We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect hideaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Witches Falls Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect hideaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

We just spent two nights at Witches Falls Cottages and thanks to the setting, our hosts and glorious Tamborine Mountain, we feel recharged and ready to take on our busy lives again. David and Daniela are such genuine thoughtful hosts who clearly love the mountain and all it has to offer. They had lots of suggestions as to what we could do and experience but also reminded us that doing nothing has its merits as well! The fireplace, the spa and a good book certainly took care of that for a couple of hours. It's not the Sofitel, but then it doesn't pretend to be, which actually adds to its charm - entirely in keeping with the laid back, unpretentious character of Tamborine. Thanks to their referrals, we watched the sunset from just across the road, ate beautiful duck and pork belly dishes at The Old Church restaurant, had great coffee at The Kitchen Table (going back there for a picnic hamper & luxe desserts next time - beautifully styled interior) and did some cheese and wine tasting in the village. Even managed to get in a 3km rainforest walk which is a must after that enormous breakfast. Love, love, loved the bread (which was still warm). Thanks for a very special weekend. Will be telling everyone we know to book their next anniversary getaway with you.

Room Tip: All cottages are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marylou60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    21
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
221
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Banora Point,
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

We arrived to a welcoming cottage, with a fire ready to light and music playing softly. The mood was set. Our host gave us a brief explanation of how things worked, a guide to the local area and left us to it. The breakfast hamper arrived discreetly the next morning with the scent of fresh bread wafting invitingly. We included a wine tour in our package, which proved to be entertaining and educational. The whole experience was relaxing and refreshing.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tootyecho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

Beautifal place and lovely hosts that could not be more accomodating. You will have everything you need here...even a Kookaburra that pops in for breakfast!...just lovely!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NettySpagetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2011

We rarely do the 'romantic getaway' option so our two night stay was a treat. The rain forest gardens are wild and lovely and there is an overall impression of hospitality and generosity afforded by the hosts. We were overwhelmed with generous amounts of fresh and tasty food for our BBQ dinner, one uncooked and one cooked breakfast, so much so that we barely had to eat out. The bathroom was quite impressive in amenities and outlook with a double spa, half glass ceilings and sliding doors to let the outside in. The rooms themselves are clean, comfortable (except the couch) and cosy. Though maybe a bit early for a crackling fire we lit one just for the ambiance. The cottages are well positioned between the North Tambourine business district and Mt Tambourine itself and there's plenty to do in the vicinity from bush walking to art trails, antiquing to hang gliding. On the weekend we were there there was an Art Studio Open Weekend, a craft expo and a Gasoline and Garters Rockabilly and Hotrod convention, all of which lent the area a bustling, creative feel. Don't forget to stop in a look at the hosts own art studio. We bought one of Daniela's photographs. An enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bridestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tweed Heads, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2011

The cottages were absolutely beautiful... The breakfast hamper was to die for, not to mention the ambience of the bathroom. We only had a short stay but will definately return for a longer duration. There was nothing we could fault, David and Daniela were perfect hosts. Strongly recommended for a romantic getaway

Michelle and Sarah
April 2011

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle3110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Tamborine
2.4 km away
Bungunyah Manor Resort
Bungunyah Manor Resort
#2 of 3 in North Tamborine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
2.1 km away
Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast
Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 8 in North Tamborine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
1.8 km away
Pethers Rainforest Retreat
Pethers Rainforest Retreat
#1 of 6 in North Tamborine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Cedar Creek Lodges
Cedar Creek Lodges
#5 of 6 in North Tamborine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
33.0 km away
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa
3.9 km away
Escarpment Retreat
Escarpment Retreat
#1 of 2 in Mount Tamborine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Witches Falls Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Witches Falls Cottages

Property: Witches Falls Cottages
Address: Corner Hartley and Main Western Road, North Tamborine, Tamborine Mountain, Queensland 4272, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Scenic Rim > Tamborine Mountain > North Tamborine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in North Tamborine
Price range (per night): RM793 - RM1,145
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Witches Falls Cottages 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightfully different, intimate stone cottages tucked away on beautiful, tranquil Tamborine Mountain in the Gold Coast Hinterland, 30 minutes from the beach and less than an hour from Brisbane. Witches Falls Cottages is the ideal location for a romantic getaway or short break and for those wishing to explore the magnificent Tamborine National Park. The charming hand-built cottages are nestled in flowering scented gardens and towering rose gums –unwind, revive and rejuvenate the spirit and soul as you breathe fresh mountain air, sip champage and lie back in your glass-roofed spa to gaze at the stars on a clear night. By day, your spa experience becomes at-one with nature as the clear-glass walls blend inside with the forest outside. Witches Falls Cottages is situated right next door to Queensland’s oldest National Park where you find the rare Albert Lyrebirds. From your private cottage you can walk to three of the wineries, enjoy a relaxed lunch with a glass of wine, you can walk to antique shops and the village where you find shops and restaurants which are open in the evening for dinner. Points of interest ● Hand-crafted - each character cottage offers intimate split-level living with a stone gable, bullnose veranda, polished timber floors, cosy fireplace and a double spa, perfect for a romantic retreat. ● Splendid Breakfast - delight in hampers with deliciously fresh warm homemade bread and fresh fruit, delivered each morning to the privacy of your cottage. ● Romance - secluded, relaxing cottages, set in a magical location help set the scene for a romantic stay, where you can retreat from the world in total privacy or venture out when you choose. ● Exciting Packages - not just accommodation - many unique & special packages to select from - spoil & indulge yourself in style ● 10 Stars for Hospitality - nice, friendly, incredibly helpful and hospitable hosts, David & Daniela are always on hand to meet your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Witches Falls Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing