We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$124
US$97
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abundia Home Stay(Unawatuna)(Great Value!)
US$77
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Apa Villa Thalpe(Unawatuna)
US$199
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
US$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$283
US$255
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
CoCo Bay Unawatuna(Unawatuna)
US$166
US$131
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cantaloupe Aqua(Unawatuna)
US$97
US$74
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
US$77
US$70
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (524)
Filter reviews
524 results
Traveller rating
303
149
43
16
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
303
149
43
16
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachunawatuna beachhermit crabshuge waveson the rockspool areaduplex roomsri lankaindian oceanminute walksea viewwaves crashingmain beachbeach housesister hotelseafoodrooms are huge
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 524 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2018

Large and comfortable rooms, decorated with taste, nice views to the pool and ocean. Amazing show of the waves hitting the rocks, we watched it for hours! Service was good and breakfast very very enjoyable. Good quality-price ratio.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank cvmdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaproban, Personal Assistant at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2018

Dear Cvmdt,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking your time to share your experience during your stay with us. We thrilled to learn that you were enjoyed your stay with us and would like to come back and stay with us again. We are all here at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa can't wait to welcoming you back soon in the future. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018 via mobile

Booked the best room directly with the hotel, and we were more than satisfied with our choice of room and hotel. A marvelous breakfast buffet every morning with everything you can possibly require. We did not have lunch at the hotel, but we had dinner 4 times during our 8 nights stay - the fresh seafood selection was excellent, and the price of the food was also quite nice.

Besides the excellent food and the very spacious rooms, I need to emphasize the extremely serviceminded and friendly staff - from the ones cleaning rooms and common areas, the very competent Sarath and his wife in the spa and massage center, the professional people in the reception, and last but not least the effective guys in the restaurant and bar area. We felt especially welcomed by one of the waiters - Kolvin Silva - who always went the extra mile to make sure we had a good time. Thank you all for your kind attitude and smileson your faces.

Please note that the Thaproban Pavilion has been expanded with the Waves hotel - which has resulted in a large and very nice infinity pool (in addition to the existing pool in the beach front of the hotel), and a nice spacious restaurant and lounge area.

Thaproban Pavilion lies a 10-15 minute walk away from the main beach and shopping street in Unawatuna which is very nice because it is quiet and relaxing - and you can easily reach other restaurants, bars and night life if you like.

You get a lot for your money in this hotel - and we would definitely stay there again should we come back to Unawatuna.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Billy-the-Basset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaproban, Personal Assistant at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2018

Warmest greeting from Thaproban Pavilion Resorts Thank you for your valued time to share your experience during your stay with us. It was such a pleasure to had you staying with us. We are thrilled to learn that you love your stay with us. Every positive comments or feedback from you and our other guests always like a reward for us. We cant wait to have you staying with us again.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

We recently stayed for 5nights with friends and family...it was safe enough for our kiddies to roam freely. The service was good. We planned a last minute tour into the city with a driver that the hotel had organised..good tour guide, reliable!.It is also close to shops and other restaurants(which are slightly cheaper)
The only negative is that there is no direct access to the beach, one would have to take a 5-10 minute walk which is not too much to complain about.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Rebekah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaproban, Personal Assistant at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2018

Dear Rebekah,

Warmest greeting from Thaproban Pavilion resort and Spa. Thank you for your recent stay with us. We are glad to know that overall you had enjoyed your stay with us. Once again thank you for your recent stay and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018

I enjoyed our stay here. The staff were excellent and the pools beautiful. Our room was really nice too, very comfortable. It was a great base for exploring the surrounding areas and close to many restaurants and the beach.

Stayed: April 2018
Thank Kris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaproban, Personal Assistant at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2018

Dear Kris B,

Warmest greeting from Thaproban Pavilion Waves.. Thank you for your recent stay with us and glad to learn that you had enjoyed your stay. We can't wait to welcoming you back.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018

We chose this hotel for the location. Although there's no direct access to the beach, it is less than 10 minutes by walk, hence the quietness of the resort. Rooms are spacious and lobby is frankly impressive. Manager and staff are all very polite.

WiFi is bad, like everywhere else in Sri Lanka.

Overall, I highly recommend it - for 1-3 nights.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms lovely
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SamuelHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaproban, Personal Assistant at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2018

Dear Samuel Harvey,

Warmest greeting from Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa.Thank you for your recent stay with us and glad to learn that you had enjoyed your stay. We can't wait to welcoming you back.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews