We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard 3* all inclusive holiday ”
Review of Checkin Pineda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Checkin Pineda
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Pineda de Mar
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

We came on a family holiday with 8 of us. 5 adults one teenager and 2 children. We got a cheap deal on this hotel and having preciously stayed in a 4* hotel in lloret de mar also this year we were comparing them a lot.. like the food. The food was really nice! I really enjoyed it. There was a lot of variety and we could always find something to eat. We were travelling with vegetarians and they could always find something to eat although they said it got a bit samey. Italian night was particularly nice they did different pastas and gnocchi and mozzarella salads. Breakfast was a bit samey but it was nice, there's only so much you can do for breakfast although pancakes and omelettes would've been nice! Puddings were nice too. The drinks machines always had big queues especially at breakfast and the only juice I liked was the pineapple. The food was nicer here than in the 4* hotel. We never had to wait for a table and there was 8 of us! The snack bar was a let down really there were burgers but they were left out all day so it didn't look too appetising. The chips were too and they were cold. The pizza and chicken nuggets were ok but the vegetarians we were with couldn't eat anything apart from fruit because everything had meat, including pizza. They only let you order 2 drinks at a time at the bar even if they weren't all for you. You were treated as a second class citizen if you were all inclusive such as we had plastic cups and non all inclusive had glasses and the alcohol choice wasn't great! They said they had local spirits but didn't have Malibu or anything like that so I didn't really drink. Cocktails were from a machine and vile. You could always get ice cream included in the all inclusive from the freezer.

Pool area: although the pool area is small we always found somewhere to lie down on a sunbed. It was the typical reserving of the sun loungers and people going to the beach and leaving their towels there. The pool was clean and big enough. Pool could be quite lively. There wasn't any umbrellas for shade but there were tables in the shade.

Entertainment: mini disco was absolutely rubbish my son was so bored the woman was so unanimated and boring!! They had a timetable in reception with different activities such as an aqua gym and games but this NEVER happened! We didn't really stay for evening entertainment and tended to go into Pineda there was a fair on and a fiesta and we didn't really like drinking in the hotel especially when we had to have plastic cups and some of the bar staff were quite rude. I'm glad we weren't pool facing because I bet it was really loud at night! The playground was ok a slide and two swings but that's about it and the mini club didn't look great with the kids just doing colouring etc.

Hotel: upon arrival we requested a travel cot for our 5 month old baby and we arrived about 2am there was NO travel cot in the room so we went and asked for one and he took us to the room where they usually are and there weren't any! Tired and annoyed we had to put out baby in bed with us! Not a great start to the holiday especially as she wouldn't settle in our bed! The next morning we walked past a hotel room that was obviously empty and it has a travel cot in so we asked the maid if we could have it and thankfully she put it in our room!
Rooms were small but had enough wardrobe space etc and there was a dressing table but no hairdryer?!
Our bathroom wasn't great it had a bath but I didn't trust the bath enough to bath my children in it so they got a shower. The toilet was loose and there was a horrible smell coming from it , like drains. Bathroom was a bit grubby to be honest. Air con was fab! Balcony was ok and the view was really nice!comfy beds.

The beach is about a ten minute walk and it's a lovely beach. There was a giant obstacle course in the sea. They also did water sports like kayaking banana boats and Aqua rockets.

All in all we had a nice holiday!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Olivia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Checkin_Hoteles, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Checkin Pineda, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear Olivia,

Thanks for your detailed comment about staying in our hotel, we are sure it will be useful to other guests. We are proud to be compared with 4*hotel. It is a pleasure to know you have enjoyed the hotel with its service offered, installations, variety and quality of the food. We have accepted your comment about the snack bar and all-inclusive service, for further improvements.
Sorry, you did not like the entertainment program, it will necessarily be revised for the next year

We continue to improve our services in order to offer our clients good experiences during their stays.
Thanks for your visit, and we are looking forward to seeing you again in one of ours Checkin Hotels.
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

Please don't be put off by previous reviews- 3 star hotel & exactly that!
We had room on the 5th floor with sun terrace, amazing views, very private & very clean!.....beds comfy & maid very helpful.
Food was good with plenty of options & all fresh - we didn't struggle with choices at all.
Entertainment not everyone's cup of tea but there's something on every other night.....they're trying
The staff are all very nice, friendly, polite & very helpful.....always smiling ..
The hotel is very near the town square, shops & beach, festival currently going on so very busy in the evenings

Would definitely stay another weekend here as had everything we needed

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Checkin_Hoteles, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Checkin Pineda, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear Linda, thanks for writing the comment in TripAdvisor about your experience in Checkin Pineda. We are happy to know you enjoyed the cleanliness and food of the hotel, helpfulness and hospitality of our staff.
Thank you for your visit and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.
Best regards!
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

Staff were friendly that's the best that can be said for this hotel. Rooms are so small, dark and with no fridge. Food was not good at all and the pineda de mar area as a whole was crap, locals are ignorant and could hardly speak English. When we decided that we couldn't live on the hotel food the local restaurants either got our orders wrong and didn't give us stuff from or order but charged for it. Very stressful holiday this hotel has 1 are 2 stars too many

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank dannyjamesmaguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Checkin_Hoteles, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Checkin Pineda, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear guest, thanks for your review. First of all, we regret we have not reached your expectations of the hotel.
We wanted to explain about several points that you mentioned since we care about your opinion and improve every possible aspect.
Our hotel has 3 stars and completely corresponds to its category.
Please note, all our clients can rent the fridge at the reception. Regarding the food, we will transmit your comment to the relevant department, although the majority of the guests satisfied with our gastronomy.
We are happy to know you liked the hospitality of our staff.
Thanks for your visit, and we hope you will give us another opportunity and visit us again, so we can change the impression about us and enjoy your stay.
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

Soo don't no where start hotel not as bad as some of these reviews but also not best !! When we first arrive about 8pm we was told no cot for my baby and they can only sort it out in morning so my baby had sleep in a pushchair all night was not happy but women on reception was very nice and was sorted next day !! Just after all that travelling we didn't need it!!
Next day we got told of a lot my son was starvin as he not breakfast person so went shop get him some crisp I all inclusive got told of for bringing crisp into hotel!!
All inclusive u get treated different plastic cup quite blunt but after 11pm u pay for ur drink omg they bring them over to u with smile & chat ! Considering we pay all that money I would thought everyone got treated the same!! U see everyone with glasses around pool instead of all inclusive !! Must say tho very clean hotel cleaners was amazing ,, the man in restaurant was very welcoming so was the women the waitress always making my baby smile ( my baby made a lot of mess every day she always come over joke about it lovely women gutted we didn't get chance say bye ) reception so lovely each one of them help us at some point!! Masha the bar staff was best in day so polite to us and understood us!! What can I say about all the bar staff in evening.. amazing always making my kids smile making us laugh!! Another thing with all inclusive I was family of 5 we was only aloud 2 drink at time but my kids was under 5 so could not carry there own drinks so would not aloud us have drink had wait ten min apart so we could not have drink together had keep going bar !! But if we pay aloud as many as we like !! Kids entertainer are rubbish mind u there so funny watch them colour in all day with no kids around ! I would stay here again yes but not all inclusive!!!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Lisa-marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Checkin_Hoteles, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Checkin Pineda, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Dear Lisa Marie, thanks for dedicating your time to writing a review about our hotel on TripAdvisor. It is a pleasure to know you liked the hotel and hospitality and helpfulness of our staff.
We will take a note about several points of all inclusive you have mentioned to improve some aspects.
We are delighted you have chosen Checkin Pineda and sincerely hope to welcome you again here
Public Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

My family and i are on our second day here, let me start with the positives the hotel is clean and the staff are friendly that's it !!. The rooms are so small we have four single beds along one wall and a small gap to get through the room about 60cm, the photos advertising the hotel look really nice, photos do lie, 2 small pools, it's in a back street all crammed into a small area, the whole hotel is like something from the late 70's / 80's, the food hmmm my family are not fussy at all, the food us atrocious very little effort made at all pastries are all from boxes all crushed together, the bacon eggs etc are not appealing at all it's just thrown into a bowl and left, our 6 yr old is living on tomato alone and she loves her food normally if you want a drink it feels like your at colditz one drink at breakfast, if you want a drink at lunch or dinner it's not included you get a bill placed on your table,so we are mostly paying to eat out which I suppose the hotel will look on as a bonus 4 people have paid to eat and they havnt got to feed us, on the first night when we arrived our children 6 and 11 yrs old were both in tears their holiday dream had been shattered, if you read other reviews that are positive about this hotel I'm not sure what they eat or what they live in but believe me it's not good at all, I would never bring my family back here holidays are supposed to be happy times seeing my kids in tears sank my heart

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank jason d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Checkin_Hoteles, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Checkin Pineda, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Dear Jason, thanks for your visit and your review. We regret, we have not fulfilled the desired expectations and for us, the well-being and satisfaction of our clients are very important. I am sorry you have had such experience with your room. Normally if there is available room, our staff at the reception is always ready to change the room in case of inconvenience, but in August we had the hotel fully booked and it was impossible to give you the solution. We will share your comments about the food to the relevant department for future improvements. Thanks for your visit, and we hope you will give us another opportunity and visit us again, so we can change the impression about us and enjoy your stay.
Best regards!
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pineda de Mar hotels
0.6 km away
Aqua Hotel Promenade
Aqua Hotel Promenade
#2 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
464 reviews
0.3 km away
Sumus Hotel Stella &Spa
Sumus Hotel Stella &Spa
#4 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
576 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Mont-Palau
Hotel Mont-Palau
#12 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
ALEGRIA Pineda Splash
ALEGRIA Pineda Splash
#1 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
218 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Sabiote
Hotel Sabiote
#8 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
54 reviews
0.6 km away
H.TOP Pineda Palace
H.TOP Pineda Palace
#5 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Checkin Pineda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Checkin Pineda

Address: C / Esglesia 76, 08397 Pineda de Mar, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Pineda de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Pineda de Mar
Price Range: RM212 - RM611 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Checkin Pineda 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Checkin Pineda is located 7 minutes' walk from the beach in Pineda de Mar, on the Costa del Maresme. It offers an outdoor pool and rooms with a private balcony. All air-conditioned rooms at the Checkin Pineda feature tiled floors and a simple décor. Each one has satellite TV and a private bathroom. Checkin Pineda has a restaurant which serves buffet meals. There is a poolside bar. There are 2 lounges with sofas and satellite TV, as well as a children's play area, a billiard table and an internet corner with computers and free Wi-Fi. In high season, Checkin Pineda offers free bicycles and kayaks, and has a bouncy castle for children. Checkin Pineda is easily accessible from the AP7 Motorway. You can drive to Barcelona in around 45 minutes. Reception is open 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Checkin Pineda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing