We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely way to end the trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2018

We stayed for 3 nights after touring for 10 days. It was always our plan to spend 3 nights on the coast for some relaxation, and this place did not disappoint. As with all of Sri Lanka, the staff are very welcoming and attentive. We had lovely food and the cocktails were the best we had in Sri Lanka.

The views are stunning and waking up to the sound of the ocean is delightful. We liked the privacy of the villas, but the bar/dining area allows you to meet other guests.

We ventured to Unawatuna beach, which is lovely but enjoyed coming back to the peaceful setting at Frangipani Tree.

My only negative comment would be that the menus are in US dollars and I am not sure why this is the case. We didn't come across this anywhere else and we were used to paying in Rupees. The use of dollars confused us in terms of what things were costing. The final bill is in rupees. I am just not sure on the reason behind this.

Overall though, a very enjoyable stay,

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crooksey01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwardsCollection, General Manager at The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Dear Sir,Madam,

Thank you for taking time to share your positive feedback about The Frangipani Tree.
It is so overwhelming to read your positive comments about the hotel and your experience as well as the staff. once again thank you very much for your constructive criticism and looking forward to welcome you again on your next visit in sri Lanka.

Best Regards,
Thank you.
Namal Dissanayake.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (482)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 483 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2018

We stayed at the Frangipani over the Christmas period for 3 nights. After travelling around Sri Lanka, this hotel was what we needed. On arrival the staff were very welcoming. The room we stayed in was spacious and clean.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwardsCollection, General Manager at The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Dear Helen,

Truly appreciated your wonderful review and we are looking forward to see you again.

Thank You.
Best Regards,
Namal Dissanayake.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

It doesn’t get any better than this. This hotel is magic. The setting is simply perfect, staff are exceptional, the breakfasts are delicious and the rooms are superb.

Thank you for the most enjoyable holiday experience ever. I loved that there were only about 20 people here and that you could laze around under the trees all day with one of the lovely staff delivering a fresh juice mid morning.

It’s close enough to catch a tuk tuk into Galle if you want to and a few kms down the road is a lovely place to swim.

It’s more beautiful than the website.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Jenny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwardsCollection, General Manager at The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2018

Dear Sir,Madam

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you sincerely for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to hear that the experience at "The Frangipani Tree"met your expectations and you had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us. however we will ensure to share your kind compliments with our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to "The Frangipani Tree" once again.

Thank you.
Best Regards,
Namal Dissanayake.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018

Wow what a wonderful finale to a magical holiday in Sri Lanka. We were lucky enough to have 3 nights at this beautiful hotel. The perfect location on a beautiful stretch of coast, luxurious villas, the best bed I’ve ever slept in and the sound of the waves ensured a good nights sleep.
Nothing was too much trouble for the Manager and staff with everyone delivering exceptional service. We were a large family group of 11 and were all made to feel special , small touches like complimentary mocktails delivered to us poolside all added to the most enjoyable of stays. Thank you for having us it was and will always be a very special memory for us all. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: All the rooms are luxurious and beautifully appointed
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank lenmutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwardsCollection, General Manager at The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2018

Dear Sir,Madam,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing this review.
We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay at "The Frangipani Tree" and we were able to meet your expectations.
We will share your feedback with all the team and it is encouraging to receive such good feedback especially our team has done their best to exceed the costumer expectation..
It is pleasure to host our valued guests and ensure that the experience is always a memorable one.
We are looking forward to welcome you again in future.

Thank you.
Best regards,
Namal Dissanayake.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018

Really did not love this hotel. The beach is incredibly dirty. The garden has 6,000 migratory birds nesting overnight in the trees: spectacular when they fly in at evening-time, but can you imagine for a second how much droppings 6,000 birds leave? It means there is a bad smell, and don't make the mistake of walking bare-foot on the grass... yuk.

The strip of road is full of half-derelict buildings, not very nice.

The sea-view rooms have spectacular views, for sure. But the rooms at the back look very dark. I am glad we did not stay there.

Above all, the place is shabby and needs some TLC. It all looks very worn and unloved. For these high prices you expect a lot more. Lots of posters have commented on this, even posted photos of obvious problems... but look at the manager's reply: "We have checked and found no maintenance issues." Look at the photos!! The manager's reply only confirms that nothing will be done about any of it.

The boutique hotel market in Sri Lanka is a bit weird at the moment: prices are a lot higher than you find in India, Thailand etc, probably becuase 5 years ago there were not many "stylish" places to stay. But gradually more and more hotels have opened up. I imagine that in a few years time, prices will fall and standards will rise. And a place like Frangipani Tree, which was probably very nice when it opened, will be forced to improve its standards a lot, or else lower the rates.

At the moment it's not recommended.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DocCarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
3.3 km away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 34 in Unawatuna
979 reviews
2.4 km away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#7 of 34 in Unawatuna
318 reviews
4.7 km away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 34 in Unawatuna
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 34 in Unawatuna
476 reviews
3.2 km away
KK Beach
KK Beach
#9 of 34 in Unawatuna
61 reviews
3.2 km away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#13 of 34 in Unawatuna
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection

Address: 812 Matara Road, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Unawatuna
#3 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
#4 Spa Hotel in Unawatuna
#6 Luxury Hotel in Unawatuna
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range: RM 1,086 - RM 1,874 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend Time with Sea Turtles and Sparrows who visit this beautiful property Set on an improbable juxtaposition of simplicity and luxury overlooking the turquoise Indian Ocean. The Frangipani Tree is sun, sand, trees, culinary, sensuous and spiritual indulgences among Intimate, Exclusive and Elegant surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frangipani Tree Hotel Unawatuna
Frangipani Tree Galle
Frangipani Tree Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing