We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde(Santa Elena)(Great Value!)
US$78
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cabinas Eddy B&B(Santa Elena)(Great Value!)
US$33
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pension Santa Elena(Santa Elena)(Great Value!)
US$27
US$25
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cabinas Capulin(Santa Elena)
US$60
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paris Confort B & B(Santa Elena)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cabinas Nuestra Kasa(Santa Elena)(Great Value!)
US$25
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arco Iris Lodge(Santa Elena)(Great Value!)
US$44
US$38
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (328)
Filter reviews
328 results
Traveller rating
230
75
18
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
230
75
18
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsintrepid tourcosta ricacloud forestzip liningcentral americahuge roomnight walkmonte verdepleasant stayeggsrooms are clean and comfortabletown centrefirst floorpura vidastayed here for nightsenjoyed our staywithin walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
143 - 148 of 328 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2012

This hotel was clean and well-maintained. The staff were helpful and friendly. It certainly isn't a five star, but of the hotels we stayed in Costa Rica for a similar price level, it was by far our favourite. The rooms are nice, and the hotel feels secure, including lock boxes in the room. Breakfast can be arranged, but lunch and dinner are not available. There aren't amenities such as a pool, but it is the perfect hotel to use as a base for excursions or other activities. The walk into Monteverde proper is about 15-20 min, with a steep hill, but there are other stores and restaurants much closer by, and taxis are readily available in Monteverde.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luchopuerto, Director General at Historias Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2015
Google Translation

Hola amigos gracias su comentario es muy importante para nosotros y lo mejor es que ustedes seguirán siendo parte de nuestra gran familia siempre te llevaremos en nuestro corazón
LUIS EMILIO BRENES..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

The people at Historias Lodge treated us like old friends - better than family! The people and the place were warm and inviting. Our room was large and comfortable and featured a giant bath tub! The food was prepared fresh for us and they couldn't have been more pleasant and helpful. The location is very convenient and the grounds and the room and the common areas were clean and fresh. The price was right. I would highly recommend this as a place to stay while traveling in beautiful Monteverde.

Room Tip: talk to them and tell them your needs, they are very accommodating!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We stayed here with some friends after visiting 2 other towns in Costa Rica and the staff and services they provided exceeded our expectations. The owner Luis and his sister Alba were very accommodating in providing early breakfast so as to meet our early morning excursions. The rooms were very spacious and we felt extremely safe. This lodge is located within walking distance to banks, the city center, bars, and restaurants. There is also an excellent restaurant right next to this lodge that is a must try!! Thanks Luis and Alba for your hospitality...I will definitely be back. PURA VIDA!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Historias Lodge is located just minutes from Santa Elena. A short walk into Santa Elena will get you to restaurants, a bank, a few museums, and some coffee shops. Nevertheless, there are a handful of restaurants and a bank just down the street from Historias Lodge within a 2 minute walk. If you head about 1 kilometer in the opposite direction from Santa Elena, you will find a gas station, a few shops, a chocolate shop, and a bat museum, among other things.
The rooms at Historias Lodge are clean and spacious. The breakfast is hearty and tasty, but be sure to let someone know the night before when you plan to have breakfast (especially if you hope to get an early start).
If you do go to Historias Lodge, ask for Alba at the reception desk. Her English is excellent and she is very helpful. Alba helped us plan several excursions while in Monteverde. Also, when my mother was sick, Alba showed genuine concern and made sure to check on her and ask about her ever so often. She also helped arrange our transportation out of Monteverde.
Overall, I was very pleased with Historias Lodge and would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dancenlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

I traveled to Monteverde in July and found Historias lodge. This is a great place to stay at a great price. It is clean and in a great location. The breakfast is amazingly good and what really makes the place great is Luis and Alba and the buen perrocito Lucho. They make you feel welcome and help you get good deals on tours and fun activities. We even saw a 3 Quetzals with the great guia Danillo in Curi Cancha. Monteverde is a cool place to rest and relax and Historias is a great place to stay at a good price. The zipline at 100% adventura was also the best zipline of our trip. Thank you again Luis and Alba, Pura Vida...David

Room Tip: Tip-Ask Alba to give you her favorite room...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews