We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food,Poor Sleep!”
Review of The Woodberry Inn

The Woodberry Inn
Ranked #16 of 91 Restaurants in Bridgnorth
Price range: US$7 - US$30
Description: We look forward to welcoming you to The Woodberry Inn. We are a unique gastro pub offering fresh food, real ales and 9 individually styled en-suite rooms.
Restaurant details
Description: We look forward to welcoming you to The Woodberry Inn. We are a unique gastro pub offering fresh food, real ales and 9 individually styled en-suite rooms.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for two nights(19&20August 2021) Two Evening meals and breakfast.Food was very good,though breakfast was lacking a better cereal option than the cereal box choice,and one jug of milk.
Evening meals were better,Sea Bass were well cooked and tasty,a three course probably best option as the main course was small for a big eater.
Ok prices for Alcohol.Food prices were reasonable.
Waiter service very good,no long waiting time for food.
Our stay for two nights was a mistake,we should have stayed at a hotel.Pubs are noisy,and sleep was not possible in our room until gone 11pm.Our room was above the kitchen,and every time the kitchen door was used you would have a thud when the door shut.We did raise this with manageress in the morning ,apparently no one had highlighted this before,so no action was taken.Double bed poor,(2 singles put together,ridge in the middle very uncomfortable,a “topper “above would have helped
Summing up,have a meal there,but sleep elsewhere.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2021

Just had a delicious dinner for 2. Tasted like home cooked food. Service and price also excellent. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank ruthhL5476ZF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 July 2021 via mobile

Food was nice, service was quite poor. Staff were all friendly and polite but weren't very attentive. We're left that long for puddings we didn't want them by the time they came to take our order.
Was left waiting a long time after having the bill to actually pay.

Would come again as food was nice but maybe not on a Friday night and wouldn't have high expectations.

The menu could be bigger too, not that much choice for mains

Date of visit: July 2021
1  Thank ShropshireLover1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 June 2021

I can’t really put a finger on one thing but it didn’t inspire me to rate this place any better than just a decent pub. Even though we booked a table and we were the only people in the restaurant we were rushed to our table rather than enjoying a drink in the bar prior to the booked time. The food was well made especially the pie but there didn’t seem to any care in the presentation. The table was grubby without any dressing apart from the old cutlery. The staff were very attentive but there didn’t seem to be any organisation. If your after really good pub food this place will do very nicely but labelling it as a gastro pub is a little bit of a push.

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 June 2021

We stayed over on Thursday 27th May 2021. This was our second stay at the Woodberry Inn and everything, once again, was great: our room was spacious, clean and very comfortable, and the food (3 course dinner and full English breakfast) was all excellent. All staff we encountered were friendly, attentive and efficient. Thanks for a lovely break, our first in quite a while and much anticipated!

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The Woodberry Inn also viewed

Bridgnorth, Shropshire
Bridgnorth, Shropshire
 
Bridgnorth, Shropshire
 

Been to The Woodberry Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.