We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Schotia Safaris Private Game Reserve
Nearby Hotels
US$721
US$701
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$602
Priceline
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (277)
Filter reviews
277 results
Traveller rating
228
35
3
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
228
35
3
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgame reservenight safariwhole experiencegreat experiencemorning drivetented campsafari experienceland roverearly morningno electricityschotia safarisan overnight stayfood was greathighlight of our tripgreat fungreat safarifew hours
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 277 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

A fantastic day with a fantastic Ranger (Edward).... Ed was knowledgeable, but doesn't overload you with information - he prefers to answer your questions rather than fire info at you .... a much better way. We spent 4 hours driving around Addo in the morning, seeing plenty of game, then an excellent lunch before a drive around the Schotia Private Reserve... again seeing pretty much, if not all the expected game... all rounded off with a good meal at the lapa. All in all a great day, well worth doing.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017

We have an afternoon safari with our ranger Carl. We have been very lucky and were able to find many animals, included lions, rhino, hippo, elephants... Carl was very clever with a wide knowledge of animal behaviour and we learnt a lot from him.
After the safari we had a nice dinner around the fire, under the stars, eating some special local dishes, which were delicious!
We do recommend this experience!

Ramy and Paola

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Massimo I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017 via mobile

We just spent a wonderful day and night with Schotia. Two game drives in the reserve with Donovan, who is a terrific Ranger/Guide. We also did a drive in Addo with Zane, who really knows his stuff and taught us a lot about the animals in Addo.

If you want to get really close up to he animals, Schotia is a great choice because they can drive the Range Rovers off road and get you really close. I can't believe the photos I got, especially of the Lions. Unlike with other reserves, we could really take our time--watching groups of animals for much longer and from much closer.

The meals and overnight were great fun, even though the power was out so extra challenging. Food is good home cooking. Nothing fancy but awfully good, even in the dark. And our room was beautifully out with candles and outdoor lanterns. Pretty special to be inside the reserve listening to animal sounds all night. We also had a great charcoal fire to keep us warm.

The team at Schotia is terrific. We would strongly recommend a stay here. And recommend, too, including the Addo add-on. In addition the the elephants and other big fives, we saw jackals and baby spotted hyenas. Pretty cool.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank KayakDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

Bad safari and they lied about the price. On the phone they said 1000 RAND and when I got there they changed it to 1500 RAND. I met 3 americans and to guys from switzerland there, we all had paid different prices.
There all a lot better places you can go to. No value for the money.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
Thank JValon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017

I created this account specifically to leave a review of my stay at the Schotia Game Reserve. It was epic.

Ty was our guide and he managed to make a trip that was guaranteed to be educational, interesting and informative into an experience full of fun.

The overnight stay at the park will provide plenty of dinner conversation for a very long time.

@ Ty - thanks for all the memories. The Germans still have our stars and they won't give them back. The peacock's loose and refuses to be caged. And, really, so. many. springboks.

Keeping it numb - The Long Necked Springboks

Room Tip: If you choose the 'Camp' accommodation you'll be staying in the park itself. Be prepared for no electricity and and outside bath.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jlp300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews