We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nor lanka hotel is the best in unawatuna”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel
Ranked #6 of 152 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2010

this new small hotel is run by a norwegian married to a srilankan with the help of her family. it is a really friendly, homely, kindly place to stay, just off beach enough to be quiet, yet near enough for all the retaurants in this lively little resort.
the rooms are spacious & spotlessly clean with a/c or fan options. ours looked out on a beautiful old fruit tree with monkeys playing every am.!
the breakfast is euro or sri lankan & dinner option was curry cooked to our specific requests. the hotel tuk-tuk can be hired for trips, there is good internet access & the service here we found the best on our month tour of the island. thanks to helge & anoma for giving us such a lovely stay

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank naomiBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

237 - 241 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2010

I my husband daughter & partner stayed here over Christmas & new year for 14 nights we had a brilliant time Helge & Amona the owners made us really welcome they went way passed expectations nothing was to much trouble. We had a couple of meals out but found the food at the Nor Lanka the best even thou the menu is not extensive Amona would always cook what ever we asked for and the presentation and taste was fantastic.

Our rooms were spotless clean as was the whole place including the well kept gardens.
Staff were all smiling and friendly. They placed fresh flowers in most corners of the hotel each day.
There is nothing you could say bad about the Nor Lanka only good. Amona organised a massage for us may I say this was one of the best I had.
There is a Tuk Tuk at the hotel driven by Laal a great guy he will take you anywhere you want to go at very reasonable rates.

The beach is only 2 minutes walk away and people we spoke to say its the best in Sri Lanka and Nor Lanka has use of a local hotel pool (literally on the doorstep) for which a token fee is payable.
This is a great Hotel with great people and great value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonesy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2010

Helge and Anoma spend their time making sure that their guests are comfortable and happy.Nothing is too much bother and they will try their utmost to provide anything that you require.
We spent 8 or 9 days here so tried a few different restaurants but belive me the food at the Nor Lanka is as good as anywhere.Unless you want to eat lobster on the beach then eat in!
The rooms are spotlessly clean like the rest of the hotel and gardens and i really could not fault anything in the hotel.
Lal,Anoma's brother is at hand with his tuk tuk for any trips you might want to make and is very competitive and also a nice guy.
Tucked away just behing a two minute walk to the beach.
All in all the gem of Unawatuna!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keithcrewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2010

Brilliant B&B. We ended returning to nor lanka twice on our three week travels around Sri Lanka. We were made to feel totally welcome and nothing was too much of a problem. Food was great. Worth staying here for a few nights.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrew_garath_smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2010

What a relief to find a wonderful place of calm in Unawatuna. The proprietors, Helge and his lovely wife Anoma, really made us feel welcome. They really aimed to accomodate us. This is true family run hotel which was very clean and relaxing. The beach is only a few minutes away and other amenities such as banks, tea plantations, turtle hatchery, etc.. can be easily reached by tuk-tuk.

We ate delicious "home cooked" food in their restaurant. I came away with Anoma's Apple cake recipe and a large cake slice to take away with me. We found their "Sri Lankan" curry to best during our visit.

The small attention to details in the decor, fresh flowers and cleanliness really set this hotel above the others in the area.

This hotel is perfect for small families, couples and solo travellers. I would highly recommend it to others. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiniBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.5 km away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
933 reviews
0.3 km away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#11 of 33 in Unawatuna
825 reviews
0.1 km away
Bedspace Guesthouse
Bedspace Guesthouse
#1 of 152 in Unawatuna
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#3 of 152 in Unawatuna
255 reviews
0.3 km away
Thambapanni Retreat
Thambapanni Retreat
#5 of 33 in Unawatuna
498 reviews
1.8 km away
Villa Gaetano
Villa Gaetano
#2 of 152 in Unawatuna
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel

Address: Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range: RM216 - RM424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing