We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$103
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
US$87
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$81
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$59
US$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$58
US$55
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$236
US$229
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel El Sueno(Santa Elena)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (402)
Filter reviews
402 results
Traveller rating
222
133
24
12
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
222
133
24
12
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe kitchenthe ownercosta ricaprivate roomsmall streamfree breakfastbudget optionpancakesdelicious coffeeevery morningcommunal areastwo nightsvarious activitiesbreakfast is servedin towna great stayincluded in the price
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 402 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2018

This was one of the best value stays of our trip. Extremely close to restaurants and supermarket, the staff were very helpful in arranging tours, and the 24 hour access to kitchen and coffee were a delight. The kitchen is extremely well stocked in terms of cookware and plateware relative to other cabinas that we stayed at. Our one downside was that our room (which is not pictured) was relatively small and we were right at the front of the building and so we heard a lot of street noise and the music from the local bar late into the evening. Otherwise just a great stay.

Room Tip: The rooms on the upper floor appear to be larger based on the photos!
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

Before I book lodging I always compare the reviews via booking.com, tripadvisor.com, hotels.com, and hostelworld.com. I found Cabinas El Pueblo B&B via booking.com. Cabinas El Pueblo ranked “excellent” and the price was great.We paid $30 per night for a private room with bathroom.

While the room was quite small, the B&B featured a common area with tables and kitchen. The owner does not speak English but he was incredibly nice and helpful. His family’s coffee farm is close by and the hotel serves delicious coffee every morning. Breakfast is served every morning beginning at 7am and includes fresh fruits, eggs, toast, bacon (if requested) and pancakes.

Cabinas El Pueblo is located walking distance to Santa Elena town. It is very close to restaurants, local markets, and coffee shops. The Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve is only a short taxi or bus ride away.

We would highly recommend Cabinas El Pueblo to visitors of Santa Elena.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tchai525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

The hotel is centrally located, within walking distance to most of the restaurants and the “main square” of Santa Elena. We had a dbl room with private bathroom, which was quite nice. There’s a spacious and clean kitchen with plenty of seats where travellers can meet for a chat. Breakfast is also included and is very rich and nice - pancakes, fresh fruit, scrambled eggs, cereal, juice, coffee/tea, toast and jam. Freddy, the owner of the hotel is such a lovely person and will give you recommendations for traditional restaurants. The family owns a coffee plantage, and the coffee served for breakfast is from their plantage. There’s also tee and free coffee all day round in the kitchen.
Thanks for your hospitality!!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Dani240192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed in a family room with private bathroom. This is a lovely family run B&B in a perfect location beside the town centre. Nice clean spacious room. Clean bathroom. Delicious breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff including the cat. Tours can be booked from here and they give you a helpful map on arrival. It was windy when we stayed so the room was quite cold as the wind blew under our door.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Careen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

We got a room with a double and twin bed, it was clean and the beds were very comfortable. Dependable wifi (definitely the best of the 3 places we stayed in Costa Rica).

Before our stay, the host emailed us with a list of tours/attractions they can book for you. The list is very extensive, and we decided to book our taxi-boat-taxi from Arenal as well as a ziplining tour through them. Very easy, we just paid for the transportation upon our arrival, and they coordinated with the ziplining company for pickup from the B&B.

When we arrived, we were given a tour of the place, including the kitchen, which is open for public use. They also provided us with a map of the area, which included different tour companies and things to do, times for tours, cost, including student discounts, and whether transportation was provided or not. VERY helpful to see everything laid out for you with all details needed!

Breakfast was fantastic. The first day we had an omelette with fruit plate and toast (bacon available, but we're veg!), on the second day we had a banana pancake (honestly so good, and I'm not even a huge banana pancake person) with fruit plate, toast, and a little scrambled egg! So filling, we didn't need to eat lunch either day.

The location was also ideal. There are supermarkets and plenty of restaurants and cafe's, all within walking distance. There's a public bus that goes to Monteverde Cloud Forest daily, which was a 2 min walk. The closest restaurant was a taco place 1 min walk from door to door!

Sloth was a bonus, for sure. The owner/operators of this B&B were so friendly and accommodating. Sweet family that made our stay great. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Grace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews