We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best!!”
Review of Hotel Puntanorte

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Isla Tintipan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Puntanorte
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isla Tintipan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 19 May 2016 via mobile

I was there with my husband and my dogs... I really loved it!!! Carlos, Carolina, María Elena and David made our visit more than awesome. Jerónimo, Carlos and Carlolina's 4 yeas old grand son was a wonderful company... he played with us, he showed us the most beautiful fish and crabs... we loved the food... was so caribbean and delicious... our dogs really enjoyed swimming and eating fryed fish... one of the bests places for scuba diving!!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank Eulalia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Puntanorte
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2016

This place was truly paradise. We were here for New Years Eve and Carlos and Caroline were just wonderful in creating a warm and friendly 'your home is our home' atmosphere that it was truly hard to leave. The food was amazing - most meals were freshly caught seafood and wonderful vegetable dishes, our final dish of 2015 being lobster. The rooms are simple and our room occasionally had a few splashes of sea water, but lying in your bed listening to the sea hit the shore is just magical. Coral seas, white sands - PARADISE. We could not have welcomed in the year in a more perfect place!

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2016 via mobile

Let's get real here... Isolated, clear water, live coral paradise in the south carribean, come on now! This place is actual paradise, and then to top it off with the fresh seafood! I will never go to Colombia without visiting Carlos and Carolina at Puntanorte! Their hospitality takes a spectacular getaway to the next level, and Carlos' cooking is second to none. Freshest and most delicious seafood that you can find anywhere! Open air bungalows, and rustic accommodations on a virtually private part of the island! It's as close to heaven as you can get! If you're into serenity, glorious company and sleeping in the sound of waves surrounding you... Go! Now!!

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
Thank 2Lizards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRFREDYTRAVELLER, Gerente at Hotel Puntanorte, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2016
Google Translation

Sentimos mucho que te hayas llevado tan mala impresión de nosotros, y de nuestro lugar, lo que ocurría en ese momento eran condiciones absolutamente extraordinarias tanto climáticas, como con el personal. Lamentamos mucho que hayas sido victima de la inclemencia de la marea mas alta en los últimos años. Esperamos que en general hayas tenido una buena experiencia en Colombia. Te enviamos un fuerte abrazo y los mejores deseos para tu hermosa familia, queridos hermanos del sur.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2016

Carlos and Carolena were amazing, and took great care of us during our stay. We wanted something a bit rustic, and this was perfect. The views of the room couldnt be beat, and the bed was very comfortable. You are basically outside with a roof, but Hotel Puntanorte makes this luxurious.
The highlight of the whole thing was Carlos's cooking. He is absolutely fabulous, and I have been craving his dishes since we have returned home.
We kept wondering if we should have stayed on another island, but I am very happy we did not. The staff will take you all around in the boat privately, stopping at other beaches on Tintipan and Murica, and will show you everything the Islas de San Bernado have to offer. We stayed for 3 days, and it was perfect for my wife and I.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coldjordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2016

I was forced to book 5 nights in advance for my family, with 3 kids (youngest is 5), and the cabin was under the waves at high tide. One of the beds was soaking wet as waves reached it underneath - I attach a picture. Then the owner moved us to another cabin, only for 4 (so I had to sleep in a hammock), but which was higher so drier, although it swayed under the wind. The access to it was very slippery, as it was also being flooded. We managed to stay one night, but in the morning the access to the cabin was outright dangerous as waves were crashing. The soiled water from the toilets was returning as the waves pushed it out - and there was no water in the toilet tank, so we could not flush.

On top of it the staff is unfriendly, we almost had to beg for coffee at breakfast, and dinner was a bowl of pasta.

We asked for a refund, which we managed to get but less than 50% (the owner agreed to 50% but then returned less than that). All in all it was COP2.5M for a terrible night.

If despite all this you decide to go nonetheless, remember to bring your own water and snacks.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank simoncasassus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Tintipan
3.1 km away
Punta Faro
Punta Faro
#1 of 2 in Isla Mucura
513 reviews
3.3 km away
Mucura Club Hotel
Mucura Club Hotel
#2 of 2 in Isla Mucura
63 reviews
38.5 km away
Hotel Costa Linda
Hotel Costa Linda
#2 of 5 in Santiago de Tolu
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 km away
Decameron Isla Palma
Decameron Isla Palma
#1 of 1 in Isla Palma
405 reviews
57.5 km away
Los Tambos del Caribe
Los Tambos del Caribe
#1 of 1 in Pueblo Coco
13 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Palma Linda
Hotel Palma Linda
#6 of 9 in Covenas
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puntanorte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puntanorte

Address: Tintipan Island, 57, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Archipelago of San Bernardo > Isla Tintipan
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isla Tintipan
Price Range: RM357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a wonderful place and green, with the best meal of the archipelago of San Bernardo, a place to rest and enjoy the most beautiful marine landscapes! Do not miss it! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing