We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (498)
Filter reviews
498 results
Traveller rating
352
101
23
9
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
352
101
23
9
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tuk tuk sri lanka stunning outdoor bathroom boutique hotel sea turtles sound of the waves beautiful hotel indian ocean galle fort the general manager every afternoon relaxing days sister hotel small hotel wonderful stay curry mosquito net
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 498 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2018

We stayed at the Frangipani over the Christmas period for 3 nights. After travelling around Sri Lanka, this hotel was what we needed. On arrival the staff were very welcoming. The room we stayed in was spacious and clean.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwardsCollection, General Manager at The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Dear Helen,

Truly appreciated your wonderful review and we are looking forward to see you again.

Thank You.
Best Regards,
Namal Dissanayake.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

It doesn’t get any better than this. This hotel is magic. The setting is simply perfect, staff are exceptional, the breakfasts are delicious and the rooms are superb.

Thank you for the most enjoyable holiday experience ever. I loved that there were only about 20 people here and that you could laze around under the trees all day with one of the lovely staff delivering a fresh juice mid morning.

It’s close enough to catch a tuk tuk into Galle if you want to and a few kms down the road is a lovely place to swim.

It’s more beautiful than the website.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Jenny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwardsCollection, General Manager at The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2018

Dear Sir,Madam

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you sincerely for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to hear that the experience at "The Frangipani Tree"met your expectations and you had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us. however we will ensure to share your kind compliments with our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to "The Frangipani Tree" once again.

Thank you.
Best Regards,
Namal Dissanayake.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018

Wow what a wonderful finale to a magical holiday in Sri Lanka. We were lucky enough to have 3 nights at this beautiful hotel. The perfect location on a beautiful stretch of coast, luxurious villas, the best bed I’ve ever slept in and the sound of the waves ensured a good nights sleep.
Nothing was too much trouble for the Manager and staff with everyone delivering exceptional service. We were a large family group of 11 and were all made to feel special , small touches like complimentary mocktails delivered to us poolside all added to the most enjoyable of stays. Thank you for having us it was and will always be a very special memory for us all. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: All the rooms are luxurious and beautifully appointed
Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank lenmutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwardsCollection, General Manager at The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2018

Dear Sir,Madam,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing this review.
We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay at "The Frangipani Tree" and we were able to meet your expectations.
We will share your feedback with all the team and it is encouraging to receive such good feedback especially our team has done their best to exceed the costumer expectation..
It is pleasure to host our valued guests and ensure that the experience is always a memorable one.
We are looking forward to welcome you again in future.

Thank you.
Best regards,
Namal Dissanayake.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018

Really did not love this hotel. The beach is incredibly dirty. The garden has 6,000 migratory birds nesting overnight in the trees: spectacular when they fly in at evening-time, but can you imagine for a second how much droppings 6,000 birds leave? It means there is a bad smell, and don't make the mistake of walking bare-foot on the grass... yuk.

The strip of road is full of half-derelict buildings, not very nice.

The sea-view rooms have spectacular views, for sure. But the rooms at the back look very dark. I am glad we did not stay there.

Above all, the place is shabby and needs some TLC. It all looks very worn and unloved. For these high prices you expect a lot more. Lots of posters have commented on this, even posted photos of obvious problems... but look at the manager's reply: "We have checked and found no maintenance issues." Look at the photos!! The manager's reply only confirms that nothing will be done about any of it.

The boutique hotel market in Sri Lanka is a bit weird at the moment: prices are a lot higher than you find in India, Thailand etc, probably becuase 5 years ago there were not many "stylish" places to stay. But gradually more and more hotels have opened up. I imagine that in a few years time, prices will fall and standards will rise. And a place like Frangipani Tree, which was probably very nice when it opened, will be forced to improve its standards a lot, or else lower the rates.

At the moment it's not recommended.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DocCarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018

Having read some of the negative reviews before coming, and after having personally experienced a wonderful stay, I can only conclude that the long negative comments were written by somebody who either went to another hotel or lives on another planet. The hotel is wonderful, the grounds idyllic, beautiful pool and the migratory birds were an added bonus. The staff are warm and welcoming, and overall a perfect stay. Namal, the manager, and his adorable rescue dog HillGirl, were always on hand to assist with any questions, the chef ready to fulfill any requests, the bar staff smiling. This is not a party hotel, nor is it intended to be. This trip was my first experience with the Edwards Collection, and I am blown away by the options and the beauty and the uniqueness of each of the properties. I will write about each one separately, but would like to particularly acknowledge Chintaka the reservations manager, Malcolm, Rekha, Namal, Hemantha and Chamara. Each one has gone out of their way to make me feel comfortable. I couldn’t imagine staying anywhere else. Mr Edwards has a great team.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
Thank M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwardsCollection, General Manager at The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2018

Dear Sir,Madam,

Thank you very much for your constructive feedback, which is relay important us to improve our hospitality standard in future. also we will inspire our staff to continue to strive towards outstanding customer service in future.

specially we are glad that you have patronized almost all the locations at Edwards collection, we are looking forward to see you soon with your friends on your next visit.

Thank you.
Best Regards,
Namal Dissanayake.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews