We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Very Good”
Review of Castle Arch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castle Arch Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Trim
Reviewed 26 July 2017

I did not have a good experience here at all. First, the wifi was terrible, only connecting to some devices in our room. Second, we stayed in a handicap room, and none of my family is handicapped. The handicap shower did not have any barriers at all for the water, so this resulted in the flooding of the bathroom floor and also the carpet outside of the bathroom door. Not to mention, the bathroom floor was incredibly sticky and disgusting to walk on. Also, I could not sleep during the night because it was so hot in the room and there was no way to control the temperature. The breakfast options were eggs, eggs, eggs, or cereal.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chloe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleArchHotel, General Manager at Castle Arch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Dear Guest
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor, i am disappointed to read some of your comments. We appreciate all feedback and i will be discussing this with the team.
Kindest Regards
Shirley Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 416 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

me and my wife got married here last October 2016 everything was fantastic the whole day was amazing the staff were amazing , the food was amazing , the rooms were amazing me and my wife would 100% recommend this hotel for weddings and for family breaks we stayed for the whole weekend and everything was fantastic so thank you castle arch for a dream wedding and a fantastic weekend for us and our whole family

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleArchHotel, General Manager at Castle Arch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Dear James & Victoria
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor, it was a pleasure to look after such a fabulous couple. I have passed on your lovely comments to the team.
Wishing you both every happiness for your future life together
Kindest Regards
Shirley Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

Went for dinner to the Castle Arch Hotel .The hotel is set through a lovely archway but the inside of this old building is very bright and modern..The dinner menu was boring with the normal chicken curry , Steaks , Fish and Chips etc.The menu does not have any proper fish like salmon or hake on its menu.Indeed the menu badly needs updating .
My steak was cooked as requested but very greasy. My partners chicken was a plain chicken breast with pepper sauce .
The veg looked and tasted sad .

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleArchHotel, General Manager at Castle Arch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Dear John L

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate both positive and negative comments. i will discuss all feedback with the Kitchen Department. We serve Salmon on our A La Carte Menu as well as the fish and chips.

Kindest Regards
Shirley Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

Went for dinner yesterday evening here. There was a wedding on so the place was packed, but we got a comfortable seat straight away. Staff were over right away to take our drinks order and the offer of a menu. We ordered the steak, and of all the restaurants ive been in, this place definitely has the best steak around. It was cooked perfectly, with the ideal amount of sides and sauce, so compliments to the chef, they really done an excellent job. Place is clean, tidy, no fuss, and management really seem to have it running smoothly.
A particular mention to Renell, very obliging, friendly and chatty. Certainly makes the experience all the better.
Well done to all. We will most definitely be back!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Laineydo's N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleArchHotel, General Manager at Castle Arch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal with us, i have passed on your comments to the Chef and Rennell and they are delighted.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Castle Arch Hotel in the future

Kindest Regards
Shirley Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017

Overall the Castle Arch is a fine hotel. We had a room in the older section so the rooms were adequate in size but not modernized. The weather has been on the warm side so we had to keep the window open and we still got a quiet nights sleep. The staff was pleasant. Breakfast was a typical Irish breakfast and a good start for the day. We had dinner at the restaurant one night and it was good.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DianaJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleArchHotel, General Manager at Castle Arch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor, we are at present in the process of upgrading our rooms. we are delighted you enjoyed Breakfast & Dinner and have passed on your comments to the staff
Look forward to welcoming you back to the Castle Arch Hotel in the Future

Kindest Regards
Shirley Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trim
0.4 km away
Trim Castle Hotel
2.0 km away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
13.5 km away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 km away
Ardboyne Hotel
Ardboyne Hotel
#3 of 4 in Navan
379 reviews
16.5 km away
The Johnstown Estate Hotel
25.8 km away
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Arch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Arch Hotel

Address: Summerhill Road, Trim, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Trim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Trim
Price Range: RM299 - RM611 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Arch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Arch Hotel is nestled in the heart of the heritage town of Trim and over the years has become Trim's most established hotel with its genuine charm the elegance of this hotel will captivate you. The Castle Arch Hotel is surrounded by local history and the famous castle of King John is only a short walk away.With 21 bedrooms the Castle Arch is an ideal venue for a break away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Castle Arch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Castle Arch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing