We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Puntanorte
Nearby Hotels
Isla Roots Hostel(Isla Tintipan)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveller rating
52
14
3
1
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
14
3
1
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspunta nortemany thanksper daywe loved our staystayed nightsget away from it allevery mealcarolinacarloshostscabanawavesaccommodationsealandtripswater
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 77 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2016

This place was truly paradise. We were here for New Years Eve and Carlos and Caroline were just wonderful in creating a warm and friendly 'your home is our home' atmosphere that it was truly hard to leave. The food was amazing - most meals were freshly caught seafood and wonderful vegetable dishes, our final dish of 2015 being lobster. The rooms are simple and our room occasionally had a few splashes of sea water, but lying in your bed listening to the sea hit the shore is just magical. Coral seas, white sands - PARADISE. We could not have welcomed in the year in a more perfect place!

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2016 via mobile

Let's get real here... Isolated, clear water, live coral paradise in the south carribean, come on now! This place is actual paradise, and then to top it off with the fresh seafood! I will never go to Colombia without visiting Carlos and Carolina at Puntanorte! Their hospitality takes a spectacular getaway to the next level, and Carlos' cooking is second to none. Freshest and most delicious seafood that you can find anywhere! Open air bungalows, and rustic accommodations on a virtually private part of the island! It's as close to heaven as you can get! If you're into serenity, glorious company and sleeping in the sound of waves surrounding you... Go! Now!!

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
Thank 2Lizards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRFREDYTRAVELLER, Gerente at Hotel Puntanorte, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2016
Google Translation

Sentimos mucho que te hayas llevado tan mala impresión de nosotros, y de nuestro lugar, lo que ocurría en ese momento eran condiciones absolutamente extraordinarias tanto climáticas, como con el personal. Lamentamos mucho que hayas sido victima de la inclemencia de la marea mas alta en los últimos años. Esperamos que en general hayas tenido una buena experiencia en Colombia. Te enviamos un fuerte abrazo y los mejores deseos para tu hermosa familia, queridos hermanos del sur.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2016

Carlos and Carolena were amazing, and took great care of us during our stay. We wanted something a bit rustic, and this was perfect. The views of the room couldnt be beat, and the bed was very comfortable. You are basically outside with a roof, but Hotel Puntanorte makes this luxurious.
The highlight of the whole thing was Carlos's cooking. He is absolutely fabulous, and I have been craving his dishes since we have returned home.
We kept wondering if we should have stayed on another island, but I am very happy we did not. The staff will take you all around in the boat privately, stopping at other beaches on Tintipan and Murica, and will show you everything the Islas de San Bernado have to offer. We stayed for 3 days, and it was perfect for my wife and I.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coldjordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2016

I was forced to book 5 nights in advance for my family, with 3 kids (youngest is 5), and the cabin was under the waves at high tide. One of the beds was soaking wet as waves reached it underneath - I attach a picture. Then the owner moved us to another cabin, only for 4 (so I had to sleep in a hammock), but which was higher so drier, although it swayed under the wind. The access to it was very slippery, as it was also being flooded. We managed to stay one night, but in the morning the access to the cabin was outright dangerous as waves were crashing. The soiled water from the toilets was returning as the waves pushed it out - and there was no water in the toilet tank, so we could not flush.

On top of it the staff is unfriendly, we almost had to beg for coffee at breakfast, and dinner was a bowl of pasta.

We asked for a refund, which we managed to get but less than 50% (the owner agreed to 50% but then returned less than that). All in all it was COP2.5M for a terrible night.

If despite all this you decide to go nonetheless, remember to bring your own water and snacks.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank simoncasassus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2016

Its hard to find these sorts of places in the world these days. This place is entirely cut off from everything, its almost like being on a private island. The little beaches are kept spotless and the outside eating area is colourful and spacious. The food is just fabulous: fresh and plentiful and you can stock up on your favourite tipple from the nearby island. Cold beers are always available. The private rooms are a bit sea-weathered as you would expect in such stunning positions.... and the towels, sheets and pillows might need replacing...but these details are really inconsequential when you take in the views, enjoy the day trips and properly relax into the environment and enjoy the company and hospitality of Carolina. Having weathered a rather extreme storm on the first night, Carolina was keen to ensure that we were dry and comfortable in our room. Having read comments of biting bugs galore, we got the mozzie stuff that is mention on their website and we were fine! If you can forget a few home creature comforts then this really is a wonderful place to stay and I am certainly glad that we made the detour to this special little corner of Columbia. I had a tear in my eye as we left.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank dottydarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews