We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (822)
Filter reviews
822 results
Traveller rating
230
265
211
80
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
230
265
211
80
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub swim up bar costa rica eco friendly hotel metal roof hotel restaurant grocery store hanging bridges in town welcome drink enjoyed our stay no air conditioning small hotel cloud forest frog pond small town coffee maker
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 822 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

On first sight this hotels common areas are wonderful, an amazing view down to the valley below. However major building works we’re going on around the pool, with welding, banging and grinders making quite a noise during most of the day. The works were to build a new deck around the pool and hot tub I think and although the works were partially curtained off it effectively loses off most of the pool and as the workmen were welding within a couple of feet of the spa it wasn’t conducive to a relax in the spa bath.
Our room was on the top floor and with no lift it was a hard task getting suitcases up to the room. Once in the room there was nowhere to sit other than on the bed. On the first night we had no hot water and despite the wonderful views from the communal areas all we had a view of was the car park. It was also very noisy as we were closest to the road with heavy lorries grinding through the gears as they wound their way up the hill outside.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia Genera... H, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Dear Mr. Nick.
Thank you for your comments, I´m very sorry you did not get what you expected from our hotel, we have been doing small remodellings: covered walkways, decks, gardening, sun deck and hot tub.. we mean to offer our guests the best and nicest facilities. I totally understand how this may intefere with your time to enjoy the common areas, we never start before 8:30 am, and we finish at 3.pm, to be honest: the mayority of our guests will leave the hotel after breakfast and come back at 3:30 pm, after they daily tours.. Despite the noise, we are trying the hardest no to interfere...
We do offer luggage asistence specially to the upper floors, at Front desk they must offer you assistance from our bell boys, if this didn´t happen I sincerely appologize and will personaly review the procedure with the front desk personnel.
We clearly were not abble to acomplish the level of satisfaction you desired.. Please recieve our sincere appologies. I wish we could have done something while you were at the hotel, to compensate in which ever way possible...
Thank you and we are working to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights. There was a little confusion with my reservation, so we were given a room on the top floor. The wind was absolutely brutal and made sleeping difficult. The bed was comfortable and the room clean, but very dark. A bedside table lamp would be much appreciated. Breakfast was okay and included in the room price. Happy hour was offered each day. We ate dinner the first night in the restaurant, but found better dining at other restaurants. The location is excellent for walking to the center of Santa Elena even though the hill back is quite steep. The staff was very nice and friendly. Poco a Poco is an adequate hotel, but if we were to stay there again we would ask for a lower floor sheltered from the terrible wind.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Wyndham429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia Genera... H, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Dear Mrs.Wyndham. we wish to thank you for your comments.
I´m very sorry to read you didn´t get a good rest. We even try harder when guests are staying for more than 2 nights, we meant well when we assigned you on an upper floor room, I´d wish you had say something during your stay, we could have swicthed your room for a more isolated one..
We cater for the satisfaction of our guests and will try our best to accomplish that. Monteverde offers lots of very special features: the Cloud Forest is one of the most unique ecosystems in the world, the conservation and sustainability efforts in Monteverde are renowned as pioneer in Costa Rica. There are activities of all sorts, all of them professionally operated, accessible, safe and each provides amazing opportunities to explore, enjoy and experience the Cloud Forest.
Hotel Poco a Poco offers a great lodging option for travelers looking to get the most of their time spent in Monteverde, we are strategically located, just 3 blocks away from down town Santa Elena, the center of town offers lots of colorful attractions: cafés, restaurants, gift shops, minimarkets, ice cream parlors, local salons, live music, and much more. Our guests can enjoy of restaurant, great food, local recipes, Costa Rican cuisine, live music regularly, or they can just go across the street and find stores, supermarket, and a few choices of food.
After a nice day of activities, Hotel Poco a Poco offers a very nice heated, covered pool, a hot tub, spa for massages, wraps and exfoliations, a very nice way to recover and cleanse your senses. Our garden, open areas and rest spaces offer good opportunities to enjoy a sunset, to see the clouds and mist rise up the hills, or enjoy a cool afternoon downpour.
Our facilities are modern and comfortable, even though our rooms are small, they are very well equipped, wifi is available throughout the property, king size beds are available and we have a special category of garden rooms, one for couples and one for families, they feature air conditioning ( we have the first four rooms with A/C in Monteverde ) mini fridges and are very spacious and well displayed.
We always get compliments about our service, Front desk personnel, our waiters and everybody involved in guest service is outgoing, helpful and willing to provide the best service possible. We thank you for your comments.
Thanks again for staying with us and thank you for choosing Monteverde as one of your stops in Costa Rica.
Best regards and happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

We stayed in 6 different Lodges and hotels and Poco a Poco was definitely the worst of the bunch. It seemed as if the place had been built of little more than cardboard – it was noisy and poorly insulated – on the first night there was strong (albeit warm) wind – and it felt as though we were in a tent! The wind whistled through the room. The lighting was atrocious – one small fitting in the middle of the ceiling – no bedside lights. We overlooked metal rooves and the kitchen extraction fan which was very noise. The balcony was so small as to be not worth having. The breakfast was very poor. On our first evening there they refused to take a booking in their restaurant for just the two of us, even though we tried to do this as soon as we arrived.
We absolutely cannot recommend this at all.

Room Tip: Don;t overlook rooves and the kitchen extraction unit
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank anonofbiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia Genera... H, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Dear Mr. Mrs. Anonofgiggs. We are very sorry yu felt this way about our hotel, we were not able to fill your expectations and clearly being in an upper floor room didnt help..
We are sorry about how full our restaurant gets sometimes. we encourage guests to check in advance, as you did, we also believe that being in down town, and across from the Comercial center, our guests have lots of options they can easily walk to... some very nice places and more.. I think it´d been worst to have you wait for your food for over an hour here at our restaurant... ( we get very busy on a regular basis )
We are replacing lighting in the rooms, putting new lamps, etc.. I´m very sorry you did not enjoy your stay..

Hotel Poco a Poco is one of the best options here in Monteverde, we offer a covered, heated pool, hot tub, nice gardens, spa, sauna, live music regularly, and more.
Our breakfast is a la carte and offers 5 different choices.
Thank you for your review and happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

My wife and I stayed at Poco a Poco for three nights and like the hotel overall. The room was comfortable and clean, had a fridge and a coffee machine. Breakfast included and was very good. We like the service and staff, as well as the location - close to a shopping center with restaurants and to the reptile exhibition.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia Genera... H, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Dear Mr M. We wish to thank you for your comments. Your feedback will help us to continue to improve our services and the quality of stay we provide. We are always trying to find new ways to improve and with each renovation we become a better hotel.
We hope your review will be helpful to other readers and we encourage them to contact us if they need to make a special request or if they have any hesitation about our property.
We cater for the satisfaction of our guests and will try our best to accomplish that. Monteverde offers lots of very special features: the Cloud Forest is one of the most unique ecosystems in the world, the conservation and sustainability efforts in Monteverde are renowned as pioneer in Costa Rica. There are activities of all sorts, all of them professionally operated, accessible, safe and each provides amazing opportunities to explore, enjoy and experience the Cloud Forest.
Hotel Poco a Poco offers a great lodging option for travelers looking to get the most of their time spent in Monteverde, we are strategically located, just 3 blocks away from down town Santa Elena, the center of town offers lots of colorful attractions: cafés, restaurants, gift shops, minimarkets, ice cream parlors, local salons, live music, and much more. Our guests can enjoy of restaurant, great food, local recipes, Costa Rican cuisine, live music regularly, or they can just go across the street and find stores, supermarket, and a few choices of food.
After a nice day of activities, Hotel Poco a Poco offers a very nice heated, covered pool, a hot tub, spa for massages, wraps and exfoliations, a very nice way to recover and cleanse your senses. Our garden, open areas and rest spaces offer good opportunities to enjoy a sunset, to see the clouds and mist rise up the hills, or enjoy a cool afternoon downpour.
Our facilities are modern and comfortable, even though our rooms are small, they are very well equipped, wifi is available throughout the property, king size beds are available and we have a special category of garden rooms, one for couples and one for families, they feature air conditioning ( we have the first four rooms with A/C in Monteverde ) mini fridges and are very spacious and well displayed.
We always get compliments about our service, Front desk personnel, our waiters and everybody involved in guest service is outgoing, helpful and willing to provide the best service possible. We thank you for your comments.
Thanks again for staying with us and thank you for choosing Monteverde as one of your stops in Costa Rica.
Best regards and happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel. Rooms are clean and spacious. However the pool is fully enclosed and cold, gets no sun and there is no lounging area with sun beds to lie out in. The bar at the pool area was also never opened. The breakfast was not buffet style like all the rest of the hotels we stayed in. You choose from the menu so it was limited for choice and definitely wouldn’t set you up for the day.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia Genera... H, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Dear Mrs: Suzanne. Thank you for your review and comments. Your feedback will help us to continue to improve our services and the quality of stay we provide. We are always trying to find new ways to improve and with each renovation we become a better hotel.
Please notice we are just about to finish our sun deck, we have expended the area around the pool, wich is covered for isolation reasons, the pool has heated water, up to a temperature of 85 F degrees, Monteverde in general has cooler weather and lots of wind. Since we were working on that area, we kept going back and forward from the restaurant to the pool area, i guess your missed our waiters or they missed you. During happy hour they keep going to check on guests by the pool. Most of our guests enjoy the breakfast menu, is contains 5 options, guests enjoy the chance to seat down and have the oportunity to relax. We havent got complaints about the size of portions or the selection of dishes.
We hope your review will be helpful to other readers and we encourage them to contact us if they need to make a special request or if they have any hesitation about our property.
We cater for the satisfaction of our guests and will try our best to accomplish that. Monteverde offers lots of very special features: the Cloud Forest is one of the most unique ecosystems in the world, the conservation and sustainability efforts in Monteverde are renowned as pioneer in Costa Rica. There are activities of all sorts, all of them professionally operated, accessible, safe and each provides amazing opportunities to explore, enjoy and experience the Cloud Forest.
Hotel Poco a Poco offers a great lodging option for travelers looking to get the most of their time spent in Monteverde, we are strategically located, just 3 blocks away from down town Santa Elena, the center of town offers lots of colorful attractions: cafés, restaurants, gift shops, minimarkets, ice cream parlors, local salons, live music, and much more. Our guests can enjoy of restaurant, great food, local recipes, Costa Rican cuisine, live music regularly, or they can just go across the street and find stores, supermarket, and a few choices of food.
After a nice day of activities, Hotel Poco a Poco offers a very nice heated, covered pool, a hot tub, spa for massages, wraps and exfoliations, a very nice way to recover and cleanse your senses. Our garden, open areas and rest spaces offer good opportunities to enjoy a sunset, to see the clouds and mist rise up the hills, or enjoy a cool afternoon downpour.
Our facilities are modern and comfortable, even though our rooms are small, they are very well equipped, wifi is available throughout the property, king size beds are available and we have a special category of garden rooms, one for couples and one for families, they feature air conditioning ( we have the first four rooms with A/C in Monteverde ) mini fridges and are very spacious and well displayed.
We always get compliments about our service, Front desk personnel, our waiters and everybody involved in guest service is outgoing, helpful and willing to provide the best service possible. We thank you for your comments.
Thanks again for staying with us and thank you for choosing Monteverde as one of your stops in Costa Rica.
Best regards and happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews