We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel le Rocce sas(Magione)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Dimora Fra' Giovanni B&B Relais(Magione)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$76
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Vacanze Vecchio Granaio(Magione)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Torricella(Torricella di Magione)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 23/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agriturismo Podere Montepetreto(Magione)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Relais la Rosetta(Torricella di Magione)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Isole e Tramonti(Monte del Lago)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,055)
Filter reviews
1,055 results
Traveller rating
631
300
60
36
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
631
300
60
36
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscantico della naturacooking classrecommend ilwould love to come backlakeagriturismomaurizio
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1,055 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
73
Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed for four nights as a family of four having originally booked for three because we enjoyed it so much. Francesco and his team provided exceptional service and it felt like we were a family guest. we asked them to open the kitchen an hour early at 6pm in the evening so that we could feed our small children who wouldn't eat off the menu so plain pasta and nesquick it was with no trouble at all. Enzo made a big effort to arrange some horse riding for us which wasn't easy off season. Our apartment had two rooms- a lovely double for us and a themed kids room which the children adored. The food was on the whole delicious with a good wine selection. The whole place also has a wonderful zen ambiance because of its quiet rural setting with hammocks and other seating areas dotted around-also lots of walking /picnic options all around. I could go on and on. We loved it- thanks again.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cantico, Proprietario at Il Cantico della Natura, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2016

thank you very much for your message. We are very glad you appreciate our hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2015 via mobile

I reached the location late and a very foggy night. Luckily I have a 4wd as the last km is really a country road but acceptable also for non 4wd if you drive carefully.
The price at the end is fantastic as the location is really gorgeous.
The room is offering a taste of old living style: nice.
Breakfast was very good, just a hic on the marmalade as no local production proposed ;-(.
The staff has been gentle waiting for the my late arrival due to the nice restaurant they proposed in Magione.
To repeat with the family to enjoy the countryside.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled on business
1  Thank Davide G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cantico, Proprietario at Il Cantico della Natura, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2015

thank yoiu very much for your messagge. we are happy you enjoy il Cantico and that you like to come back with your family, you ar every welcome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2015

We stayed at Cantico della Natura for a week 7-13.August We booked two rooms one room was meant to be for a child we had a 14 year old with us.My fault because i put on the drop down when booking we have a child. They changed the bed for us within two days which was great.
Our room was overlooking the pool with the most amazing view.IT seemed as though everybody was crammed in.We opted to have dinner in the restaurant. We could only see two members of staff serving 40 people they were so busy flustered even:-( We were waiting an hour and half untill we got served because we had been forgotten, how ever we did not blame the member of staff we just felt there should have been more staff working to cater for the volume of people.It just reminded of us London where everyone is rushing around:-)The meals were some what small . Our 14year old was disappointed that they didn't do chips as this is a family place.We thought the menu was also limited, we asked how often the menu was changed and the member of staff said every 3 months but i think he meant every month.The desserts were lovely though.Breakfast the choice was ok however you had to get there before 8.30 am otherwise you would not get a place. We found that the eating area in side was far to small for the amount of people.It did rain whilst we were there and we had the same scenario where people wanted to eat but couldn't because there was no space.
We tried the Wellness centre for a full body massage with lavender and a back massage for my husband the total came to 90 euros he said it was mean to be 100 euros but gave us a reduction. Full body massage was great but wish i knew how much it was because the sign said 25 euros. please check first. Apart from the price it was ok..


My opinion of this place the positive points,
The view is breath taking
The staff Hamstill is a sweet warm person who goes out of his way to help.
Breakfast lots of choice.
Good facilities.
Staff arranged horse riding for us which was 15mins away.
Good facilities for children
Well positioned for amenities .
Service around the pool. (Hamstill you are a star)
Wine choice is great.
Shower fantastic


Negative points.
More staff needed
Mini bar should be a lot cooler.
Check price of wellness centre first.
Choice of food is limited and does not taste hand made.
The restaurant is far to small they should have a back up plan should it rain.
No ice.
Open up and fully stock the Pool bar in the evening
Stock Martini Rosso
Huge cobwebs in the bathroom, buy the cleaner an extendable feather duster.
include Chips on menu
INCLUDE Icecream ON MENU.
Pool needs to be bigger and the pool area.

Overall this place was ok we still enjoyed our time there

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the great view
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zeebie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cantico, Proprietario at Il Cantico della Natura, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2015

thank you for your messagge. We ar ehapy that in genral you hd a good holidays. relating to your observation and suggestion we will take it into account to emprouve always the services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2015

I think one's stay here may be very dependent on the room you have. We did not have a good room. We started in the room named "October" and then moved to "September," but that didn't help much. Also, we visited during a heat wave in July. The air conditioner, which we were assured was working properly, kept the room at a toasty 32 to 34 degrees C (90 degrees+ F!). . .It was just unbearable! The whole place is very eco-friendly, which I applaud, but our room was filled, off and on, 24/7 with fireplace-like smoke and soot from whatever they fire the boiler with. Everything we own had to be cleaned to get the freshly burned smell out. The pool is nice (actually beautiful), the staff are very nice and the food is OK. But when on vacation, you need a place you can retreat to in comfort, and this was not it! I've traveled extensively in Italy's Umbria and Tuscany regions, --The setting here, etc., has wonderful potential, they just haven't quite pulled it all together yet.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the pool with view. Do not stay in the building that has rooms named October and September!
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cantico, Proprietario at Il Cantico della Natura, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2015

thnak you for yor message. The 2 room you had a good and nice room.The air contioning sistem where functioning regularly but the exceppionally high temperature registered in that day in Umbria had en effect on it in teh 2 room you had because they have an eposure all day to the direct sun. sorry for it

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2015

We just spent 5 nights here as a home base to explore Umbria. The directions might best be read "drive the winding, ever narrowing road up Montesperello until it ends. The continue another mile on the dirt road through the woods." Once you do, however, you'll be rewarded by a beautiful hotel in a beautiful location, surrounded by about 30 acres of olive trees, rosemary, lavender, flowers, etc. and further surrounded by many more acres of forest. It is literally at least a mile from any other building.

The hotel is an ancient rambling stone farmhouse that has been carefully restored. Our room was spacious, with a king sized four-poster bed (a little firmer than mine at home, but fine), two antique desks, a table and two chairs and an antique armoire. The interior of the walls were plastered smooth and the floor was stone, worn smooth by hundreds of years of use. We used a giant iron key to both open and close the ancient wooden door that had planks wider than any I've ever seen. There is a separate bathroom with a shower stall. The room had an air conditioner, but we didn't need it in April.

Outside, the grounds are tastefully laid out and well-tended. The hotel is located in a flat spot on what is otherwise a steep hill. Directly in front of the building is a pool with a stunning view out over the valley below and Lake Tasimeno beyond. Although the pool was not yet open, we spent several evenings sitting out on the chaises watching the sun set over the lake. It was a remarkably peaceful end to every day.

The hotel restaurant, which is located in a slightly more rustic room where they left the stone walls unplastered, has a slightly limited dinner menu, about 4 choices each of antipasti, primi, secondi and dolci. I'm sure we tried them all. But each one was well made and very tasty. There is an ample selection of good local wines at fair prices. Breakfast was the best we have had in seven trips to Italy -- ample local cured meets and cheeses, crusty bread, yogurt, fruit juices. They would even cook an egg if you asked. Because we were there at a relatively slow time, they had breakfast in the restaurant only on the weekend. The rest of the time, they brought an overloaded tray to our room, and came back twenty minutes later with a fresh cup of cappucino after they noticed on the first day that we typically drank two cups at breakfast. We were very pleased with the food overall.

There is a health center/spa, but we did not use it, so I can't comment except to say it exists.

The entire staff was incredibly pleasant and helpful to us, and as unobtrusive as anyone could wish. We had a clogged shower drain one morning. We simply told them at breakfast and by the time we returned in the afternoon, it was fixed, and they checked again later at dinner to make sure we were satisfied. They also recommended restaurants in the places we wanted to visit and called ahead to make reservations for us.

The hotel is also environmentally conscious. They provide some of their power from a bank of solar panels out in the olive grove, recycle gray water to use in the gardens and have low maintenance/water plantings in the gardens.

We would happily stay there again and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gmbecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cantico, Proprietario at Il Cantico della Natura, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2015

thank you very much for your messagge. We are very happy you had e very nice stay. you are always very welcome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews