We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (541)
Filter reviews
541 results
Traveller rating
316
150
44
16
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
316
150
44
16
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private beach unawatuna beach huge waves indian ocean sri lanka duplex room on the rocks pool area minute walk sea view waves crashing main beach beach house sister hotel the hotel manager tuk tuk hotel is situated
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 541 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2017 via mobile


We have been to Thaproban Pavilion several times for dinner, as their food delicious as always. This was our first visit to stay over nights and the team made it worth for every penny we spend. Atmosphere, surroundings, pool, Huge rooms with spectacular view, food, service and the staff were excellent. We never felt that we miss anything. Most important is the staff who really made things happening. Always with the smile, they did everything for us to make our stay comfortable and take lot of care to our needs. They organized us a dinner near the pool which was excellent, chef came up with his own creation and it was lovey and delicious. It was a relaxing weekend. We will be back definitely…….

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Curiosity634609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaproban, Personal Assistant at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review.We are glad to know that your purchase was just the right product for you, and we totally hit the spot.It is because of feedback like yours that we are able to select meaningful products of superior quality.We will be sure to share your review with our team on our next staff meeting.
We will try our best to once again provide you with the best products possible.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

 I hope this review will be published and kept on TripAdvisor as it seems like all recent reviews have been removed in order to mislead travellers like us. The info and pictures on hotel.com is totally misleading. We had pre-paid 4 nights but left after 1 as it did not at all meet our expectations. The whole hotel is worn down and need a total make over. The pool area is not child safe, we paid for balcony/terass with sea view but got a dark room with no windows nor balcony or terass. They offered to change to a similar room with shared balcony...is that what you pay for?!?During night and when it was raining we had leaks at several places in the room. The cleaning was a joke. Stained old linen with holes in them. The menu is poor with no Sri Lankan traditional food.  The only restaurant available is indoor in a hidden dark room on 2nd floor with lack of windows and day light.  No sea view at all and not what you expect from an ocean front property.  Water not included in breakfast. There is construction around the hotel that will continue in a few years I would guess with disturbing sound. Not possible to swim outside the hotel in the ocean as it is only rocks. Very poor WiFi everywhere and it did not work at all during our 24 hour stay. Feel sorry for the staff to work there as they did their best and was very kind and service minded. However, small incidents occurred such as forgetting to clean the trash bins and forgetting to bring out room service food, despite us asking for it. Our rating based on expectations and the info on hotels.com is 1. Maybe fair rating is 2-3 . Big rooms and very nice and friendly staff. Warning - the whole hotel is worn down and need a total make ove

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Sara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaproban, General Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2017

Dear Sara
Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our
hotel. I greatly appreciate your comments about
aspects of our Hotel that need upgrading. I would like to recall to you that during your stay Sri Lanka was facing a huge storm and the night you were with us we experienced very strong winds and very heavy rain. This was the reason that the pool area was damaged and you have taken a photo the very next day which our staff was attending to this matter.

It is a pleasure to announce that
we will be implementing many of these upgrades to the property which
will be completed within few weeks’ time, as we are opening our new wing where the guests of Thaproban Pavilion can also use the facilities as upgraded gym, sports bar, find dinning restaurant, two swimming pools, kids play area!
Herewith it is significant to
mention that we do not stop or hold any of our guest reviews to the fact
that we are taking great care of our charming hotel and our brand. We
always accept and consider every single review to improve the standards
and the quality service, not to hide from others or thrown away from the
listings.
Further we have given you many options to make your stay comfortable.
However, you declined on most once your mind is set to move out. I wish
to mention that our recent past reviews of the hotel have turned out to be
more reader friendly.
Our main priority is to be able to offer a very well-maintained and
comfortable atmosphere. I hope that I can convince you to change your
mind about another visit to our property. Please reach out to us directly, if
you would be willing to give us a chance to turn your experience around. It
would be such a pleasure to personally welcome you back to our new and
improved hotel!
With much appreciation,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017 via mobile

My wife and I just spent 5 nights here. From the moment we walked into the hotel the staff treated us like royalty! Every single staff member we encountered couldn’t do enough for us. We had a very comfortable room with ocean views. The room was spotless and the range of toiletries were an added bonus. The buffet breakfast was substantial and offered both local and western dishes.
A new wing is currently being added to the hotel which was a bit noisy at times but we weren’t affected greatly.
The swimming pool was great and the beach is only a short walk away. Guests can also use the facilities at the sister hotel, a short walk away.
We will definitely revisit this fantastic place.
Highly recommended.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Derek14853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaproban, Personal Assistant at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2017

Hi Derek, We are so grateful for your feedback.We want every single customer that walks through our doors to experience the same level of service.We are so glad our efforts are paying off and you had the opportunity to experience superior service.It is because of feedback like yours that we are able to confirm that we are heading in the right direction.Please visit us again. It will be our pleasure to serve you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

Went for a short getaway and had the most wonderful time ever! Quaint rooms with a lovely view! Pool area was stunning and great to spend some quiet time. Staff was super friendly and Co operative and went out of their way to make our stay comfortable.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mansha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaproban, Personal Assistant at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Hi Mansha S We are so grateful for your feedback.Thank you so much for taking a few moments to let us know how we are doing. We are so happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations in more ways that we could have ever imagined.Please don't make it a once in a lifetime!We sincerely look forward to serving you time after time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017

Thaprobane Pavilions was such a cute hotel and the staff were very friendly and super helpful with any and everything we needed! The rooms were spacious and worked well for our travels. We had an ocean-view room and the view was spectacular!! Note that though it is oceanfront, there is no beach on the water. Though not on the main shopping road, the hotel is walking distance and it's nice to be off the beaten track a bit with option to walk to where the action is.
Food & drinks were really great in general and the pizza at the Thaprobane Pavilions was the best!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CanadaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaproban, Personal Assistant at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2017

Thank you so much for taking a few moments to let us know how we are doing. We are so glad you found us to be a strong option among many excellent businesses in town.Customers just like you make doing what we do a true pleasure. Everyone looks forward to serving you and yours on your next visit.Please don't make it a once in a lifetime!Thank you for taking time to share your opinion with others. Please come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews