith and his family are superb hosts. They're very accommodating and helpful. Their dog Rexy is adorable and such a joy to have around. She just waits on you for company. She is curious yet does not cross boundaries with those uncomfortable with dogs.
They have two ground floor rooms easily accessible for wheelchairs as there are no steps from the entrance to the room or the attached toilets. My mom praises this.
The place is clean & food is definitely value for money. We tried two other eateries and they cannot beat Birdhouse. You will be asking for second or even third serving. My only gripe is the coffee – it is somewhat bland.
The face of house is very pleasant and that speaks for your stay: cozy, quiet and relaxing. Don't forget to have a sip of your favorite drink on the terrace under stars – a very sedative atmosphere indeed. The huge terrace is very practical for beach goers as this means dry pants before your departure.
The hosts helped my family prepare a surprise birthday dinner for me and it was one of the most memorable.
We will be seeing Lalith and family next year definitely if not sooner.

Room Tip: During hot periods air conditioned room is a must. Check the A/C before settling for a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank yasir_escapes_maldiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2015 via mobile

After spending 2 weeks in SriLanka I can say the birdhouse was my favorite home away from home. The owner was more than helpful with anything we needed. Very friendly and accomidating. The rooms were big and spacious with a great sitting area outside of the room. Would definitely recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Jenn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2015

Hi,
the birdhouse is a beautiful guesthouse i can honestly recommend to travellers!
The locationis perfect- close to the beach but not noisy at all.
The stufff especially the owner are more than helpful and nice. they will help you to make your stay remarkable but also help you to plan your further journey eg by taxi service
I liked my spacious room with the big bathroom and terrace. also the breakfast was delicious! and definitly a better option than the usual toast......
thank you for the pleasant stay and see you next time during holidays in sri lanka!

Stayed: March 2015, travelled solo
Thank melanie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2015

Lalith and his wife are SO hospitable and welcoming, a beautiful peaceful place to stay in Unwatuna and so helpful and willing to accommodate in so many ways, we all agreed Unwatuna was the best beach we visited and BIrdhouse was the best place we stayed at! If your looking for a relaxing break from the travel pace this is your place to stay!!

Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Kirbie_Wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2015

I stayed in the ground floor room and the room was a nice size, the bathroom was nicely modeled and clean. The couple that own this place are very nice and helpful. Lalith was very very helpful in communicating via email when I needed to reserve my room and also change my reservation due to flight problems. They are literally a 3 minute walk to the beach. A great, quiet place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssfOakland_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.6 km away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#12 of 33 in Unawatuna
825 reviews
0.2 km away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
933 reviews
2.3 km away
Shanthi Beach Resort
Shanthi Beach Resort
#16 of 142 in Unawatuna
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Blue Eyes Inn - Unawatuna
Blue Eyes Inn - Unawatuna
#2 of 142 in Unawatuna
151 reviews
0.7 km away
Palitha Guest House
Palitha Guest House
#21 of 142 in Unawatuna
69 reviews
0.5 km away
Green Villa
Green Villa
#40 of 152 in Unawatuna
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birdhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birdhouse

Address: Yaddehimulla Road, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 142 Speciality Lodging in Unawatuna
Price Range: RM78 - RM329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Birdhouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bird House is a beautiful guesthouse set back from the Unawatuna beach offering a warm welcome from a friendly Sri Lankan family. The Bird House offers clean rooms, delicious foods, tourist guiding, transport, tailoring and etc..Located 3 minutes walk from the beach. It is the perfect place to relax and unwind from everyday life. The rooms are spacious and clean with aircon and hot shower, a balcony to sit and watch the world go by. The rooms have good air conditioning and comfortable beds to fall asleep with the jungle sound in the background. This is among the few Tourist Board approved places in the area of Unawatuna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Birdhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing