We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A home from home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ambakanda Villa

Exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior
Downstairs bedroom Downstairs bathroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Exterior
Downstairs bedroom
Downstairs bathroom
Veranda
Dining table
Desk
Sitting room
Loungers
Downstairs bedroom
Dining area
Nearby Wijaya beach at sunset
Upstairs bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Unawatuna, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Corinne B
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible, this is not a boutique villa”
Reviewed 12 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

THIS IS NOT A BOUTIQUE VILLA, it was filthy run down and we left within the hour of turning up and had to find alternative accommodation.The photos on the website look great but unfortunately they dont represent the villa. The place was filthy, cushions dog eaten, mosquito nets covered in dead mosquitoes, fag burns and blood, both sun loungers broken, one dumped behind the house, the other with makeshift repair, the shower under the stars green with mould and slimy, table lamp broken, plaster falling off walls, filthy dirty everywhere, I could go on and on. The view !! Not bad when you look past the half constructed house/building site right next to the villa. The owner !! Not really interested that his villa was tired and in desperate need of tlc and the fact we lost a days holiday and was stuck trying to find alternative accommodation. Just said we can organise a refund and washed his hands of us !!! Very very very disappointing. If you are thinking on renting the villa I would request updated photos !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nothing, too dirty and run down to stay
Liked least: eveything
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2016
I was disappointed to hear the guests feelings about the house and they were given a full refund.

With the exception of the sun loungers, the state of which I was unaware of and which have been replaced, I have been unable to reconcile their account of the house with the reviews from guests, both previous and subsequent, who have actually stayed at the villa, which have been without exception positive.

Rather than responding in depth to what I feel is both an unfair and inaccurate review, I would urge potential guests to read the other reviews both here and elsewhere as I feel they will carry more weight than anything I could say here.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidharth...
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A home from home”
Reviewed 28 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

My partner and I and our two young children spent two glorious weeks at this villa and loved it immensely. Andrew the owner was extremely helpful via email and prompt with his replies, and Jotha the house keeper by the end of the stay became part of our family!

It was great to be a little bit away from the beach and the hill top breeze was a blessing at night. I would highly recommend a stay here based on location to really great family beaches and the hospitality of all those involved in the rental.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2016
HI Sidharth,

Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the house. Hope to see you back sometime.

Best,

Andrew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony G
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed 7 November 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We spent three nights at the villa and, with hindsight, we wished we had stayed longer. The villa and garden are both wonderful. Jothi (the housekeeper) is a really nice chap, who cooks lovely curries, and my son spent hours playing with Birol, his dog. We'll be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2015
HI Anthony,

Glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you back soon.

Best,

Andrew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pjenkins2...
Doha, Qatar
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely villa”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

A lovely villa which offers a nice alternative to the beach hotels. Best bit was having Jotha (home help) who cooks a great rice and curry. Worst bit was always having to get a tuk tuk, as villa is located up a very steep hill.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zhilin
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Rustic villa near Unawanatara”
Reviewed 22 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the villa for 3 nights, the entire place is on a large ground of gardens but the house itself is small. The place is cosy and the style is rustic. It has one bedroom downstairs and another upstairs, the stairs are high so not suited for older travelers. We have enjoyed sitting at the large veranda and play with the house dog Milly, just be careful of the mosquito. There is no TV in this place. Also worth to note that there is a large size dog Milly staying at this place, even though it is a friendly and playful dog.

In terms of location, the place is located up on a hill and is about 10-15min tuk tuk drive to the main beach Unawanatara.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing