We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveller rating
55
29
9
7
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
29
9
7
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews evening meal every morning christina euros taxis views
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 112 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2015

Found this hotel to be a wonderful experience after a day or two in Firenze/ Florence. It's located only a few miles from Signa Italy where we caught the train to Florence each day. It's tucked away in the Tuscany countryside and is owned and operated by a very wonderful family. They are in the process of adding rooms to the hotel but it didn't distract from the ambiance. Gabriel greeted us and showed us our room and the premises. He has one of two pools in the entire area and it's fabulous. His mother cooks the evening meal and they do serve a homemade lunch as well. His wife serves the brunch in the morning and offers her Swedish charm. The only downside to our visit was the lack of good parking and we frequently parked along the shoulder of the road because their driveway was full. The rooms are large and have a balcony overlooking the pool and valley. We would love to stay again if we return to the area.

Room Tip: Don't think there is a bad room but all are up or down sets of stairs
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2015

This little gem of a hotel is quite excellent! The rooms are spacious and spotless and most have a stunning view over the valley of the River Arno. Nothing is too much trouble for Gabriella and his wife Christina and his mother's cooking for the very reasonable evening meal is delicious.
I strongly recommend the use of a car because the hotel is deep in the lovely Tuscan countryside along winding country roads and there is only an occasional bus service through Poggio Alla Malva and the nearest railway station is in Signa.
The hotel is perfect as a base for touring around Tuscany takingin Pisa, Florence, Lucca, San Giminangno and much more. With a large swimming pool and terraces for every room, there is also plenty of excuse just to relax in the sun.
In addition to the restaurant in the hotel there are also excellent restaurants in Artimino, just 5 minutes drive away.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a vista over the River Arno
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2014

An excellent hotel...welcoming staff, clean and cozy room, delicious homemade dinner with a very tasty glass of wine...what can you more ask for. I will definitely be back this summer for a swim in the swimming pool.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful...some are bigger and some slightly smaller...see photos on-line. Beautiful views...and so much more.
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margareta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I just stayed at the Hotel Villa La Malva, too short.
A lovely villa with marvelous views.
I had a very tasty dinner in the restaurant, completely decorated with stone walls and chestnut beams. I was served and exquisite pasta with local mushrooms, stewed boar and a bottle of their own house wine.
The room was very clean and cozy, just as shown on the photos. In the morning, one can open the curtains and see the sun rise above the hills in front of the hotel. I had the beautiful swimming pool area just underneath my room. The area is equipped with sun chairs and decorated with palm trees.
Fresh bread and croissant, among many other things, were served at breakfast. One can choose either to sit inside or outside on the panoramic terrace, enjoying the breathtaking view of the Arno valley.
Very professional and welcoming staff.
Will definitely be back as soon as I can.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

If you want to visit the beautiful region of Tuscany by car and return 'home' every night, Villa La Malva is the right choice!
The hotel owners are extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast, which was elaborate enough for Italian norms, was fresh every morning. We very much liked the fact that it was served outside. We asked for early breakfast twice, which was no problem at all. Kristina prepared it almost an hour early for us, two days in a row. There is also the possibility to have dinner at the villa, we did so twice and we did not regret it! The prices for a three-course meal are very reasonable, and it is home-cooked. Furthermore, it is no problem to ask for seconds (or extras)!
Our room was spatious and had a renovated bathroom. The room did get quite hot during the day, however, as the A/C only started working at 7 p.m. We had to leave it on all night, which was rather noisy. Moreover, we only had a bath (no shower) and it took a long time for the bath to fill up, as the water pressure was quite low. But we didn't let this bother us: we were able to cool off in the amazing pool, which was as clean as it was large, with a wonderful view of the hills. One other tiny point of criticism: it is difficult to park at the villa. But you can easily park in the village and walk five miunutes towards the hotel.
Poggio alla Malva is a very small town, with only one little shop, owned by very friendly people. The hotel, then, has a quiet location. On our first night, a group of teenagers did disturb the peace, but fortunately they were gone afterwards. We agree with one of the previous reviews that this must have been an isolated incident.
Considering the fact that Tuscany is an expensive region to stay, we were very happy with the value of the hotel, i.e. we got what we were looking for when we booked, a quiet and charming place to return to and relax after visiting the area.
We would definitely recommend Villa La Malva, for its excellent location to visit the wonderful cities of Florence, Pisa, Siena, Lucca, San Gimignano and Vinci (don't be afraid to go there by car - all of the important cities have large car parks outside the city walls), and even more so for its wonderful owners! When we return Tuscany, we will defitely stay at Villa La Malva again!

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool, although they have the nicest view, can get quite hot during the day.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D-2000_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews