We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$283
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apa Villa Thalpe(Unawatuna)
US$144
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cantaloupe Aqua(Unawatuna)
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
CoCo Bay Unawatuna(Unawatuna)
US$166
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Reviews (388)
Filter reviews
387 results
Traveller rating
348
35
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
348
35
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssri lankathe ownertuk tuk driverplace to stayminutes walk awaythe busy main roadclean hotelmosquito netcurryhot waterfantastic staybars and restaurantsbeach towelsfresh fishguest houselalnorwegian
Filter
Updating list...
248 - 253 of 387 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2010

I my husband daughter & partner stayed here over Christmas & new year for 14 nights we had a brilliant time Helge & Amona the owners made us really welcome they went way passed expectations nothing was to much trouble. We had a couple of meals out but found the food at the Nor Lanka the best even thou the menu is not extensive Amona would always cook what ever we asked for and the presentation and taste was fantastic.

Our rooms were spotless clean as was the whole place including the well kept gardens.
Staff were all smiling and friendly. They placed fresh flowers in most corners of the hotel each day.
There is nothing you could say bad about the Nor Lanka only good. Amona organised a massage for us may I say this was one of the best I had.
There is a Tuk Tuk at the hotel driven by Laal a great guy he will take you anywhere you want to go at very reasonable rates.

The beach is only 2 minutes walk away and people we spoke to say its the best in Sri Lanka and Nor Lanka has use of a local hotel pool (literally on the doorstep) for which a token fee is payable.
This is a great Hotel with great people and great value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonesy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2010

Helge and Anoma spend their time making sure that their guests are comfortable and happy.Nothing is too much bother and they will try their utmost to provide anything that you require.
We spent 8 or 9 days here so tried a few different restaurants but belive me the food at the Nor Lanka is as good as anywhere.Unless you want to eat lobster on the beach then eat in!
The rooms are spotlessly clean like the rest of the hotel and gardens and i really could not fault anything in the hotel.
Lal,Anoma's brother is at hand with his tuk tuk for any trips you might want to make and is very competitive and also a nice guy.
Tucked away just behing a two minute walk to the beach.
All in all the gem of Unawatuna!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keithcrewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2010

Brilliant B&B. We ended returning to nor lanka twice on our three week travels around Sri Lanka. We were made to feel totally welcome and nothing was too much of a problem. Food was great. Worth staying here for a few nights.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrew_garath_smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2010

What a relief to find a wonderful place of calm in Unawatuna. The proprietors, Helge and his lovely wife Anoma, really made us feel welcome. They really aimed to accomodate us. This is true family run hotel which was very clean and relaxing. The beach is only a few minutes away and other amenities such as banks, tea plantations, turtle hatchery, etc.. can be easily reached by tuk-tuk.

We ate delicious "home cooked" food in their restaurant. I came away with Anoma's Apple cake recipe and a large cake slice to take away with me. We found their "Sri Lankan" curry to best during our visit.

The small attention to details in the decor, fresh flowers and cleanliness really set this hotel above the others in the area.

This hotel is perfect for small families, couples and solo travellers. I would highly recommend it to others. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiniBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2009

My husband and I travelled to Sri Lanka for our honeymoon. Nor Lanka is a dream compared to all the other places that we could have stayed in. Clean, extremely friendly, laid back, modern and comfortable. The house is set in lovely quiet gardens away from the busy main road and beach, which is fantastic as it allows you to wind down and relax yet pop out of the drive and take a 1 minute walk to the beach. Anoma and Helga from Norway (owners) are a delight - they were the highlight of our honeymoon, preparing fantastic dinners and chatting with us on an evening. Laal (Anomas brother) became firm friends with my husband - he has a tuk tuk and is happy to take guests out on low cost trips, which is useful as he looks after you as if you were family. The food was to die for, all fresh and cooked in a spotless kitchen. You know there is nothing to hide when the owner is happy to let you go in the kitchen and teach you how to cook, which is what happened when we asked how to makeegg fried noodles. I would recommend this place to anyone - if you want a fantastic value for money holiday, in a great guesthouse, with people you can trust, choose Nor Lanka.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaraLeeds_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews