We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Parkbrae Estate
Nearby Hotels
Mantra Lake Tekapo(Lake Tekapo)
US$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Creel House(Lake Tekapo)(Great Value!)
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$192
US$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Lake Tekapo Cottages(Lake Tekapo)(Great Value!)
US$173
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes(Lake Tekapo)(Great Value!)
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Lake Tekapo Lodge(Lake Tekapo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Three Rivers Lodge(Lake Tekapo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lakeview Tekapo(Lake Tekapo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveller rating
82
28
9
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
82
28
9
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden studiooverlooking the churchmary macsquaint cottagedog statuenew zealandstayed nightsthe kitchenmin walka lovely stayself cateringvillage centreelectric blanketsstunning viewsshepherdretreataccommodation
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 128 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2017

Our stay at Tekapo was our last holiday location at the end of a 4 week holiday. There is no doubt that Tekapo is the most beautiful place and that this appartment is ideally situated overlooking the church and in beautiful gardens. It however lacks the personal touch unlike many places we stayed. It is managed through a holiday company who are indeed friendly and efficient.
The appartment lacked some basic kitchen equipment. It also smelt on smoke. We suspected that this was because the bathroom adjoined the laundry room where possibly someone had been smoking. The staff were not interested when I told them.
The wifi only works if you stand on the lawn! Luckily the weather was fine.
We did have a lovely stay here and a few adjustments would make this appartment perfect.

Room Tip: There is some noise from the flat above.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MVP40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017

If you have to stay in Lake Tekapo, look no further! Most of the units are facing the lake (just across a tiny street from the touristy dog statue and Church of Good Shepherd) but we had the good fortune to stay in Mary Mac.

There was a slight hiccup with the water pressure in the bathroom, which the owner promptly turned up to fix.

There are many good things to say about this place. If you appreciate a good quaint cottage like feel, this place is for you. It even comes with a fireplace which I greedily indulge in. I wish there were more firewood even though I had 3 hours of fiery fun.

It also comes with a full kitchen (head to Foursquare in Village Centre for groceries) and two dining table options - one in the kitchen (which we moved into the living space, right in front of the fireplace) and the other in the veranda (which... was unfortunately too cold in winter, even with the 2 heaters we brought in).

The 2 bedrooms had were wonderfully facing the lake (which, admittedly, can be creepy if the place was a lot more crowded with human traffic) with electric blankets to keep you toasty.

This was the rare place with good wifi (good speed and connection).

Also, if you're in luck, there's an apple tree on the adjacent compound (which also belongs to the same owner). Free fruit.

The view is certainly the best thing. Just wake up early, or just sit there and watch the darkness claim the waters. Either way, Mary Macs command the best view.

Room Tip: Choose Mary Mac!!
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank wolfegod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

Wow. I can't believe it has almost been a year since I was lucky enough to visit.

My now husband and I visited Parkbrae as an engaged couple and married near by! We had photos in the large area outside and found everything fantastic. Whilst we stayed in the Doctor's Retreat, we had family members in two other houses. All were satisfied with accommodations. However, the Doctor's Retreat is superior. The bathrooms and bedrooms are fantastic, it is close to everything and the house has an amazing space directly behind it. Our only issue was that the fire failed and we were given instructions to start the fire even though we had a very similar fire at home... As there were heaters and it happened on the second last night, it wasn't a big issue. Fantastic place with excellent management.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Blank_Expressionism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights in the garden cottage. The cottage has an excellent location with a lovely view of the church of the good shepherd. The cottage is a bit run down but has a lovely atmosphere with an open fire ( firewood provided). 3 bedrooms & 2 bathrooms make it spacious. I hope future renovations will be sympathetic to the age of the cottage & keep the historical features. Staff at tekapo holiday homes were very friendly & helpful.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank russelbear1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017

this historic cottage on Lake Tekapo shores has the most breath taking, uninterrupted views of the lake and surrounding mountains. The cottage is a 5-7 min walk from the town. It has been lovingly and tastefully decorated combining old and new, luxuriously comfortable without being ostentatious.
Everything one could want for self catering is provided-even a picnic basket!!!
I just wish we were staying longer in this beautiful house with its stunning views

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews