We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most incredible weekends of my life”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paterson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Schotia Safaris Private Game Reserve
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Paterson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2017

We had an absolutely amazing weekend at Schotia Safaris. We chose the 2-day package where we had several game drives (morning, day and night), stayed in the beautiful Orlando Lodge and had delicious buffet-style meals during our stay. The staff are great and our guide Kurt was fantastic - we learned so much about the wildlife and were given plenty of choice over which animals we wanted to spend time looking for over the drives. We saw lions, elephants, buffalo, hippo, zebra, crocodiles, giraffes, monkeys, eland, nyala, impala, waterbuck, sable, blesbok, springbok, warthogs, wildebeest, birds and even a brown hyena one night! I really liked seeing how the guides all cooperate over the radio to share the locations of the animals ensuring that we had the best possible chance of experiencing all that the reserve has to offer and would highly recommend staying with and doing game drives with Schotia Safaris

Room Tip: Orlando Lodge is nice and quiet and has electric blankets
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JayAlice727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

A fantastic day with a fantastic Ranger (Edward).... Ed was knowledgeable, but doesn't overload you with information - he prefers to answer your questions rather than fire info at you .... a much better way. We spent 4 hours driving around Addo in the morning, seeing plenty of game, then an excellent lunch before a drive around the Schotia Private Reserve... again seeing pretty much, if not all the expected game... all rounded off with a good meal at the lapa. All in all a great day, well worth doing.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017

We have an afternoon safari with our ranger Carl. We have been very lucky and were able to find many animals, included lions, rhino, hippo, elephants... Carl was very clever with a wide knowledge of animal behaviour and we learnt a lot from him.
After the safari we had a nice dinner around the fire, under the stars, eating some special local dishes, which were delicious!
We do recommend this experience!

Ramy and Paola

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Massimo I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017 via mobile

We just spent a wonderful day and night with Schotia. Two game drives in the reserve with Donovan, who is a terrific Ranger/Guide. We also did a drive in Addo with Zane, who really knows his stuff and taught us a lot about the animals in Addo.

If you want to get really close up to he animals, Schotia is a great choice because they can drive the Range Rovers off road and get you really close. I can't believe the photos I got, especially of the Lions. Unlike with other reserves, we could really take our time--watching groups of animals for much longer and from much closer.

The meals and overnight were great fun, even though the power was out so extra challenging. Food is good home cooking. Nothing fancy but awfully good, even in the dark. And our room was beautifully out with candles and outdoor lanterns. Pretty special to be inside the reserve listening to animal sounds all night. We also had a great charcoal fire to keep us warm.

The team at Schotia is terrific. We would strongly recommend a stay here. And recommend, too, including the Addo add-on. In addition the the elephants and other big fives, we saw jackals and baby spotted hyenas. Pretty cool.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank KayakDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

Bad safari and they lied about the price. On the phone they said 1000 RAND and when I got there they changed it to 1500 RAND. I met 3 americans and to guys from switzerland there, we all had paid different prices.
There all a lot better places you can go to. No value for the money.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
Thank JValon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paterson
15.8 km away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#3 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
438 reviews
18.5 km away
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
#1 of 4 in Shamwari Game Reserve
1,089 reviews
6.0 km away
Gorah Elephant Camp
Gorah Elephant Camp
#2 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 km away
Woodall Country House and Spa
18.6 km away
Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm
15.1 km away
Zuurberg Mountain Village
Zuurberg Mountain Village
#1 of 2 in Addo Elephant National Park
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schotia Safaris Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schotia Safaris Private Game Reserve

Address: PO Box 105, Paterson, Sundays River Valley 6130, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Paterson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Paterson
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Schotia Safaris Private Game Reserve Hotel Port Elizabeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing