We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A long weekend sanctuary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2017

This was my fourth trip to Sri Lanka and wonderful to be back on the South West coast enjoying the best of Sri Lankan hospitality and the Indian Ocean breeze. The Frangipani Tree is a beautiful small 9 bedroomed hotel that you could almost call a large villa given its size and setting. It suited us perfectly for our get together for a friends wedding there and with families coming in from all corners of the world we pretty much had the place to ourselves which made for a very special experience. Beautiful setting, good spacious rooms with nice attentive service. Food was good rather than great but be warned of a very limited wine selection. No problems with beer and spirits but if you like a chilled glass of rose with lunch then bring your own.

Room Tip: The upstairs room have the great sea view but sadly no outside space. if you are a family choose the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwardsCollection, General Manager at The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Dear Dan

Our sincere thanks for your wonderful review which is truly appreciated. We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. also Frangipani Tree staff's are sending our warm wishes and look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you..
Best regards,
Namal Dissanayake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (480)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 480 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2017 via mobile

Staying at the Frangipani is an experience of its own. The place is magnificent ! The staff are very friendly and most accommodating. Will definitely come back here again and again. And definitely a must to try out their other outlets as well.

Thanks for the wonderful holiday Frangipani !!!!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Rajeshwary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwardsCollection, General Manager at The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Dear Rajeshwary,

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback and looking forward to see you soon.

Best regards,
Namal Dissanayake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017

We spent 4 nights here at the end of a busy trip. It was quiet, even though there were lots of people staying. The food was good, service friendly and rooms excellent. We stayed in one of the rooms with an outside bathroom which we loved.
The pool area was great and lovely to be right on the beach, although you can't swim in the sea here.
We were here over the SL New Year and the staff involved us in their celebrations. We were also here in thunder storms which were quite spectacular, and again we were well looked after. Management sorted us out Tuk-tuks to get into Galle and to the main beach.
I also had a massage which was lovely.

Room Tip: The rooms with outside bathrooms also had private areas if you don't want to be with everyone el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annan8312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwardsCollection, General Manager at The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Dear Annan,

We are delighted that you have enjoy your stay at the Frangipani Tree, wish you a warm welcome back and thank you very much for your detailed feedback.

Best Regards,
Namal Dissanayake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017

My husband and I recently spent 3 nights staying at Frangipani Trees after a rather exhausting but exhilarating tour of the island. We really wanted to relax and enjoy the location,so we spent the extra dollars staying here. Upon arrival,we were told that there would be a wedding the following day in the function room next door,and to maybe make it our outing day. At 10 am the next morning,the noise began. ( I was just having a massage) The music was loud and sounded like an Indian Rave party. This went on all day,terrible! No relaxation as planned. Sorry,don't usually complain,but it was bad. We ended up leaving the property for hours to escape the noise. Considering we paid around $500 a night ,we were dissatisfied. Not a luxury hotel ,although most of the staff were friendly and helpful. Ps safe didn't work,no dock system for your own music,no TV ,floors wet and slippery ,expensive for very average food,uncomfortable concrete outdoor lounge area and you can't swim. Amazing places down the road for a third of the price.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dianne525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwardsCollection, General Manager at The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Dear Dianne,

With reference to your complaint made, regarding "The Frangipani Tree", we would like to clarify certain points from our management point of view. 
Regarding the loud music  of the function held nextdoor property, we clearly disclose to you, prior to cheak-in time. And further we infrom you that it was a wedding function at neighbouring properly. Kindly note it was beyond our control.                                    
As per the safe locker, all safe lockers are brand new, good working condition and in the event of any malfunction  ,you  should have brought to our notice or any of our employee, but you never did so as per our records.

Also note that, our website, brochure or pictures, we have not mention or display, any room TV facility, as you well aware this is a Boutique Hotel concept , but there is a TV in the Liquor bar  and lounge areas for all guests.
Also as for as the management in concern we appreciate  for bringing to our notice about the wet floors issue, as you know this is beachside property, do get sea spray from time to time but we will do our utmost best to minimize this in the future.

I also think you having full knowledge of the situation that this is a South West monsoon period (May to September) "The Frangipani Tree" is situated in the Southern coastal belt so properties with seafront are bound to get damp at this time of the year. Anyhow we appreciate your concern, and we shall  take necessary steps to clean the wet floors as much as possible. Guests are been advice by the management as a safty precaution that swim in the sea aria or  opposite the property is not safe to do so, but there is a exclusive pool with a ocean view in the property as also shown in the website.  

However any customer's complaints are most welcome and taken very seriously by our management.We wish to infrom you that we shall take utmost best to rectify any shortcomings, while providing the best customer care for our esteemed guests.Ones again, thank you for your customer feedback.

Thank you.
Best regards,
Namal Disanayake.
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017

Family of 4 adults. Stayed here for 2 nights on our way from Colombo and before we went on safari in Yala. Beautiful location (9 rooms in total including a honeymoon suite) ... particularly enjoyed early evening cocktails sat on comfortable lounge chairs on brow of hill on beach front while watching turtles swim in the surf... but far too risky to swim yourself. Very tough currents. Fabulous, spacious rooms with outdoor, ensuite bathrooms. All staff were very lovely and attentive - although no women. (Why?) Had a great massage - although only male masseuse. Food was plentiful and tasty (including "full English breakfast", although mostly Sri Lankan cuisine: SL curry breakfast was very tasty!). We left very early one morning to go on a whale watch and they made us a packed breakfast! Swimming pool fairly small but adequate, but its difficult to get into/out of without any steps or handrails :( Very convenient location to get to Galle town by Tuk Tuk - be sure to ask for Guyan Manju and Khaseem - both good, friendly drivers.) They took us to the inside of Galle Fort, saw Sunset Point and they recommended local restaurants. Example costs include SLRupee 750 per Tuk Tuk each way to Galle. We paid an extra tip to have them stay in Galle while we went to dinner. Also, make sure you visit the local Sea Turtle Sanctuary, Koggala Beach which was very well-organised & informative. Also visit the local Marissa Beach: white sands, free sunbeds & parasols ... and we even had a surprise experience of helping the locals with a hatching turtle nest ... where we all helped dig the baby turtles out and take them down to the sea. Unbelieveable!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank blairabroad2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwardsCollection, General Manager at The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Dear Blairabroad,

We are glad that you have enjoyed your holiday at the Frangipani Tree. Also thank you very much for taking time to share wonderful in detailed review which is really appreciated.

Thank you.
Best regards,
Namal Dissanayake
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
3.3 km away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 34 in Unawatuna
974 reviews
2.4 km away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#7 of 34 in Unawatuna
318 reviews
4.7 km away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 34 in Unawatuna
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 34 in Unawatuna
475 reviews
3.2 km away
KK Beach
KK Beach
#10 of 34 in Unawatuna
60 reviews
3.2 km away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#13 of 34 in Unawatuna
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection

Address: 812 Matara Road, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Unawatuna
#3 Romantic Hotel in Unawatuna
#3 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
#6 Luxury Hotel in Unawatuna
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range: RM 1,075 - RM 1,847 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend Time with Sea Turtles and Sparrows who visit this beautiful property Set on an improbable juxtaposition of simplicity and luxury overlooking the turquoise Indian Ocean. The Frangipani Tree is sun, sand, trees, culinary, sensuous and spiritual indulgences among Intimate, Exclusive and Elegant surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frangipani Tree Hotel Unawatuna
Frangipani Tree Galle
Frangipani Tree Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing