We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A marvellous place to come back more than once”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
73 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Doonbeg, County Clare

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 73 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
sabitom20...
Riehen, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A marvellous place to come back more than once”
Reviewed 14 December 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Having stayed at Sandhills house for two weeks in July last year we had decided to come back for another 3 weeks this summer, as this place was so beautiful and Nuala such a wonderful host. As we come from Switzerland, our two girls didn't speak English (a little in the 2nd year) while we stayed there. Nevertheless they enjoyed to spent some time with Nuala in the evenings, on weekends or in the garden and they found ways to communicate with each other - it was Nuala who helped them to overcome their uncertainty as they could't understand and talk much in English. She teached them how to play biliard, took them along to the cowshed or to the beach and enjoyed the little conversations with them.
Besides taking care of her guests personally, Nuala also provides the house and the surrouding garden with reasonable care and a great concern for many details. The house is very clean and well equiped, you find a lot more than what you would expect from a holliday destination. There were even food and drinks available on the day of our arrival. What a nice welcome after a long trip!
Also the garden is very neat and full of lovely flowers. She takes care of her hens with lots of love, as well of Bruno, the family dog. Our girls loved to spend timewith the hens and Bruno, in the monrings they went to pick up the fresh eggs from the hen's house and if Bruno joined us for a walk to the beach this was always fun and much appreciated - for at least a few weeks of the year our girls could enjoy pets :o)
In summary we were just delighted from Sandhil's house and it's owner, so it had been an easy-taken decision to come back for a 2nd stay. Just as Ireland isn't that close for us we might not come back that soon...But if we ever make holidays on Ireland again, I am sure we will spent some days at Sandhills house again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Dec 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to post that great review - we really appreciate it. It was lovely having ye here for the past two years and we would be delighted to welcome ye back again sometime. Nuala.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan G
Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home on Thanksgiving”
Reviewed 7 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I just can't begin to tell you how wonderful Sandhills House was. We were a family of 4 and 2 extra Adults...6 total. Nuala was the most AMAZING host. The house was spotless, everything you could possibly need or want ( everything she has in the house is listed in a binder and where to find it within). I wish 5 star hotels would take some notes from Nuala. When we arrived she had fresh scones & cookies, she supplied us with juice, milk, butter...all the basics. I cooked a full Thanksgiving Dinner for 6 and she had EVERYTHING I needed. It was unbelievable!
My children were more giddy than Christmas morning with excitement for fetching the fresh eggs from the Hen House and jumping on the trampoline. Nuala was so sweet to my children (12 & 10) by giving them free run of the land allowing them to play with the chickens, see the cows and roam free with the dogs. Everything was exceptionally perfect from the water pressure to the comfy beds to the beautiful property to walk around. There is not much around the area so if you are going- go for the beauty, the peacefulness and much needed fresh air and rest! Cliffs of Mohr is less than 30 minutes away, Golf is close by as well. If I go back to Ireland which I certainly hope I do...Sandhills House will be on my list!!! By FAR the best place we have stayed at.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: There is nothing that I didn't like
Liked least: No local pubs close by, LOL.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Dec 2016
Thanks for that wonderful review Megan. It was a pleasure hosting ye and hope our paths cross again some time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLaurel...
Kilkenny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 12 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay, the house was beautiful, 5 minute walk from the beach, tea and scones on arrival, Nuala was very friendly and a wonderful host, hope to come back soon
Recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2016
Mile buiochas for that lovely review and recommendation. Will be delighted to welcome ye back again. Nuala.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marina_sa...
Lyss, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We spent four lovely days at Sandhills House”
Reviewed 26 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We travelled with our 16 months-old boy and it was absolutely perfect (the garden to play, the close-by beach, the cows in sight-distance, the friendly dogs and hens, the travel cot).
We'd definitely come again!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Oct 2016
Thank you for that lovely review - our 50th five star review! Glad that ye had an enjoyable experience here and would be delighted to welcome ye back again sometime. Nuala.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vickyjk20...
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best holiday home EVER”
Reviewed 15 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I and our two kids (Ages 11 & 5) spent a week at Sandhills House. I had tried to book last year but Nuala was completely booked up so I booked a year in advance so sure was I that we would have a fantastic holiday at Sandhills. I was not wrong. The house is by far and above the best holiday home we have ever stayed in. The house is not only beautifully decorated with large, spacious rooms and hot water on tap courtesy of solar panels, Nuala has literally thought of absolutely everything to make your stay a special one. From the daily fresh eggs, the wonderful herb garden, the choice of kids' toys (especially the trike!) to a fantastic selection of condiments and little gadgets to make life easier to binoculars to take to the beach! For families with kids who love animals, Sandhills House is a must. There are 3 beautiful, friendly dogs to accompany you to the beach - Bruno, Bailey and Max. My son was crying leaving the dogs after our week and cannot wait to go back next year. That says it all really. We are booked in for two weeks next year and cannot wait to go back. Thank you Nuala for wonderful memories xxx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Unrivalled beachside location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for that great review and looking forward to meeting you all again next year and making more great memories!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$130
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing