We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (496)
Filter reviews
496 results
Traveller rating
351
100
23
9
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
351
100
23
9
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor bathroomtuk tuksri lankaboutique hotelsea turtlessound of the wavesbeautiful hotelindian oceangalle fortthe general managerevery afternoonrelaxing dayssister hotelbeautiful poolsmall hotelwonderful staycurry
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 496 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2017 via mobile

Nearby sea this hotel gives such a wonderful scene and staying nearby sea during night just seat alone and half moon light when touch ocean water surface and bright stars keep life is like this, if you have peace you have healthy mind and positive energy, same things happen to hotel staff they staffs are very good and hotel too.traveller will totally lost here, I have no words to say.mind-blowing.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank kradityayadav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwardsCollection, General Manager at The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2017

Dear Kradityay,

Thank you for taking time to share your positive feedback about The Frangipani Tree.
It is so overwhelming to read your positive comments about the hotel and your experience as well as the staff. Also, your recognition of our service that you found it is very helpful, is an honor for the team.

Best regards,
Thank you.
Namal Dissanayake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017 via mobile

A beautiful setting with great beach view, the staff were fabulous (though the manager was less than helpful with booking a taxi to our next destination). The food was fine in the evening but breakfast was very expensive and not wonderful. We enjoyed out stay but I'm not convinced it was good value for money. It is definitely possible to stay in more special places for less money.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwardsCollection, General Manager at The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

Dear Nicola,

We are glad that you have enjoyed your holiday at "The Frangipani Tree" Also thank you very much for taking time to share your valuable feedback which is truly appreciated. and will inspire our staff to continue to strive towards outstanding customer service in future.

However we will see the possibility of revising the prices while we are upgrading our Food and Beverage Menus accordingly. once again thank you very much for your constructive feedback.

Thank you.
Best Regards,
Namal Dissanayake.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

We stayed at the Frangipani tree with our three young children, aged 8,7 & 5 and really enjoyed our visit. Its a beautiful property - very clean and modern with large rooms - a very nice pool and lots of grass and room for the kids to run around. The beach was very rough and rocky so you can't swim. The staff were very attentive and provided excellent service. The only thing that lets it down is the food - need to improve the standard - although it is good, it needs to be lifted up a notch or two to justify the price you pay - we had breakfast and dinner and paid a premium.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jamesandmichelle2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwardsCollection, General Manager at The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear James,

Thank you very much for your generous comments greatly appreciated. we will closely monitor the possibility of changing the menu prices.

Thanking you for staying at "The Frangipani Tree" we hope that you will enjoy our hospitality on your next visit to The Edwards collection.

Thank you
Best Regards,
Namal Dissanayake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Spotless, gorgeous, getaway place to disconnect and recharge! The rooms are insanely beautiful and luxurious with a 180-degree view of the unobstructed ocean! Gret Bar! stunning views and swimming pool! A great manager that is always there to hear you out and take action!

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Carina I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwardsCollection, General Manager at The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Carina

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback about the hotel, we are glad that you have enjoyed with Edwards Collections specially experience Sandals to Frangipani.

We are eagerly waiting to welcome you and your loved ones to the "Edwards collection" again and we assure you will gain superior services at all times same as before.

Thank you.
Best Regards,
Namal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

My husband and I finished our Sri Lanka trip at the Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection and we spent four days here. It's a nice place to unwind, read a book or just chill next to the pool, as most of the time you really feel like you are the only guests here and we almost like it's our own beach residence. We stayed at a sea-view suite on the ground level at the far end of the building so it's quiet and private and really nice to be able to walk out of our room there is grass and ocean right at our doorsteps.The room is very spacious and nicely designed. The staff are super cute and friendly. Wifi is a bit slow and unstable so bring a book or there are books and a TV at the bar living room too. The hotel is located outside of Galle Fort but it's only a 4km 5 minutes tuk tuk ride. The only disappointment for us is the pillows. They are too soft and flat. When you lay your head on the pillows it feels as if there is no pillow at all. Zero support for your neck/head. For a luxury boutique hotel at this price range a small pillow menu should be avaliable. When we asked for a firmer pillow the GM did try his best being creative and got two big sofa cushions from the bar living room and put fresh pillow covers on for us which we very much appreciate his effort. Unfortunately these sofa cushions ended up being too hard and too high as they are solid sofa cushions after all. Something we think the hotel management should consider improving. We also feel like the breakfast could have been with more quality and less quantity with a finer menu to match up with the hotel's boutique feel. Overall, it was a pleasant stay and we have already recommended to our friends who are visiting Sri Lanka in December.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Eva Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwardsCollection, General Manager at The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear Eva,

We are very much happy that you have been enjoyed your stay and your generous comments are greatly appreciated. we will ensure to update our pillow menu/WiFi as well as to improve our breakfast service up to the standard.

Thanking you for staying at "The Frangipani Tree" we hope that you will enjoy our hospitality on your next visit to The Edwards collection.

Thank you.
Best regards,
Namal Dissanayake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews