We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Sergeant House(Unawatuna)
US$90
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort(Unawatuna)(Great Value!)
US$15
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
US$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
US$63
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cantaloupe Aqua(Unawatuna)
US$78
US$60
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
CoCo Bay Unawatuna(Unawatuna)
US$88
US$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
US$60
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$50
US$37
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$80
US$65
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (489)
Filter reviews
489 results
Traveller rating
347
98
23
9
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
347
98
23
9
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor bathroomlobster currytuk tuksri lankasea turtlessound of the wavesindian oceanbeautiful hotelgalle fortsecluded beachevery afternoonbeautiful poolthe general managersister hotelcommon areasoverlooking the oceanfour poster bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 489 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2018

Really did not love this hotel. The beach is incredibly dirty. The garden has 6,000 migratory birds nesting overnight in the trees: spectacular when they fly in at evening-time, but can you imagine for a second how much droppings 6,000 birds leave? It means there is a bad smell, and don't make the mistake of walking bare-foot on the grass... yuk.

The strip of road is full of half-derelict buildings, not very nice.

The sea-view rooms have spectacular views, for sure. But the rooms at the back look very dark. I am glad we did not stay there.

Above all, the place is shabby and needs some TLC. It all looks very worn and unloved. For these high prices you expect a lot more. Lots of posters have commented on this, even posted photos of obvious problems... but look at the manager's reply: "We have checked and found no maintenance issues." Look at the photos!! The manager's reply only confirms that nothing will be done about any of it.

The boutique hotel market in Sri Lanka is a bit weird at the moment: prices are a lot higher than you find in India, Thailand etc, probably becuase 5 years ago there were not many "stylish" places to stay. But gradually more and more hotels have opened up. I imagine that in a few years time, prices will fall and standards will rise. And a place like Frangipani Tree, which was probably very nice when it opened, will be forced to improve its standards a lot, or else lower the rates.

At the moment it's not recommended.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DocCarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018

Having read some of the negative reviews before coming, and after having personally experienced a wonderful stay, I can only conclude that the long negative comments were written by somebody who either went to another hotel or lives on another planet. The hotel is wonderful, the grounds idyllic, beautiful pool and the migratory birds were an added bonus. The staff are warm and welcoming, and overall a perfect stay. Namal, the manager, and his adorable rescue dog HillGirl, were always on hand to assist with any questions, the chef ready to fulfill any requests, the bar staff smiling. This is not a party hotel, nor is it intended to be. This trip was my first experience with the Edwards Collection, and I am blown away by the options and the beauty and the uniqueness of each of the properties. I will write about each one separately, but would like to particularly acknowledge Chintaka the reservations manager, Malcolm, Rekha, Namal, Hemantha and Chamara. Each one has gone out of their way to make me feel comfortable. I couldn’t imagine staying anywhere else. Mr Edwards has a great team.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
Thank M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwardsCollection, General Manager at The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2018

Dear Sir,Madam,

Thank you very much for your constructive feedback, which is relay important us to improve our hospitality standard in future. also we will inspire our staff to continue to strive towards outstanding customer service in future.

specially we are glad that you have patronized almost all the locations at Edwards collection, we are looking forward to see you soon with your friends on your next visit.

Thank you.
Best Regards,
Namal Dissanayake.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018 via mobile

So we too had read the some of the terrible reviews before arriving at Frangipani and were extremely worried.... however, we were pleasantly surprised upon arrival. The place is lovely and tranquil, with a very relaxed vibe. Our room overlooked the sea and the sound of the waves fills the place all day. The place is clean and food quality good with lovely fruit platters juices and the usual fare for breakfasts - other meals are, extremely overpriced for the area / what you get- charging $19 for a plate of noodles for dinner (and we live in Central London) is a hard pill to swallow!
The staff are nice but not your usual 'Sri Lankan friendly' for some reason... and there are some improvements that definitely need to be made around the place- for example the some of the sunbeds are very old and definitely need replacing as do the old beach towels, and there are no sun umbrellas whatsoever so no shade in the midday sun. The window shutters in our room were also very old with some broken, again just needing replacing.
The beach, as with all the beaches in the area, is a stark reminder of how as a globe we need to be consuming less plastic.
Overall the place is good.... definitely not 5 star more like 3-4 but definitely not as bad as some people have written on TA (and trust us we are very fussy travellers also!).

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank sunshine2009london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwardsCollection, General Manager at The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2018


Dear Sir,Madam,

We are glad that you have enjoyed your holiday at the Frangipani Tree. Also thank you very much for taking time to share wonderful in detailed review which is really appreciated.

However we will definitely look in to your suggestions and overall matters, looking forward to welcome you again.

Thank You.
Best Regards,
Namal Dissanayake.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

We had a fantastic final few days of our trip to Sri Lanka at the Frangipani Tree. We absolutely love the Geoffrey Bawa school architecture and the roaring of the Indian Ocean right on the doorstep. We stayed in Hawksbill 1 which has a gigantic and stunning outdoor bathroom and was very peaceful.

I am completely mystified by other reviewers' complaints as to cleanliness or the food - we ate breakfast and lunch at the hotel every day of our stay and found both delicious, and our room was immaculately kept. Sure, lunch might be more expensive than the restaurants on the tourist strip at Unawatuna, but we were more than happy to pay it for the pleasure of not being crowded or having to travel, and the food itself was a pleasure (try the rare seared tuna and Sri Lankan omelette). I also had an absolutely incredible deep tissue massage during our stay, and found all of the team very warm and welcoming - especially Hill Girl, the general manager's lovely rescue dog!

All in all - we had a great stay at the Frangipani Tree and would happily return.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kellie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwardsCollection, General Manager at The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear Kellie,

We are very much happy that you have enjoyed your stay at the Frangipani Tree also your generous comments are greatly appreciated.

Thanking you for staying at "The Frangipani Tree" we hope that you will enjoy our hospitality on your next visit to The Edwards collection.

Thank you.
Best regards,
Namal Dissanayake.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

Frangipani was an amazing place for our son's wedding small number of rooms beautiful pool and views. Great service and friendly staff. Right on ocean beach but not a safe swimming spot. Lots of memories.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank japfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwardsCollection, General Manager at The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear Sir,Madam,

We are glad that you have enjoyed your holiday at The Frangipani Tree. Also thank you very much for taking time to share wonderful in detailed review which is really appreciated.

The Frangipani Tree staffs are sending our warmest wishes for wedded couple.

Thank you.
Best regards,
Namal Dissanayake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews